Multifaceted frames within frame at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 17th, 2009, 07:57 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: HI, USA
Posts: 622
Multifaceted frames within frame

Is there a way to create a postcard on the timeline with multiple frames within the frame, and each separate frame running it's own movie?
I've attached an example since I can't figure out how to pose this question.
Each of the small frames would have it's own footage.
-BT
Attached Thumbnails
Multifaceted frames within frame-vegas-postcard-style.jpg  
Bill Thesken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2009, 08:21 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
for this you need 5 timelines-place each clip on a timeline and use a combination of track motion and pan/crop to size and adjust positioning.
To accomplish the black border between each shot you'll need 1 more timeline and place a black generated media pulled to cover the lenght of the project but make sure it's the bottom TL as Vegas works from top down.
HTHs
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2009, 08:32 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: HI, USA
Posts: 622
Thanks Don, I'll give it a try. -BT
Bill Thesken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2009, 08:07 AM   #4
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,883
If you're using the Pro version of Vegas, there's even some scripts out there to help simplify the task.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2009, 11:18 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: HI, USA
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel View Post
If you're using the Pro version of Vegas, there's even some scripts out there to help simplify the task.
You mean something where I just set up a template and add the footage?
Bill Thesken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2009, 11:31 AM   #6
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,883
Typically, it's the other way around. You add the footage to the timeline and then the script will adjust the footage to fit.

To do it manually, just take a look at Track Motion. It's not hard at all to set up.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2009, 12:56 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,273
You want this, free and easy.

http://www.davitools.com/videowall/homevw.aspx

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
GH5,FZ2000

Last edited by Paul Kellett; August 18th, 2009 at 12:57 PM. Reason: .
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2009, 01:18 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: HI, USA
Posts: 622
Whoa this great Paul, can't wait to try it out, thank you!
Bill Thesken is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Adorama
(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

VideoGuys
(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:33 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2018 The Digital Video Information Network