Vegas Video discussions from 2005 (Q1Q2) - Page 125 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 15th, 2005, 09:39 AM   #1861
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in the Negev
Posts: 1,189
Thanks, Ed!

What would we do without ya, pal?
__________________
Interesting, if true. And interesting anyway.
Hugh DiMauro is offline  
Old June 15th, 2005, 11:50 PM   #1862
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
use sphere and pinch/punch combined.. :)

ive used this numerous times to emulate security cameras and hidden cameras.. even though im using a Z1 or DVX.. lol
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Old June 16th, 2005, 09:58 AM   #1863
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jackson, WY
Posts: 178
Making a low pass filter in vegas

Yeah just like the title, I'm trying to make a low pass filter in vegas 5.0. The objective is to level out volume from different takes. For example I have two takes that are cut and put together to look like one, but the audio is a little bit different in volume. So I want to add a filter to the master bus that will level out audio. Not sure if that is possible, I'm thinking I might need to run a separate bus for that track?

Thanks.
__________________
i am the muffin man.
Fred Finn is offline  
Old June 16th, 2005, 11:49 AM   #1864
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
You can use the graphic dynamics filter for that, or the compressor filter.

The compressor might be a little easier? The settings to play around with are:
Ratio: About 3:1 is fine.
Threshold: Set this to a level lower than your peaks. The attenuation bar shows how much compression is going on.
You can make it something absurdly low to hear what compression sounds like.

Make-up gain: Pump this up to compensate for the loss in volume.
Smooth saturation: Turn this on.

Attack about 25ms or so?? (attack= how fast it kicks in; you generally want this fast, but too fast may distort the bass a little)
Release about 100ms or so?? (release = how much time it takes before the compressor lets go)

You might just want to add the compressor to the one relevant track, but that depends entirely on how you like things.
Glenn Chan is offline  
Old June 16th, 2005, 09:30 PM   #1865
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel
For all users of Excalibur 4, Vegas 6b has added a new ability that allows switching cameras to be done without stopping playback of the timeline. After weeks of testing, I am now ready to allow anyone using Excalibur 4 and Vegas 6b to use this new functionality.

Download the following file:
http://www.jetdv.com/scripts/ExVegasUtils.dll

This file should be copied to the Vegas 6.0\Script Menu\Excalibur4 folder and will replace an existing file. Once this file has been replaced, you will no longer need to stop the timeline playback to switch cameras. There WILL be a slight pause as the camera switches but playback will automatically continue.
NICE job Edward!
Glen Elliott is offline  
Old June 17th, 2005, 12:42 AM   #1866
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle WA USA
Posts: 125
How do I combine 4:3 files and pre-letterboxed files?

I've posted a ton of information and pictures over on dvxuser, but I'm just not getting anywhere: http://www.dvxuser.com/V3/showthread...445#post233445


I have two .avi files, one which was recorded in the DVX100A letterbox mode, and one which was recorded in 4:3. So, I open a new project, set the default properties to 'NTSC DV WIDESCREEN', then I apply the 16:9 crop to the 4:3 file, the size then is listed as 368 (originally it was 480), and 368 seems to match exactly with the letterboxed image, but when I watch in preview or after a render, the second image looks as though it is still the same height as when I started, higher than the first image in the timeline.

I have to be missing something painfully obvious, but I just can't seem to find it, so, perhaps a fresh pair of eyes can assist.


Thanks in advance for any help!
Shawn Murphy is offline  
Old June 17th, 2005, 02:39 AM   #1867
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
I think if you set the project settings to 4:3, it will resolve the problem. My understanding is that the DVX100a letterbox mode is 4:3, it's not 16:9 anamorphic, so it doesn't make sense to use a project with widescreen settings.
Michael Wisniewski is offline  
Old June 17th, 2005, 03:45 AM   #1868
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle WA USA
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Wisniewski
I think if you set the project settings to 4:3, it will resolve the problem. My understanding is that the DVX100a letterbox mode is 4:3, it's not 16:9 anamorphic, so it doesn't make sense to use a project with widescreen settings.

that makes sense about the DVX in-camera letterbox being 4:3, but even still it doesn't seem to be solving the problem..

