Vegas Video discussions from 2005 (Q1Q2) - Page 20 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 22nd, 2005, 02:37 PM   #286
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Montreal , Canada
Posts: 197
Easy hardware related question

Hi all,


Just went from Athlon XP to Athlon 64 , new mobo and ram.

In this case would you recommand reinstalling Vegas or not

Thanks
__________________
Still lost in Vice city

My website: www.production24fps.com/english.php
Philippe Gosselin is offline  
Old January 22nd, 2005, 05:59 PM   #287
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
If you switched your motherboard, windows will likely BSOD on startup.

To avoid this, see http://episteme.arstechnica.com/eve/...4/m/1400925745
Swapping your board without so much as a reinstall (243kB of images)

2- You probably don't need to re-install Vegas in my opinion.
Glenn Chan is offline  
Old January 22nd, 2005, 06:41 PM   #288
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Detroit
Posts: 15
Rendering in Vegas - MPG2 or AVI ??

Hi guys, just quick question. I use a Canon GL2 and I have been using Vegas 5.0 on a PC for a while now. Im wondering if I should be rendering into MPG2 or AVI before making my DVD's? I have been rendering into AVI and have not had a problem but should I be using MPG2 instead? And what is the difference if any? Thanks !!
__________________
Johnny T.
GL2, PC Vegas 5.0 + DVD, Photoshop 7.0
Nikon D100 Digital still pro setup
Shooting nature, live music, sports, portraits
John C. Thompson is offline  
Old January 22nd, 2005, 06:52 PM   #289
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
None I just accidently rendered a few as PCM.
Glen Elliott is offline  
Old January 22nd, 2005, 07:08 PM   #290
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
You should render directly to MPEG2, that way you only have to render once. You'll also have to render the audio to an AC3 file. Make sure that the MPEG2 file and the matching AC3 file have the same name, except for their extensions.

There are settings in Vegas for rendering to DVDA MPEG2/AC3 . If you need to render multiple files try a multirender script
Michael Wisniewski is offline  
Old January 22nd, 2005, 07:40 PM   #291
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I would either re-render those to AC3 in Vegas or just allow DVDA to convert them.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old January 22nd, 2005, 11:50 PM   #292
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 22
I use an Albatron FX 5200 to run two monitors off of one AGP slot.

It's works great with Vegas 5 and it's powerfull enough for a quick game of Call of Duty every now and then.

As an added bonus, it includes the DVI to VGA adapter for the second monitor in the box.

It's pretty cheap too, newegg has it for about $57.00 right now with shipping.
Leo Anderson is offline  
Old January 23rd, 2005, 12:43 AM   #293
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Montreal , Canada
Posts: 197
Thanks for the heads up Glenn.


My switch went as smooth as it could get , the fact that the new mobo and a Via chipset as old one had probably explains a lot.

There is a couple of games that i had to reinstall , that's why I was wondering about Vegas as well , knowing some software went hayware i just thought that maybe Vegas would too.

All looks clear then

Thanks
__________________
Still lost in Vice city

My website: www.production24fps.com/english.php
Philippe Gosselin is offline  
Old January 23rd, 2005, 02:24 PM   #294
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Pre-NAB Announcement

http://www.vasst.com/mailers/NABBlasst.htm
I'm not sure what a pre-announcement is, but it's the language I was given to use. :-)
This party is sponsored by a number of companies including our own DVInfo.net/HDVInfo.net, so I'll leave it to you to view the mailer to find out who, rather than listing them all here. Thousands of $$ in door prizes, top-notch professional presenters, and some screenings will take place at this event in honor of our favorite software suite.

If you're even just considering attending Vegas this year for NAB, check out the Post Production Conference as well. We're working with the Post Production conference folks to make this the most Sony software-centric NAB ever. For the first time in the NAB conferences, we'll have sessions featuring Vegas, Acid, Sound Forge, and Noise Reduction in addition to the other sessions. This is your chance to get in on the first year of the Vegas and ACID bootcamps, as well as the HDV classes at NAB. There are more than 250 conference sessions to choose from at NAB this year, and there are more than 20 sessions that will show, teach, or demonstrate Vegas, ACID, or Sound Forge in those sessions.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old January 23rd, 2005, 07:23 PM   #295
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: new orleans / baton rouge
Posts: 46
working and moving markers.

i film biographies on ppl, then chop it up and render it out on dvd, blah blah.

so, i import the footage in vegas, and as i review the footage, i delete out the interviewer's voice, and set a marker as to the title of the topic.

by the end of the footage, i generally have 30+ markers, with gaps in between the blank footage where i deleted the narrator's voice. still with me?

it ends up looking like this:

http://www.labproductions.com/temp/markers.jpg

so my question is, when i am moving all the split footage back towards the begining of the video, how do i group the markers in so i dont loose them as a point of reference? if i try and move the audio and video, or even group it together, the markers stay put on the timeline. i need them to move with the corresponding footage.

am i going about this all wrong? is there a better way?

thanks!
Chris Trainor is offline  
Old January 23rd, 2005, 08:37 PM   #296
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
If you use ripple editing and have it set to affect everything, it will move those markers automatically. Just double-clidk the blank area (to select it), make sure ripple edit is turned on and set to affect all tracks/marker/regions and press the delete key.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old January 23rd, 2005, 08:42 PM   #297
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: new orleans / baton rouge
Posts: 46
thanks, will give that a whirl.

yet to use ripple editing. thanks for the advice.
Chris Trainor is offline  
Old January 23rd, 2005, 08:56 PM   #298
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 166
>is there a better way?<

I wouldn't do this with markers, but by naming the events in the timeline.

First go to preferences and turn on 'Show Active take information in events'.

Then for each event, right-click>Properties and enter a take name. That way, each event is labled for you and stays with the event no matter where/how you move it.

Gary
Gary Kleiner is offline  
Old January 23rd, 2005, 09:03 PM   #299
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: new orleans / baton rouge
Posts: 46
another fine suggestion.

been using vegas forever, and seems like i have been doing it the hard way.

what a great resource this forum is.

thanks guys.

*edit* that is exactly what i needed. thanks.
Chris Trainor is offline  
Old January 23rd, 2005, 09:20 PM   #300
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Just to give you another option, there's always the "Extract Good Clips" tool in Tsunami. It allows you to mark the good sections with regions and then pulls them out separately to a new track.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:29 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network