Clip shortened in render at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 4th, 2004, 07:33 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oceanside Harbor, CA
Posts: 446
Clip shortened in render

3 minute video rendered mpeg2, watched it and it's over only
2/3 of the way through? Any ideas? Thanks
Michael Best is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2004, 08:07 AM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
So you are saying you have a 3 minute clip, you render to MPEG2, and you only have the first 2 minutes worth? Did you possibly have a loop region around the first 2 minutes and, when rendering, only rendered the loop region?
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2004, 08:13 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oceanside Harbor, CA
Posts: 446
Edward, no, definitely no loop regions. There are a lot of edits in the piece, to the point that it would barely play in the preview window but I don't see how that would impact this problem.
Michael Best is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2004, 08:15 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 857
Edward,

You're unbelievable. I've had that very thing happen to me (several times) but I didn't recall that as a possible solution. How do you remember all this stuff?

Do you have a little 'pre-render checklist' that you use (deselect loop region, select resample if desired, unmute all tracks, etc)?
__________________
Fear No Weevil!
Patrick King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2004, 09:05 AM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Michael, what happens if you render to DV-AVI first and then render THAT file to MPEG?
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2004, 09:07 AM   #6
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Patrick, no specific checklist. I DO make sure I do not have a loop region selected before I start to render (unless I specifically want to selectively render a small section). Otherwise, just a quick double-check of the "Render - As" checkboxes (mainly have to determine whether or not to include markers!)
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2004, 09:16 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oceanside Harbor, CA
Posts: 446
Edward, I haven't tried that but I can, what would that be accomplishing?
Michael Best is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2004, 10:46 AM   #8
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Just wondering if there was a complex area that the MPEG2 render was getting hung on and, therefore, wasn't finishing. A loop area is still the most logical reason, though. Kind of grasping at straws here.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2004, 11:18 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oceanside Harbor, CA
Posts: 446
I'll try some other things and check for consistency.

Thanks very much
Michael Best is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2004, 07:45 AM   #10
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
This will probably sound silly as well, but check your free disk
space on your temp drive.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2004, 07:53 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oceanside Harbor, CA
Posts: 446
Rob, are you referring to a 'temporary file folder'?
Michael Best is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2004, 08:05 AM   #12
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Yes, it points to a directory on a harddisk. This disk might be full?
(or your MPEG's final output directory)
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2004, 08:07 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oceanside Harbor, CA
Posts: 446
My drives are set up as follows

100 gig split 20% C: / 80% E:
100 gig H:
160 gig I: External Firewire drive

My operating system is on C: (space remaining on this partition is low)

Vegas is on E:
Captured Files/Projects are on H: sometimes I:

Also, moderately edited projects max out the CPU when previewing, P4 2.53. Ram is running at 50% of capacity.
I can't believe I have to render everything all the time
just to see if a single edit was what I was looking for.
Michael Best is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2004, 08:08 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oceanside Harbor, CA
Posts: 446
Can I redirect where it points to? I don't want it pointing to my primary drive. I thought I had all Preferences, Properties, etc set up right, maybe not.
Michael Best is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2004, 08:18 AM   #15
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Yes you can, just follow the instructions in the manual/help.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:42 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network