Mpeg Render problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 7th, 2004, 02:53 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 215
Mpeg Render problem

I haven't seen this mentioned previously, but I just encountered the following issue:

I rendered a sequence as an Mpeg-2 and the playback speed is noticeably faster than the normal Vegas preview speed. The audio is a music track.

I then tried an Mpeg-1 render which rendered at the correct speed.

The footage was shot in 23.967 speed (DVX100) and I have previously rendered Mpeg-2's the same way without issue.

From my perspective, it appears that the speed increase may reflect the difference between the (approx. ) 24 fps and the 29.970 fps rate.

There must be some switched I selected which needs to be de-selected but so far I haven't found it.

Might be sleep deprivation.

Thanks for any suggestions,

Brian
Brian Mitchell Warshawsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2004, 06:51 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Can't you select 23.967 when exporting? Otherwise perhaps
set the project to 24.0 to see what that does? I think someone
else had a similar problem a while ago. Perhaps try a search?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2004, 12:36 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 215
The solution: I installed a new Mpeg2 decoder... Problem solved.

I discovered that my too-fast Mpeg2 renders played just find on other PC's, so if anyone has a speed problem, it might not be Vegas or the render settings within Vegas.

Brian
Brian Mitchell Warshawsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2004, 05:23 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
no its not vegas, as vegas uses whatever codecs are installed in ur OS, it wont install mpg codecs unless theyre licensed/registered, and some codecs have issues upsampling (which is what ur doing..

aufio is standard 44.1khz 16bit, dv and dvd is 48khz at 16 bit some decoders render to the bitrate of choice but sometimes changing the sample rate is done literally (instead of resampling) and interpolating

its a common issue for those who are new to the audio sampling game, but heres a lil test.

get a 44.1 file and import it into soundforge, now change the sample rate in the project properties (WITHOUT resampling) now hit play, and youll notice the audio is much faster.

BUT if u go to your processes tab, then selet resample, it will retain the origianl pitch, however it will interpolate or "fill the gaps" betwen 44.1 and 48khz

the same goes for lower bitrates..
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2004, 05:37 AM   #5
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Peter: Vegas should use the MainConcept MPEG engine for both
decoding and encoding of an MPEG stream. It also uses their DV
codec per default. So I'm not eniterely sure where your "vegas
uses whatever codes are installed in your OS" comes from.

It can ofcourse encode/decode AVI or MOV files with any codec
that you have installed.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2004, 08:21 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
oh, sorry i wasnt clear.. vegas ALLOWS you to access any codec (encoder/decoder) available to you.. for rendering that is..

for decoding it uses MainConcept of course. but with regard to .mov, you MUST have quicktime installed..

quicktime 5 for v4 or QT6 or later for V5.. else it wont import those files.

another reason i keep V4, is that i dont want to pay for an upgrade of my QT, so im taking my .movs to V4 and rendering to avi to input into V5..
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2004, 08:22 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
one thing i forgot to mention to encode to mpg with vegas u must purchase the MPG encoder plugin ... i had to do that with v4.. else i could onlyoutput to avi or by using another codec already on my system..
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2004, 09:06 AM   #8
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Vegas has always come with the MPEG2 encoder. It just needs to be registered separately. If you have DVDA, it gets registered when DVDA is registered. But even if you do not get DVDA, you still have the MPEG2 encoder. The first time you do a File - Render As, pick MPEG2, and you will be asked to register the MPEG2 codec and, once registered, will be able to use it freely.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2004, 10:26 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
i did it the other way around.. :( still works though :)
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2004, 01:40 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 215
Peter Wrote:

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>no its not vegas, as vegas uses whatever codecs are installed in ur OS, it wont install mpg codecs unless theyre licensed/registered, and some codecs have issues upsampling (which is what ur doing.. >>>>>>>>>>>>>

Actually, that wasn't the issue: Vegas always played the file back properly ....

It was WMP, Real One, and others which had the speed issues which were remedied with the decoder.

Sorry for the confusion.

Brian
Brian Mitchell Warshawsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2004, 10:54 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
so basically THOSE players werent running the correct codec??

thats what it sounds like...
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:25 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network