Here's a new one: how do I make my video look like crappier video? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 19th, 2004, 05:33 AM   #1
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
Here's a new one: how do I make my video look like crappier video?

Yes, gentlemen (and women), you heard right: I have footage recorded from my XL1s in 60i (waiting for some clever chap to chime in about how it should already look crappy enough, compared to his DVX100 or something), and it's supposed to look like it came off a VHS camcorder from whenever they made VHS camcorders.

What kind of FX/plugins from Vegas 4 could I use, and how could I use them, to degrade the image enough to get that look? Seems like it would be more than just adding a blur to make it look softer, so open to suggestions.
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2004, 06:30 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 3,840
VHS used 250 lines of resolution. SO, you could try importing the footage at an off-line res. Like 15:1 maybe (Don't know if Vegas does this) Or maybe just a single field? (Sorry, I cut on Avid, not Vegas, so I wouldn't know how to tell you.) VHS images weren't "blurry" they were just a lower res than DV. I know, I still have two vhs camcorders.
Richard Alvarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2004, 07:45 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 857
Josh,

You'll have to register for access (if you haven't you definately want to; Douglas Spotted Eagle and other real pros post Vegas tips and tools here).

Go to Sundance Media Group's Vegas area:

http://www.sundancemediagroup.com/help/kb/kb_files.asp?s=1

Seems I recall a script in there that adds the type effect you are talking about. Sorry I don't have time to find it for you right now, but you'll want to poke around here anyway.

If it isn't in there, it must be the Magic Bullets tool that comes free with Vegas5. It has several 'filmic' effects, but is slooooow to render.
Patrick King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2004, 09:35 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Romania, Timisoara
Posts: 453
I would record from the camcorder to VHS and than capture that :)

Or export to some lower resolution (not with DV codec, you can't. Some other codec).
I'd blur the reds...
__________________
Cosmin Rotaru
Cosmin Rotaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2004, 01:17 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
I would probably try what Cosmin suggested and actually record onto VHS. One thing you get is all the messed up colors (VHS always looks garish to me).

2- You could also add excessive edge sharpening by using the unsharp mask filter in Vegas.

3- If you want to be cheesy, add one of those date/time burn-ins that VHS camcorders can do. I don't know how to do this... your XL1 could probably do it. I actually have one lying close to me but I'm too lazy to test it out.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2004, 01:40 PM   #6
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
Alright, I'll try some of this stuff and get back to you. I don't really have a way to capture from anything other than my camera via firewire.
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2004, 01:48 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Saguenay, Québec, Canada
Posts: 1,051
Put in on a VHS, and capture it back through firewire by connecting a VHS vcr to your camera.
__________________
Jean-Philippe Archibald
http://www.jparchibald.com - http://www.vimeo.com/jparchib
Jean-Philippe Archibald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2004, 02:05 PM   #8
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
You can do that? Or, more precisely, I can do that? Don't I need an extra gadget or something?

cheesy, of course!

Can you add a day/time burn in post, somehow? I guess the guys who made this movie are supposed to have cut it in camera, so there'd be breaks in the day/time code.
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2004, 02:07 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Saguenay, Québec, Canada
Posts: 1,051
Sure you can, or in the case your camcorder doesn't support real time analog to digital convertion, you can simply record the analog signal on a miniDV tape and then capture this tape via firewire in the traditionnal way.
__________________
Jean-Philippe Archibald
http://www.jparchibald.com - http://www.vimeo.com/jparchib
Jean-Philippe Archibald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2004, 02:59 PM   #10
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
Huh. I swear I tried that once, converting VHS back to miniDV, and couldn't get anything to work, since I was missing some piece of gadgetry.
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2004, 03:16 PM   #11
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
<<<-- Originally posted by Josh Bass : Huh. I swear I tried that once, converting VHS back to miniDV, and couldn't get anything to work, since I was missing some piece of gadgetry. -->>>

It is dependent on the camera. Some cameras will allow this - other's will not. You need to check out the abilities of your camera to see if it can perform this task.

If your camera CAN do it, make sure you turn OFF "Enable Device Control" to capture the VHS footage. Otherwise, it will try to capture whatever is on a tape in the camera.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2004, 03:41 PM   #12
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
Interesting. I'll try it again. It's Canon XL1s, by the way. I seem to remember it requiring an additional device, when I looked at the manual on how to do that, but I'll try again.
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2004, 03:55 PM   #13
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I have the XL-1 - it does NOT do the transfer FROM analog (other way is just fine). I believe the XL-1s requires two steps:

1) Record FROM the VHS into the XL-1s onto MiniDV.
2) Capture that MiniDV

I don't believe it allows full pass-through.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2004, 04:06 PM   #14
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
1) is the step I'm stuck on: record from VHS back to miniDV. I tried simply hooking RCA cables from the VCR back to the cam, but I didn't see any indication that it was working. Can't think of any other way to do it, unless you have a VCR with an S-Video connector (I don't).
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2004, 04:26 PM   #15
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I believe it should work with the RCA plugs. What does the manual say?

You may want to do a search on the XL-1 forum on this topic. I know it's been discussed there.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:12 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network