Vegas 9.0a keeps crashing at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 12th, 2009, 09:27 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 421
Vegas 9.0a keeps crashing

I went thru Vegas 7,8 and now bought upgrade to 9 and real problems started. It crashes my system saying " system is low in memory" (Q9450 and 4GB of RAM). I reached the point that it crashes even when I reder SD projects! System is clean - no unnecessary software there - it is clear that it is ver. 9 that is causing the problem. What is going on!
Marius Boruch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 10:03 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marius Boruch View Post
bought upgrade to 9 and real problems started.

...It crashes my system saying " system is low in memory"

...4GB of RAM

...it is clear that it is ver. 9 that is causing the problem.

...What is going on!
1. Open Task manager. Click Performance tab. Take screenshot.

2. Open Vegas with NO video on the timeline. Take screenshot.

3. Load a video project that is only a few minutes long. Take screeenshot.

4. Click Processes tab in Task Manager. Take Screenshot


Post those four screenshots here.


The "problem" is that you are running out of RAM. What we can tell from the screenshots is why.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 10:09 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 421
I know - that's what error message says - but the sysetem shows plenty of RAM available; there is also tons of virtual memory assigned. I will do screen shots and post them.
Everything was perfect in Vegas 8c
Marius Boruch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 10:19 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marius Boruch View Post
Everything was perfect in Vegas 8c
8c does not have the RAM requirements of 9.0. Simple. I'll be VERY curious to see the screenshots.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 10:26 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 421
I will post them soon.
the system was reinstalled like 3 weeks ago and it is clean - it is editing machine that runs around the clock;
Another BIG issue I have is that I can't render to mp4 either sony or mainconcept for the simple reason that Architect is crashing.

here is my recent post:
"--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I can't produce BluRay using either SonyAVC or Mainconcept AVC compressions.
I got this message:
File name: STREAM/00001.m2ts
Status: TSWrapper.dll::CTSWrapper::ProcThreadMain::Video buffer underflows. -

I use templates for Sony and same values for Mainconcept. It is possible to burn BD directly from Vegas timeline BUT I need to produce BD with menus.

It works OK when using mpeg2's; what is causing that error with mp4's; how to fix it? "
Marius Boruch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 10:38 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Video buffer underflow?

What are the machine specs? (CPU/RAM)
What video card?
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 10:52 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 421
it is known bug in sony avchd codec but when it happens also in mainconcept that's strange:
Video Buffer Underflow error during prepare of Blu-ray Disc project

cpu quad Q9450 4GB of RAM Nvidia GTS8800 640MB RAM

btw: how to paste screen shots into message?
Marius Boruch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 10:57 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Try setting the Dynamic Ram at 512 or 1024 and see if it helps.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 11:03 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 421
I set it to 1024 and I am rendering for 30 minutes now - so far it works but it is SD - I am affraid to think about HD
Marius Boruch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 11:04 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marius Boruch View Post
it is known bug in sony avchd codec but when it happens also in mainconcept that's strange:
Video Buffer Underflow error during prepare of Blu-ray Disc project

cpu quad Q9450 4GB of RAM Nvidia GTS8800 640MB RAM

btw: how to paste screen shots into message?
That doesn't look like a bug to me. Looks like people not knowing hot to calculate bit rates. Big difference.

I am beginning to think that 4GB of RAM is just not enough for doing these HD projects that people are trying to do. Stuff with titles, transitions, etc., and using long-GOP codecs on the timeline. It's just too much.

Save your screenshots as a jpg or bmp. Then attach them as attachments to your post on here.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 11:08 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 421
Perrone,
I rendered it using Vegas templates so it shouldn't be a bitrate issue; strangely there is enough RAM to produce mpeg2 BD with menus but when I import mp4 (either Sony or Mainconcept) then Architect crashes.
Attached Thumbnails
Vegas 9.0a keeps crashing-screenshot1.jpg  
Marius Boruch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 11:11 AM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marius Boruch View Post
Perrone,
I rendered it using Vegas templates so it shouldn't be a bitrate issue; strangely there is enough RAM to produce mpeg2 BD with menus but when I import mp4 (either Sony or Mainconcept) then Architect crashes.
Mpeg2 doesn't require NEAR the RAM or horsepower that Mpeg4 does. This is easily seen in people trying to drop native AVCHD (Mpeg4) onto the timeline versus the HDV (mpeg2) that they had been using.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 11:14 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 421
Is there any way to assign some additional "virtaul memory" for Vegas on some RAID drive??? I have Win XP and I guess it will not allow me to use more than 4GB of memory...
Marius Boruch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 11:17 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 421
Mike,
Is that Dynamic RAM used also during regular rendering???
Marius Boruch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 11:29 AM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Not sure if you are running the /3GB switch, but looks like you might be.

32bit OS + HD long-GOP video = problems.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:45 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network