So, what I have is two 4:3 clips. When I check the properties of each via the 'Pan/Crop' tool, they are both dimensionally identical:720x480. For the one that is already letterboxed, the actual image height takes up approximately 373 of the 480 pixels.

Again, the odd thing is that if I apply the 16:9 pan/crop to the other image, the one without the letterbox, then the size as shown in the pan/crop tool shows the height as 368 (pretty darn close to the approximate 373 I think the in-camera letterbox creates), and the width stays at 720, so, you would think that in the preview or when I render that the two clips would look symmetrically the same, but they don’t.

(should I take a break from smoking crack while doing this?)

Oh well, the footage I shot using in-camera letterbox mode was an anomaly, basically just experimenting, now I shoot everything 4:3 with the intention of cropping in post if necessary, so, I'll just chalk this one up to a twilight zone freak event and in the future I shouldn’t be mixing the two anyway. Thx.
Shawn Murphy is offline  
Old June 17th, 2005, 08:19 AM   #1869
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,135
DVD problems

Hi all. I finished a dvd project on Vegas 5. Used Vages DVD2 to burn the dvd. It is a 44 minute presentation (talking head) with lots of graphics. I burned them on my HP computer useing HP blank dvd's. Now, during play back on a computer they just all of a sudden stop in the middle of the presentation and go back to the menu screen. Am I overloading the system? Do I need a more professional blank dvd? Please help. Bob
Bob Safay is offline  
Old June 17th, 2005, 08:25 AM   #1870
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
No way to answer without more information. Could the the DVD. Could be the procedure you used. Could be.....

How many files did you give DVDA to use? What kind of files?
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old June 17th, 2005, 09:26 AM   #1871
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 857
.mpg to .avi to .wmv

I've been using Windows Media Encoder to attempt to thin some MPEG2 video files down to a smaller size for use in another program.

When I did this starting with .avi files instead of .mpg files the result was a .wmv file that was small and played very smoothly with great resolution. Trying to re-encode starting with .mpg files results in poor resolution and stuttering video.

Anyone have experience in Vegas trying to convert .mpg files back to .avi files for editing purposes? I guess if I do this I'll lose some quality, but if it will then compress into a .wmv file, it'll be worth the effort.
__________________
Fear No Weevil!
Patrick King is offline  
Old June 17th, 2005, 11:38 AM   #1872
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
A 16:9 mask will do the job. The letterbox mode you're trying to re-create is functionally a 16:9 mask. Think "masking tape".

The pan/crop tool in Vegas is more like a zoom in/out function.
Michael Wisniewski is offline  
Old June 17th, 2005, 01:17 PM   #1873
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 80
My Video FX (Vegas 5) are not working!

Hi, there. My Video FX are not working on Vegas 5. The Transitions and Media Generators work fine, but not the Video FX (none of them.) The plug-ins are checked (not by-passed) and the "before Pan/Crop" is selected, but the FX still don't show on the preview monitor. I tried applying the FX through the track, on the event, and by dragging the FX icon to the event and the preview window. None of it works. Anyone have any ideas? Thank you in advance. Ruben
Ruben Pla is offline  
Old June 17th, 2005, 01:48 PM   #1874
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Did you click the Split Screen (set to bypass FX) button just above the preview screen? If you did, you won't see any FX (but they'll still render fine). Click that button again to turn them back on.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old June 17th, 2005, 01:55 PM   #1875
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 80
Thank you. If I choose "select left/right" the FX shows on half the screen, but if I choose "select all" it doesn't show the FX at all. Is that the correct choice?
Ruben Pla is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:26 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network