Vegas Video discussions from 2005 (Q1Q2) - Page 21 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 23rd, 2005, 11:11 PM   #301
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 241
Wow, sorry for the late reply! I didn't see your reply.
I guess you've figured it out by now, but in case someone else is wondering:

Short answer - yes you are right. If you play the anamorphic 16:9 through any device that is not '16:9 aware', it will look squashed horizontally. Some newer 4:3 TVs have a 16:9 squeeze mode that will letterbox it correctly.

Doing it the other way around isn't usually such a problem. If you play the 4:3 LB video on a widescreen TV in 4:3 mode the screen will letterbox on all 4 sides (not a good look), but pretty much all widescreen TVs have a zoom mode that will play the video fullscreen (albeit not with the resolution the anamorphic would have been.

I believe the best output medium (for me) is DVD. I can shoot anamorphic, make an anamorphic DVD, then play it on my widescreen at full resolution, but if someone plays it on a 4:3 TV, the DVD player will letterbox it correctly (provided they have their DVD player setup correctly).
Kyle Ringin is offline  
Old January 24th, 2005, 03:37 AM   #302
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
See the sticky thread in this forum for links to all sort of Vegas
extensions etc.

At this point in time there are no plans for a new season of Lady X,
mainly due to time restrictions on our parts. But who knows what
will happen this year, we haven't abandoned it or anything.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old January 24th, 2005, 03:49 AM   #303
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
You can also look at this in the positive light: the more exposure
of your work the more change you'll get seen and people might
purchase your services, wether for wedding work or fictional work,
that's what I think. However, you shouldn't encourage it or let it
slide if you find out someone is making large amount of copies
(especially if they are being sold).

If you are offering a product I can imagine you are offering copies
as well? So there is a base price for the manufacturing of the
product and then a price for additional copies (which should cover
the disc costs, nice case and your time etc.) that seems reasonable
(I would try to make my profit with the product in general, not
the copies) so they are not too easily thinking about doing the
copying on their own.

Perhaps a value added service (if you are doing a wedding) is to
send these discs out to everyone as well? (ofcourse you should
be compensated for this and only after the couple has seen the
footage and OK-ed the distribution) In this way they don't have
to bother with this themselves and have more time to enjoy
eachother <g>
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old January 24th, 2005, 04:22 AM   #304
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I'll see if I can run some tests, time is very short at the moment
though. Please post in the following thread for your notification
problem:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...threadid=36726
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old January 24th, 2005, 04:59 AM   #305
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I think some people are using it (with WAX as well). Why do you
want to know?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old January 24th, 2005, 05:46 AM   #306
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
I've got it, but can't make it work - most likley me.

I'm listenning to this thread .. oh yes .. .

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline  
Old January 24th, 2005, 07:02 AM   #307
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Westcliff-On-Sea, Essex, England
Posts: 154
Attaching a beta sp player for Vegas..

Hello all.
Does anyone know how I can attach a Beta SP player to my PC, so I bring footage straight into Vegas.

At the moment I am attachnig my camera to the Beta deck and transferring it to DV, and then firewiring it in from the camera.

This takes extra time and probably a loss of quality.

thanks
Mark
Mark McCarthy is offline  
Old January 24th, 2005, 08:30 AM   #308
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Assuming the camera allows pass-thru, you can skip the recording to tape step. Just hook up the unit to the camera, hook the camera up to the computer, and capture straight to the hard drive through the camera skipping the tape. You need to turn OFF device control for this to work.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old January 24th, 2005, 08:47 AM   #309
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Westcliff-On-Sea, Essex, England
Posts: 154
Hi Edward
I'll try that thanks. I haven't tried turning off the device control option.
Thanks for the swift reply!
regards
Mark
Mark McCarthy is offline  
Old January 24th, 2005, 08:48 AM   #310
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in the Negev
Posts: 1,189
Slow Timeline Play

I am running a dual monitor, 3 ghz P4 with 2056 meg of ram (PC) with every conceivable background program turned off, two 250 gig hard drives for data only and one 160 gig hard drive for programs. So, when I apply a Magic Bullet Movie Look filter on a clip, the playback slows down so much that it looks like it moves one frame per second. With all my memory and space, why is the application of one filter slowing my timeline play so drastically? Did I shut off too many background programs? Did I not shut off enough?

HALP!
__________________
Interesting, if true. And interesting anyway.
Hugh DiMauro is offline  
Old January 24th, 2005, 08:58 AM   #311
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Voorhees, NJ
Posts: 82
I could not get the video morph to work. It seems to be an issue that Sony needs to address.

Using standalone winmorph I can morph a still image, but to morph video it seems you need to use winmorph as a plugin.

I guess that is what wax is for?
Kim Kinser is offline  
Old January 24th, 2005, 09:06 AM   #312
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in the Negev
Posts: 1,189
In Camera 16 X 9 Better than 4 X 3?

Does anybody agree or disagree with this:

http://members.macconnect.com/users/b/ben/widescreen/index.html
__________________
Interesting, if true. And interesting anyway.
Hugh DiMauro is offline  
Old January 24th, 2005, 09:46 AM   #313
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
It's Magic Bullet. It's a terribly slow plugin - effective but SLOW. You can achieve the same looks manually but it will take some work on your part. You might want to look at the Zenote plugins. They are MUCH faster.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old January 24th, 2005, 10:10 AM   #314
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Magic Bullet? yeah right . .. Tried it once, not again until they speed up the process .. nice effects, get busy with creating your own home grown presets and name them and sue them .. lots to experiment with. Apart from anything else you will be in the fortunate business of having created your own!

Go on, get experimenting . .Vegas WONT let you down ..

G
Graham Bernard is offline  
Old January 24th, 2005, 11:21 AM   #315
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ypsilanti, MI
Posts: 87
Deinterlace/Progressive Scan/Reduce Flicker?

Hey Guys and Gals,

I have recently captured interlaced video of a young lady doing a sign language presentation with white gloves and a black dress. When she moves her hands quickly I see a terrible blur and sometimes horizontal lines. I have experimented Interlace/Progressive Scan modes under Project and clip properties. I have also checked reduce interlace flicker. Can some one please tell me the setting that might result in the smoothiest video.
1. Should I leave the Project property set for interlacing? Should I use blend or interpolate?

2. If checking reducing interlace flicker has to be set, is there anyway to do this projectiwide?

Please help. Thank you!
__________________
Jack-of-all-trades trying to master one (Videography)
www.sdfvideo.com
Albert Rodgers is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:24 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network