Vegas Video discussions from 2005 (Q1Q2) - Page 112 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 25th, 2005, 11:48 AM   #1666
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
#1) depends on what you are wanting to do. When I am printing to tape, I render as DV-AVI. When I'm making a DVD, I render to MPEG2. When making something for the web, WMV. It all depends on your current task which you haven't defined here.

#2) I have left these at the default settings

#3) Unless you're doing photo montages or something using very hi-res images with scaling, you don't need "Best" - stick with "Good".
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old May 25th, 2005, 11:54 AM   #1667
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sikeston, Missouri, USA
Posts: 118
Thanks for your help....
David
David Bird is offline  
Old May 25th, 2005, 01:22 PM   #1668
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cass Lake MN
Posts: 221
excellent - I'll give them a call.

Milt
__________________
Professional website - http://manykites.com
Personal - http://mrdogsblog.com
Milt Lee is offline  
Old May 25th, 2005, 09:46 PM   #1669
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mauriceville, TX
Posts: 146
I am doing various projects in Vegas right now, one being a wedding, but everything I do goes to DVD, not the web or back to tape, and I want the best quality.

Thanks for the response Edward - still curious about the codec to use out of the MANY in the Vegas dropdown box. I guess since Cinepak is first, maybe it's best??
Brandon Wood is offline  
Old May 25th, 2005, 10:49 PM   #1670
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
If you are going to DVD, you want to create MPEG2 files - NOT AVI. Even if I were creating an AVI file I'd use the standard NTSC-DV (assuming US standards).

Go to File - Render As. As the "Save As type", pick MPEG2. Under the presets, choose one of the DVD Architect settings and then go to custom and don't change anything except the average bitrate. This needs to be modified to match the length of your video.

I have how to create a DVD written up in one of the issues of my newsletter (I think Vol 1 #7 without looking to verify). Just click on the link under my name.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old May 25th, 2005, 11:26 PM   #1671
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 184
Using DivX Files

I have a DivX file with an avi extension that plays just fine with the DivX player, but when I bring it into Vegas, the video is about a quarter as long as the audio track and there is no audio. It is just a straight line. Any suggestions?

MITCH
Mitch Buss is offline  
Old May 26th, 2005, 12:20 AM   #1672
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Try converting it. Someone on the Sony forum suggested virtualdub. Use a lossless codec like huffyuv, or use DV.

RAD video tools converting it to uncompressed AVI worked for me, but I suspect virtualdub works better.
Glenn Chan is offline  
Old May 26th, 2005, 12:48 AM   #1673
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Waipahu, Hawaii
Posts: 70
Version 6.0a worked fine on one computer but the media manager would crash continually on the second computer.

After I installed version B both crash on startup. anybody know why?
Gregory Doi is offline  
Old May 26th, 2005, 01:29 AM   #1674
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
do u have acid5 installed??
also have u ever installed acid5??

im also gettin this problem and its a known issue..

heres some feedback from sony

Im still investigating the issue from this end, hopefully theyll find a workaround..

"Some of you have reported having stability issues with the Media Manager
active. If this is you, it is recommended that you completely uninstall
Vegas 6, all versions of the Sony Media Manager, and, if present ACID
Pro 5, and then reinstall ACID Pro 5 (current version on our website)
and this, build #110 (or any later build) of Vegas 6. This should ensure
that no beta or mismatched shared Media Manager components are residing
on your system.
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Old May 26th, 2005, 01:38 AM   #1675
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
i actaully use Main concept Main Actor 5.2 if i need it as DV, or if i jsut want to convert it, i use ManConcepts mpg converter
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Old May 26th, 2005, 02:07 AM   #1676
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Waipahu, Hawaii
Posts: 70
Thanks Peter. I did everything you said and it did work.......sort of........Acid worked fine after the reinstall. Vegas sort of works better. it doesnt freeze when I open up small veg files but still freezes on the bigger veg files.

small file is about 16kb and big is considered 68kb.

so there is still something wrong; however, i did find that if i unselect the "automatically open up last project" option in the preferences window then Vegas starts up a lot better.

I feel like throwing the system out the window. hehe.
Gregory Doi is offline  
Old May 26th, 2005, 02:11 AM   #1677
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 241
Brandon,
As Edward has said, if you are going to DVD output, render to DVD compliant mpeg2. This means you won't have to rerender and thus lose quality. The only time you shouldn't is if you render to an uncompressed file for compression in a third party compressor (Cinema Craft Encoder, etc).
I only ever use two codecs in Vegas: Mpeg2 for DVD, AVI-PAL for print to tape. Oh, also AC3 and WAV audio.

About deinterlacing, if you require it, visit http://mikecrash.wz.cz/. He has written a vegas filter based on the Smart Deinterlacer for virtualdub you can try.
Kyle Ringin is offline  
Old May 26th, 2005, 06:59 AM   #1678
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 148
I thought Vegas 6.0 could recognize the nonsync'ed audio by turning the clip ink..of course only with an original file ? Or is it only for AVI ?
__________________
Because im that...damn...good.
Cory Moorehead is offline  
Old May 26th, 2005, 08:04 AM   #1679
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Vegas 6 will do that if the two pieces are moved out of sync. However, it the playback STARTS out of sync, there's no way for Vegas to know.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old May 26th, 2005, 09:59 AM   #1680
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Prague, Czech rep.
Posts: 16
DivX vs. 3ivX

hello,
does anybody have experience with the settings in Divx and 3ivx to make this both codecks working well? I realized problems in Vegas, when there are instaled this codecks.... rendering is so much slower, sometimes the result is not smooth...

thx.
Hendy Witanto is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:21 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network