Vegas Video discussions from 2005 (Q1Q2) - Page 80 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 14th, 2005, 06:39 AM   #1186
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Thanks Gary.
Brad Scott is offline  
Old April 14th, 2005, 08:52 AM   #1187
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,244
NAB-Live Chat Next Wednesday!

Can't make it to NAB this year?

Mark your calenders!

On Wednesday, April 20th, 9:00 p.m. Pacific time, there will be an online NAB-Live chat in the Vegas Café Chat Room with Douglas Spotted Eagle, Victor Milt, and other members of the VASST team. Stay tuned, as more details become available.

You'll find the Vegas Café at: www.gooddogproductions.com/chat/vegas_cafe.htm

Add the above link to your "Favorites" folder.
Jay Gladwell is offline  
Old April 14th, 2005, 09:58 AM   #1188
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Grazie, that's only 5:00 AM for you! Midnight on the east coast.

Now, if I can only remember next Wednesday.........
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old April 14th, 2005, 04:56 PM   #1189
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,136
Side by side

Question, can Vages do side-by-side shots? I want to be able to compair the golf swing of an instructor and a student swinging a golf club. I used to do it all the time with linier editing. Bob Safay
Bob Safay is online now  
Old April 14th, 2005, 05:07 PM   #1190
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
With ease. Can be done with either pan/crop OR track motion.
Glen Elliott is offline  
Old April 14th, 2005, 07:46 PM   #1191
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hillsborough, NC
Posts: 409
So removing a blank DVD stops it from hanging when you select "Make DVD"? Then how do you make a DVD?

Good luck.

Dennis
Dennis Vogel is offline  
Old April 14th, 2005, 07:48 PM   #1192
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: South-Central Ontario, Canada
Posts: 216
Overexposed footage...

Hi people,

I "filmed" my kids Competition Dance Showcase (I know, I know, I didn't "film" it - please humour me... ;-)

We used a GL2 (close on right side) & an XL1s (wide at back of room).

Unfortunately the XL1s footage for the first 15 dances came out overexposed enough that it's really annoying. The GL2 footage is nice apart from the fact the lighting guy didn't remove coloured gels on some of the lights.

I need this footage so what is the best technique(s) to make the best of the overexposed footage? I'm using Vegas 5.0b (build 160) if that helps.

I could really use some help here being new and all.

Many thanks to anyone and everyone who assists me with this. Your HVX200 will be in the mail after I win the lottery.

sincerely,

ian
Ian Slessor is offline  
Old April 14th, 2005, 08:02 PM   #1193
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
In the last issue of my newsletter I list many different ways to do this task. Just click the link under my name.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old April 14th, 2005, 08:05 PM   #1194
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Good luck. You can't bring back detail that isn't there. If you post a snapshot, maybe someone can play with it and get some reasonable results.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old April 15th, 2005, 01:08 AM   #1195
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: new orleans / baton rouge
Posts: 46
weird behavior of scroll bars-turn black. Dual monitors.

I have a dell xeon, gig ram, Vegas 5, dual monitors coming out of a Radeon 7000.

I often use both monitors when I am working on certain types of projects, but generally just disable the 2ndary and use one for day to day stuff.

Anyway, often I will open vegas in one of the two modes, but almost always use both monitors eventually when working. But sometimes now when I open up vegas the scroll bars at the bottom of the page and for the master controls are just black bars. It generally takes different reboot configurations to get it back, with one monitor on, with both, just seems to fix itself at random.

Pic below:


http://bouncebooking.com/temp/vegas-error.jpg

Anyone ever occured this?
Chris Trainor is offline  
Old April 15th, 2005, 05:32 AM   #1196
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 100
you can try fooling around with some of the video effect filters. Color curves and color corrector might help. Try turning down the gain in the color corrector and then adjusting the color curves. But as Edward mentioned, this is of limited use if the video is really overexposed.
__________________
Steve


pdx10, EOS10D
Steve Roffler is offline  
Old April 15th, 2005, 07:16 AM   #1197
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Venice, FL
Posts: 850
Use DVDA for authoring & prep, Nero for burning. I tried several DVD burners before I gave up on DVDA and started usingthis procedure.
Bob Costa is offline  
Old April 15th, 2005, 10:10 AM   #1198
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I've seen this mentioned before. I believe it is related to your video driver/video settings. You may try going to Options - Preferences and turning off "Enable Windows XP Theme Support". You could also try using a different theme.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old April 15th, 2005, 11:16 AM   #1199
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 8
Vegas Movie Studio + DVD problems!!!

I recently purchased Vegas movie studio.

now i'm having problems while making the movie "Make a Movie"

first time everything was okay, except that one of the background music was transitioned over another music. which i recalled never did such a thing. checked the raw time frame and everything seemed okay.

now i redone the whole process (make a movie), which is about 2.5 hours. the mpeg file converted okay, but now the wav. file crashed on me saying that it "timed out".

anyone with the same problem? any suggestions would be greatly appreciated?


P.S. is it possible to just redo the wav. file instead of the mpeg file?
Khai Yang is offline  
Old April 15th, 2005, 01:11 PM   #1200
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 636
Not to derail the thread, but I see you're in Baton Rouge -- ever heard of a guy named Kevin Kuperman ("kup")?
Jim Lafferty is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:55 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network