improving AVI quality for rendering in Vegas 9.0? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 18th, 2009, 03:13 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 138
improving AVI quality for rendering in Vegas 9.0?

i shoot in 16:9 , 30p using Canon XL2 ... in sony Vegas 9.0 my project setting is set to WIDE SCREEN all the way and i am rendering AVI files ...

after rendering every video i always feel i am losing quality of the video , they dont look that sharp as i watch the raw footage of the same video out of Vegas... is there a way i can impove the quality of my AVIs ? i am using the NTSC DV Widescreen default templete in Vegas 9.0

i am rendering 20 minutes of vidoes and my rendered files are around 5 GB
__________________
Canon XL2, 20X zoom and 3X wide-angle, , Sony Wireless UHFs UWP-C1 and UWP-C2 , Manfrotto 503 head on 351 tripod , Glidecam 4000 Pro w/Glidecam Smooth Shooter
Wajahat Abbasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2009, 06:06 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts: 348
As long as you use the "match" icon in the project properties to use the exact same project properties as the source footage (that Vegas thinks it has), and as long as you don't add plugins on the footage, then you can export using a DV AVI template that corresponds to the project properties, and Vegas won't re-encode, and therefore you won't lose quality. But if you actually re-encode DV AVI you will lose a bit of quality each time. You can use an intermediate codec otherwise, e.g. Cineform, DNxHD etc.
Eugenia Loli-Queru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2009, 06:12 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 138
i do use New Blue plug-ins ..that means i am losing quality if rendering the way i am ? what dose cineform do for me ?
__________________
Canon XL2, 20X zoom and 3X wide-angle, , Sony Wireless UHFs UWP-C1 and UWP-C2 , Manfrotto 503 head on 351 tripod , Glidecam 4000 Pro w/Glidecam Smooth Shooter
Wajahat Abbasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2009, 06:15 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts: 348
Yeah, if you are using plugins, then smart-rendering won't work anymore for DV AVI, and so it will re-render. And any re-rendering to a delivery codec means some loss of quality.

BTW, what do you want to export for? Is this for archiving, exporting to send your footage to another editor to re-edit, or simply to export a file to watch on a PC/TV/web? Depending what your goals are, the exporting you must do is different.
Eugenia Loli-Queru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2009, 06:18 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eugenia Loli-Queru View Post
Yeah, if you are using plugins, then smart-rendering won't work anymore for DV AVI, and so it will re-render. And any re-rendering to a delivery codec means some loss of quality.

BTW, what do you want to export for? Is this for archiving, exporting to send your footage to another editor to re-edit, or simply to export a file to watch on a PC/TV/web? Depending what your goals are, the exporting you must do is different.
i am actually sending it to be broadcast on TV .. i guess thats the reason i am not seeing that great quality ... so what the fix i am kinda new to this ... what codec should i use i am support to deliver AVI on DVDs
__________________
Canon XL2, 20X zoom and 3X wide-angle, , Sony Wireless UHFs UWP-C1 and UWP-C2 , Manfrotto 503 head on 351 tripod , Glidecam 4000 Pro w/Glidecam Smooth Shooter
Wajahat Abbasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2009, 06:20 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts: 348
If it's broadcast TV, then, yeah, you export either in DV AVI, or in mpeg2. I guess what you get is what you are supposed to get... Make sure your project properties are correct, and the "rendering quality" is set to "best" in that dialog. Not much more you will be able to do.
Eugenia Loli-Queru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2009, 06:32 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Sounds like the effects you are applying are degrading the quality. If these effects are really necessary, maybe you could try setting Vegas to process in 32 bit colour and see if it helps.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2009, 06:55 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Hunter View Post
Sounds like the effects you are applying are degrading the quality. If these effects are really necessary, maybe you could try setting Vegas to process in 32 bit colour and see if it helps.

Richard
how do i do that? BTW i am using Vegas 9.0 on vista 64 BIT
__________________
Canon XL2, 20X zoom and 3X wide-angle, , Sony Wireless UHFs UWP-C1 and UWP-C2 , Manfrotto 503 head on 351 tripod , Glidecam 4000 Pro w/Glidecam Smooth Shooter
Wajahat Abbasi is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:52 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network