conversion to mpeg2 = loss of sync... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 15th, 2004, 08:46 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Montreal , Canada
Posts: 197
conversion to mpeg2 = loss of sync...

Hi all,


just tried to convert my project into a mpeg2 file so i can put it in DVDA and burn it.

Well i lose sync and also the picture doesn't lose quality but rapid movement are replace with ugly lines ( i think interlaced is the right word).

Any idea.

thx a bunch

ps: ultimately all i want is to burn my project on a dvd, is there an easy and quick way to do this ie: pinnacle with "click here to burn".
Philippe Gosselin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2004, 08:54 PM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
What template are you using? Sounds like you are using the wrong one. I haven't seen any sync issues. I have seen the ugly lines on fast movement issue but only when the "quality" slider was below the max setting of 31.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2004, 08:56 PM   #3
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: conversion to mpeg2 = loss of sync...

<<<-- Originally posted by Philippe Gosselin : ps: ultimately all i want is to burn my project on a dvd, is there an easy and quick way to do this ie: pinnacle with "click here to burn". -->>>


Actually, yes there is. Just render the whole thing out to a DV-AVI file and use that in DVDA. It will take care of all of the rendering headaches for you. If you go to the optimize page, you may need to lower the bitrate slider depending on how long the video is.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2004, 08:58 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Montreal , Canada
Posts: 197
Thx Edward,


My project is 15min, so how low should i lower it.

Any reason why the for the low bitrate.

thx
Philippe Gosselin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2004, 09:04 PM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
For 15 minutes, you wouldn't have to make any changes.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2004, 03:36 AM   #6
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Regarding interlacing: in what where you watching the MPEG
file? Windows Media Player does not know anything about
de-interlacing. A software DVD player does.

Is your project interlaced? If so the MPEG will usually be interlaced
as well (what you want). If your footage is progressive then
something went wrong with the settings somewhere.

But if you are going to follow Edwards solution to just drop the
DV AVI file into DVDA then I think it should automatically do the
right thing in this case.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2004, 03:38 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Montreal , Canada
Posts: 197
Ok so ,


when i render in avi file the video is crispy clean except for the bmp file that i put at the beginning and end of my project, they appear kind of blocky , even if those image are of high res

when i render in mpeg2 file the video is clean and nice , the bmp files are clean as well but the audio is still a little bit out of sync , even after following Ed's advice.


Any suggestions

Phil


ps: thx Rob for the info.
Philippe Gosselin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2004, 05:39 AM   #8
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Are you 100% sure the audio is in sync to begin with?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2004, 02:11 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Montreal , Canada
Posts: 197
Yes , my project is synchro.


thx
Philippe Gosselin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2004, 06:05 AM   #10
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Have you tried this?

Render out to DV AVI or Uncompressed. Still in sync? Start a new
project and load up the file. Compress that to MPEG.

What MPEG2 settings are you using? Any chance you might be
doing framerate conversion by accident?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2004, 09:35 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Montreal , Canada
Posts: 197
Hi Rob,


No i haven't tried your method but will sure give it a try.

When i render to mpeg2 i use the default settings. I don't touch nothing.

Also , i wrote that the jpeg file is not rendered properly , this is not true.

This morning i said to myself "the hell with it" and rendered and burn my project to a dvd. Turns out that when watching the dvd the jpeg portion is cripy and beautiful


thx for your help

PS: when is "LadyX 2" project will start , i'd love to participate.

See ya
Philippe Gosselin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2004, 01:00 AM   #12
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Philippe - Okay, are you now saying that what you SAW was not the fully finished reneder? But now having "seen" the fully finished render on a DVD player everything is fine/okay/good? If this is the case at what point were you seeing these issues? Prior to rendering? During rendering> In DVDA Preview? Where or rather at what point of the DVDA process? But noiw you can see all is well! . . Excellent! Please answer the questions, it will help me and others too! Yeah?

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2004, 03:23 AM   #13
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Philippe: leaving everything to default might not be the correct
way. Go into the settings/options and check things like framerate
etc. I'm not sure everything matches per default. Especially
interlaced / progressive settings.

Never ever use default unless you have thoroughly checked the
template (or any template for that matter). Such things are not
magic settings!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:39 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network