Vegas Video discussions from 2005 (Q1Q2) - Page 119 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 8th, 2005, 10:49 PM   #1771
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Canada, B.C
Posts: 75
--- read file name for descritpion of what the still is... maybe this will help more

http://www.digitalinterference.net/w...boxuncompe.jpg

http://www.digitalinterference.net/w...ncompresed.jpg

http://www.digitalinterference.net/p...widescreen.jpg this is what i want... but in uncompressed
Colin Minihan is offline  
Old June 9th, 2005, 01:52 AM   #1772
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 241
I've posted the link to Mike Crash's filter a few times before, but no-one seems to have used it, I find it works pretty well, I just have to fiddle with the settings to get the least deinterlace artifacts for that particular footage. What's your experience with it Glenn? What settings do you use?

DJ, the artifacting you talk about could be because when you convert 16:9 to 4:3 LB you are resizing the video vertically from 480 pixels to 360 pixels so fields might be getting a bit confused. If you deinterlaced first it might solve the problem.
Kyle Ringin is offline  
Old June 9th, 2005, 02:01 AM   #1773
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Houston TX and New Orleans LA
Posts: 300
How would I create/put together this effect?

Black and white video.... but there is blood in the scene.... and only it shows up as real strong red...on video...


Like alot of the effects they did on Sin City?

thanks ahead of time...
Brent Marks is offline  
Old June 9th, 2005, 07:12 AM   #1774
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Denver
Posts: 254
after its rendered and burned

Thanks
Vince Debart is offline  
Old June 9th, 2005, 08:00 AM   #1775
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: World Wide Web
Posts: 26
! This function avial. only in V6

1 Go to Display properties
2 Select the Secundary Monitor, and after this select V on the
Extend my Windows desctop onto this monitor
function
3 Open Vegas - Go to Option -> Preferences ->Preview devices -> Setup you settigs -> Apply, Rastart Vegas and enjoy

Happy Editing

PS This output is Progressive, is NOT Interlaced

N.

* Sorry for my Eng (I'm d't speake English)
__________________
Вы хочите фильмов, их есть у меня

Last edited by Newdjeen Klime; June 9th, 2005 at 08:52 AM.
Newdjeen Klime is offline  
Old June 9th, 2005, 08:30 AM   #1776
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I have the procedure for passing both ONE color and MULTIPLE colors in one of the last 3 or 4 issues of my newsletter. Click the link under my name and go to the newsletter archives.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old June 9th, 2005, 08:36 AM   #1777
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
If it is truely viewed as a secondary monitor, it should work. I would suspect that the video driver must make it appear as a secondary monitor. Does your video card have two monitor outputs? Or is it only the single video output plus your "S-Video" output? If it's the second, it's very possible that it isn't a "true" secondary monitor.

Personally, I still use firewire to preview on a TV.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old June 9th, 2005, 09:19 AM   #1778
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New Brunswick, NJ
Posts: 8
Is there a way to reset vegas (other than holding ctrl-alt and starting vegas. I tried that and it does not work). i dont have 20k through 320k. I just have 20k to 56k. Hopefully resetting vegas will fix this problem.
Paul Kali is offline  
Old June 9th, 2005, 09:50 AM   #1779
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You could always try an uninstall/reinstall.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old June 9th, 2005, 10:01 AM   #1780
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ruhrgebiet, Germany
Posts: 42
I actually got it to work now! My SVHS Exit is a "true" secondary output and also recognized by Vegas.

Now my next Problem is, that my "Video-Monitor" a TV of the real cheap kind is always loosing its Brightness/Contrast/Hue Informations that I tried to save using the Vegas color-Bars feature and the "http://www.videouniversity.com/tvbars2.htm " tutorial.

Is there a good programm out there to save me an ICM profile with "corrected" brightness/color informations to feed into the Vegas Properties, I have already tried Adobe Gamma (which comes with Photoshop), but I am not yet satisfied.

Thanks! Matthias

@Newdjeen: How would I detemine if it is Progressive or Interlaced.
__________________
www.mattzi.de
Mathiu Zimmermann is offline  
Old June 9th, 2005, 10:38 AM   #1781
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Syosset, NY
Posts: 61
View video on External Monitor and IN Vegas monitor at the same time

Can you view your video on the monitor in Vegas and an external Monitor connected via firewire at the same time?
Thanks,
Paul D.V.
Paul Del Vecchio is offline  
Old June 9th, 2005, 10:48 AM   #1782
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
When stopped: yes. While playing back: no.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old June 9th, 2005, 10:54 AM   #1783
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 277
Totally. That's it, Kyle. I need to deinterlace before the resize, I think. I will do some tests. But it definitely has to do with the workflow. Nice. Thanks.

On the Mike Crash filter, I've looked, I've tried, and it seems complicated, especially as there is no simple readme or rudimentary instructions. Can anyone give a run-down? Perhaps a seperate thread on that plugin would be in order.
DJ Kinney is offline  
Old June 9th, 2005, 10:59 AM   #1784
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 277
Also, vegas has that plugin preset all ready to go (with differing degrees of success)... the most important thing would be to use a fake blood mixture to really bring out the colour.

FX -> Colour Corrector (secondary) -> Desaturate all but reds

But you should set up the scene so that you won't have other reds. You may want to even cool down the skin tones before you run that filter, as skin has red in it.
DJ Kinney is offline  
Old June 9th, 2005, 11:00 AM   #1785
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Denver
Posts: 254
Tape-style audio scrubbing new in Vegas 6?

Ok does this mean it’s an audible scrub?

Vince
Vince Debart is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:39 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network