Vegas Video discussions from 2005 (Q1Q2) - Page 100 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 7th, 2005, 06:36 PM   #1486
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 857
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bennis Hahn
The gene pool could use some chorine...
Mr. Hahn,

Is your tag-line trying to tell us we all need more chorus girls in our life? Or did you mean to say chlorine instead of chorine?

The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language: Fourth Edition. 2000.

chorine

SYLLABICATION: cho·rine
PRONUNCIATION: kôrn, kr-
NOUN: A chorus girl.
ETYMOLOGY: chor(us) + –ine.
__________________
Fear No Weevil!
Patrick King is offline  
Old May 7th, 2005, 08:55 PM   #1487
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I use #2 a lot. It is interesting to watch the frame rate numbers as it loops. Even if they start low, they will slowly increase until you get to full framerate. Of course it is limited by the same limitations as RAM Render - the more ram specified, the larger the area that can get to full framerate as it loops.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old May 8th, 2005, 01:16 AM   #1488
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
one thing to note though is that simulate device aspect DOES add stepping to what yo usee and can be potentially dangerous if yo forget to turn it off during rendering..

ive had a 22 hr render killed coz i forgot to turn it off..

i guess coz were seeing square pixels, its tryin to elongate them to fit DV/HDV hence teh distortion..
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Old May 8th, 2005, 07:51 AM   #1489
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 500
Vegas 6, student discount

Vegas 5 with DVD, I believe, was something 220 USD for students. Anyone knows how much Vegas 6 for students?

Radek
Radek Svoboda is offline  
Old May 8th, 2005, 08:16 AM   #1490
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick King
Is your tag-line trying to tell us we all need more chorus girls in our life? Or did you mean to say chlorine instead of chorine?
Ha ha! Actually, either is fine with me...

Good catch though ;)
Bennis Hahn is offline  
Old May 8th, 2005, 01:17 PM   #1491
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
http://adobe.ccvsoftware.com/c/@d1HX...record@CDSF118 shows about $190 for Vegas 6 only.

http://www.academicsuperstore.com/ma...s&qs_platform= shows abour $190 for Vegas 6 and about $300 for Vegas 6 + DVD
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old May 8th, 2005, 04:43 PM   #1492
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 857
Might have to take a few graduate courses just to buy another copy! ;)
__________________
Fear No Weevil!
Patrick King is offline  
Old May 8th, 2005, 04:50 PM   #1493
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 489
From the PD1 Manual:

HI-RES:
Allows you to record on a tape in MPEG2 format (576p). The camcorder records signals in the progressive scan mode (525 scanning lines at 1/25th of a second for recording and 1/50th of a second for playback at one time).

The cam can't output 25p - only 50p. This despite the fact that it's key shooting mode is 25p! Sam's right, the bundled software is the only one won't get confused...

There's no loss of data, so if we can teach software, it won't matter..
__________________
www.irishfilmmaker.com
Graham Jones is offline  
Old May 8th, 2005, 10:37 PM   #1494
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Granbury, Texas
Posts: 11
OK, guys, I found the answer. On the Vegas support site, I discovered some info that indicated that you have to have the channel set to F-1 of you're trying to print to tape via firewire back to the JVC deck. I tried it and it worked perfectly the first time!!!!
Barry Stokes is offline  
Old May 9th, 2005, 09:17 AM   #1495
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Antioch, CA USA
Posts: 49
Vegas 6 plus DVD Architect 3

I read that it now has support for setting CSS and MacroVision protection. Does it mean that I can now protect DVDs I created from being copied?

Currently I don't have DVD Architect when I bought Vegas 5 (last year) and now contemplating of buying Vegas 6 +DVD. Can I sell my Vegas 5 legally? I can get a full version of Vegas 6+DVD $40 cheaper than the upgrade through academic purchase. I think full version is better than upgrade, is that correct assumption?

Sorry for the ignorance.
Danny Santos is offline  
Old May 9th, 2005, 09:42 AM   #1496
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario, CA
Posts: 19
DVD-A 3 has those protection options but it looks like they just set flags for replication facilities. I suggest you download manual for DVD-A 3, there should be exact information what those things do.

But you must realize that if somebody WANTS to make a copy, they'll be able to do it since all those protection schemes have been broken long time ago.
Andriy Zolotoiy is offline  
Old May 9th, 2005, 12:06 PM   #1497
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
There currently is NO copy protection for burned DVDs. These flags only work for replicated discs (no matter WHAT your authoring system).
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old May 9th, 2005, 01:15 PM   #1498
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in the Negev
Posts: 1,189
Using the HD Film Look Plugins in Vegas 6

Can I apply the plethora of HD film look plugins that come gratis with Vegas 6 with my SD clips?
__________________
Interesting, if true. And interesting anyway.
Hugh DiMauro is offline  
Old May 10th, 2005, 10:59 AM   #1499
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8
Mike,

I get exactly the same problem with vegas 5 and my panasonic PV-GS400.
Did you solve this?

Etienne
Etienne Sandre is offline  
Old May 10th, 2005, 11:09 AM   #1500
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: orlando florida
Posts: 426
hello,

no , never did get it resolved.. But now i have Vegas 6, but i did not try it yet..

Mike
__________________
Mike Moncrief mikemoncrief@gmail.com
www.themikemoncrief.com
Mike Moncrief is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:41 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network