Does vegas make region free DVDs by default at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 23rd, 2004, 09:29 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Johnstown PA
Posts: 44
Does vegas make region free DVDs by default

I have to send some DVD's to England for review. Does anyone know if Vegas burns NTSC DVD's region free by default? If not is there a setting in Vegas to make them region free?

I can use DVD shrink to do this but do not want to degrade the quality of the DVD's by putting the vob files throught the process.

Any input on this would be greatly appreciated.
Dan Melius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2004, 11:36 PM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Yes. The DVD from DVDA will be region free.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2004, 02:36 AM   #3
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,529
Hah! Thanks Edward . . Just done this the other way around . ..

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2004, 11:55 AM   #4
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
What, did you send me a DVD?????
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2004, 12:15 PM   #5
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,529
No . . sorry it went to a relative in Calif. . . .. Didn't think you'd wanna see it!

G
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2004, 06:39 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Johnstown PA
Posts: 44
Sorry I did mean DVD architect. However, since they both came together, I just considered it coming from Vegas.

thanks,
Dan
Dan Melius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2004, 11:19 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,564
i thought DVDshrink can make 1:1 copies. am i correct? i mean i know it shrinks DVD9->DVD5 but it can also copy DVD9->DVD9 uncompressed and remove all the copyrights. it can also copy DVD5->DVD5 no problem.

PS which DVD authoring software lets you specify a region? i can't recall ever seeing that feature on a DVD Authoring program.
__________________
bow wow wow
Yi Fong Yu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2004, 09:29 PM   #8
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Most DVD Authoring apps allow region specification.
Encore, DVD Workshop, REEL, Scenarist...
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2004, 02:02 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Carlsbad CA
Posts: 1,132
region coding is not part of the dvd spec for recordable dvd's, so it doesn't matter what region the authoring app puts on the disc... it'll be ignored by the dvd player, because "the region code mask is flagged as 0 in the VMG(video manager)."

http://www.dvddemystified.com/dvdfaq.html#1.10

go ahead and send your discs to england... i'd be a lot more concerned about whether or not the recipient can play ntsc discs at full quality... if you need to transcode to pal, procoder does a really good job going from ntsc dv to pal mpeg2.
Dan Euritt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2004, 07:46 PM   #10
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
I didn't suggest it was part of the spec, I said authoring apps allow it.
Flags for regions, CSS, Macrovision are outside the DVDr fields, and therefore must be installed by the replicator, can't be done on a home burner.
But...
We have found that even though flags are supposed to be field 22, it does burn correctly for the replicator on a DVD 5. DVD player won't recognize it, but the info is there and the replicator can pick it up.
Used to be that only a DDP or DLT file could carry this and be recognized.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2004, 07:15 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Carlsbad CA
Posts: 1,132
thanks for the heads-up on that... i wonder if it could come in handy for large-scale runs where you don't have a dlt deck to master to.
Dan Euritt is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:15 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network