Stuck at the registration window at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 21st, 2004, 03:19 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 636
Stuck at the registration window

...and no hope of running the 5.0a trial :L

I had the trial running until today when I tried network rendering. The network render app ran into an error and had to close...

So I figured to be safe I'd reinstall Net 1.1, then reinstall the trial. Now, I can't get past the registration page -- I click through with my info, Vegas registers, and I'm sent to the "buy now" window. When I click close, nothing further happens.

Launching the trial again spits me right back out to the registration window. Rinse. Repeat.

Bleh.

Help?
__________________
Realism, anyway, is never exactly the same as reality, and in the cinema it is of necessity faked. -- J-L G
Jim Lafferty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2004, 03:48 PM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I think you're really going to need to contact tech support about that problem. Out of curiosity, why reinstall .NET???
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2004, 04:45 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 636
Just to be certain that it wasn't the problem. Just went through deinstalling and reinstalling both with restarts in between. No dice :L

- jim
__________________
Realism, anyway, is never exactly the same as reality, and in the cinema it is of necessity faked. -- J-L G
Jim Lafferty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2004, 02:47 AM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Jim: I think you need to register your trial version to get a trial
key... didn't have any time to really look at Vegas 5 yet myself.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2004, 07:31 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 636
Rob and Ed: thanks for the responses, but, afxter having called Sony support and being on hol for all of thirty seconds, I spoke with Ted today. He informed me that the trial can only be installed on a specific machine once?!?!

So, I'm SOL unless I want to buy the full version.

- jim
__________________
Realism, anyway, is never exactly the same as reality, and in the cinema it is of necessity faked. -- J-L G
Jim Lafferty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2004, 06:17 AM   #6
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Once? What does that mean? The trial of 5 is just out. How can
you've had it before or something. Or does that mean if you
had/have 4 installed you can't try the demo of 5? I'll see if I can
get the trial/demo running this weekend here..
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2004, 06:22 AM   #7
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
<<<-- Originally posted by Rob Lohman : Once? What does that mean? The trial of 5 is just out. How can
you've had it before or something. Or does that mean if you
had/have 4 installed you can't try the demo of 5? I'll see if I can
get the trial/demo running this weekend here.. -->>>


No, it means he installed the trial, had problems, uninstalled the trial, reinstalled the trial, and then it wouldn't work because it had already been installed before.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2004, 07:43 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Centreville Va
Posts: 1,828
check and clean out the registry. Then see if there are any files in system32 directory that need to be removed. Anything can be gotten around.
Joe Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2004, 09:15 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 636
...unless in order to run the trial you dial out and register it, and so when you re-install, your registration info on Sony's side disallows a new install.

Not 100% sure this is how it works but...if I wanted to keep someone from reinstalling an app I'd keep an IP and user/machine info on record and then send an alternate, "incomplete" return when they dialed into my server the second time.

Based on my limited toying with the registry -- looking for anything "vegas 5" related and deleting it, as well as the comments from the tech rep that I'd "have to try it on another machine" -- I'm figuring the above is right.

Don't care enough to find out otherwise. I've got until May 31st for the discount price.

- jim
__________________
Realism, anyway, is never exactly the same as reality, and in the cinema it is of necessity faked. -- J-L G
Jim Lafferty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2004, 10:16 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
more likely the reg is being sent to Sony.
Vegas (since v3) sends out the reg info via teh net.
this info is used in sonys databases to verify pirated copies etc etc like most companies.

If it triggers that a reg code has already been used, it wont allow the app to load/run/install (depends)

quite common piracy prevention technique

one thing u might be able to do is make sure V5 doesnt connect to the net by using a firewall like Sygate
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2004, 05:17 AM   #11
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
It just needs a key to run. Simple as that. Without the key it won't
run. Not as a trial and not as a full version.

I do think the trial/demo for version 4 was better done (if I
remember correctly).
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2004, 11:37 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 636
Exactly. I don't see how people keep insisting that a firewall will solve the problem -- Vegas needs to connect with Sony in order to complete the install and run. Blocking Vegas will not allow it to complete installation, and no amount of clicking will get you there.

- jim
__________________
Realism, anyway, is never exactly the same as reality, and in the cinema it is of necessity faked. -- J-L G
Jim Lafferty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2004, 12:21 PM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
so what your sayin is that vegas 5 wont run without an interenet connection..

thats prety silly, as i have 3 machines.. 1 whch has net access, and another (my main editing box) which isnt conencted to the net for security purposes...
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2004, 12:29 PM   #14
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Vegas has always had an option to "Register from another machine". Perhaps the demo does as well (I don't know as I haven't tried to install the demo).
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2004, 01:44 PM   #15
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Demo has that option as well, Edward. It writes out an HTML
file you can then copy to an internet connected machine to get
you going.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:57 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network