Trying out Vegas 5.0 demo - Where are the track FX? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 30th, 2004, 09:24 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St.Thomas, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 428
Trying out Vegas 5.0 demo - Where are the track FX?

I downloaded and installed the 30 day demo for Vegas 5 and I am wondering where the track FX are?
In previous versions of Vegas I simply clicked on track fx and the Plug-In chain and it listed all sorts of audio or video plugins.

When I try that now, nothing shows up and the add button is greyed out.

What am I doing wrong here?

Thanks
__________________
Toogood Studios
Jeff Toogood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2004, 07:01 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
If I start Vegas 5 and I do the following it works, please try it:

1. right-click anywhere in the timeline and choose "Insert Video Track"

2. on the newly created track click the "Track FX..." button (which is the fourth from the left in the upper button row on a track) and it pops open

That should work (although I agree the button "looks" grayed out!).

Another way to do it is to simply go to your Video FX browser
(default in the lower left corner of the screen) and drag an effect
(not to the event/clip on the timeline as you would normally)
to the track HEADER (the mouse cursor should change from having
a "can't do icon" attached to a + (plus) sign attached).
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2004, 08:21 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St.Thomas, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 428
I can drag a Video FX from the Video FX Browser, however I cannot access any Audio effects at all.
__________________
Toogood Studios
Jeff Toogood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2004, 08:43 AM   #4
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Jeff, they should all work fine. If you're not seeing them, try running the various Migration Tools.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2004, 10:16 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St.Thomas, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 428
Migration tools?
__________________
Toogood Studios
Jeff Toogood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2004, 10:30 AM   #6
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Start - Programs - Sony - Utilities - Migration Tools

However, the audio effects should just be there. They were on mine.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2004, 12:57 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St.Thomas, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 428
I know it's crazy, there is NO audio or video FX's when I select a audio/video track and then go to tools-audio/video track FX. There is no folders or anything and I can't browse to any effects. There's just nothing.

I even un-installed Vegas 4 thinking it might be the problem and completly removed the 5 demo and re-installed it and I get the same thing.

I can do some screen shots tonight from home, because I know this sounds crazy.
__________________
Toogood Studios
Jeff Toogood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2004, 06:39 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St.Thomas, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 428
This is what I get when I try and get a Track FX for audio

http://www.digitaliso.ca/vegas.jpg

PS I tried the Migration Tool and it didn't work either.
__________________
Toogood Studios
Jeff Toogood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2004, 10:19 PM   #9
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Interesting. The only thing I can think of to try would be to reinstall but the demo doesn't allow uninstalling and reinstalling. Beyond that you might try contacting customer support.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2004, 05:48 AM   #10
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Never seen that either, on what Operating System are you running?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2005, 07:33 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St.Thomas, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 428
Well I gave up on it for awhile and decided yesterday to try and install it on my work computer and I get the same thing!!!

So I went home and installed it on my crappy laptop and everything works fine on there.

Why would my home PC and my work PC both have this problem?

All three systems are running Windows XP Pro

Very confused here
__________________
Toogood Studios
Jeff Toogood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2005, 07:45 AM   #12
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I have no idea. That question is probably best answered by Sony's
tech support. Sorry.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2005, 01:57 PM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Carlsbad CA
Posts: 1,132
i would go to the computer that has the effects visible, and determine what directory they are in... then take a look in the other pc's to verify that the effects were installed in the correct directory.
Dan Euritt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2005, 04:10 AM   #14
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Okay, I've been thinking. What may be wrong is that the files are
not registred in the registry. Do the following:

1. close Sony Vegas / DVD Architect and all other open applications

2. find your audio plugins directly (mine, as is the default is located at: C:\Program Files\Sony\Shared Plug-Ins\Audio)

3. do the following for each and every file in that directory:

- click on start button -> run
- type in: regsvr32
- drag one of the files to the empty space after where you typed regsvr32
- it should automatically paste the pathname in quotes so you get (for example): regsvr32 "C:\Program Files\Sony\Shared Plug-Ins\Audio\sfresfilter.dll"
- hit OK, you should get a message like: "DllRegisterServer in ..... succeeded."

4. reboot your system to be safe

5. start Vegas and see if they are there now

If not then I suspect you are having security problems. Are you
logging in with an administrator account or with a less privileged
account?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2005, 10:40 AM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Edison, NJ
Posts: 119
When I select FX in my Vegas Demo I get an error and the following detail message. When I select ok, Vegas shuts down

Sony Vegas 5.0 TRIAL
Version 5.0d (Build 194)
Exception 0xC0000005 (access violation) READ:0x74 IP:0x74
In Module 'vegas50.exe' at Address 0x0 + 0x74
Thread: GUI ID=0x98C Stack=0x12F000-0x130000
Registers:
EAX=00000000 CS=001b EIP=00000074 EFLGS=00010212
EBX=04d7a2b0 SS=0023 ESP=0012f2d4 EBP=0012f348
ECX=77e758a4 DS=0023 ESI=06b7ced8 FS=003b
EDX=00140608 ES=0023 EDI=0012f348 GS=0000
Bytes at CS:EIP:
00000074: .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. ........
0000007C: .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. ........
Stack Dump:
0012F2D4: 0012F358 00030000 + FF358
0012F2D8: 06B827E8 06B10000 + 727E8 (spmackiectrlopt.dll)
0012F2DC: 06B5F05D 06B10000 + 4F05D (spmackiectrlopt.dll)
0012F2E0: 0012F348 00030000 + FF348
0012F2E4: 00000001
0012F2E8: 0012F348 00030000 + FF348
0012F2EC: 00000000
0012F2F0: 00000000
0012F2F4: 00000000
0012F2F8: 00000001
0012F2FC: 06B5ABA6 06B10000 + 4ABA6 (spmackiectrlopt.dll)
0012F300: 0012F348 00030000 + FF348
0012F304: 00000001
0012F308: 006D27E2 00400000 + 2D27E2 (vegas50.exe)
0012F30C: 03125DE8 030C0000 + 65DE8
0012F310: 0012F348 00030000 + FF348
> 0012F330: 006D29C3 00400000 + 2D29C3 (vegas50.exe)
0012F334: 03125DE8 030C0000 + 65DE8
0012F338: 0012F348 00030000 + FF348
0012F33C: 04E8ABD8 04BC0000 + 2CABD8
0012F340: 00000000
> 0012F398: 0041579B 00400000 + 1579B (vegas50.exe)
- - -
0012FFF0: 00000000
0012FFF4: 00000000
0012FFF8: 0072EAA0 00400000 + 32EAA0 (vegas50.exe)
0012FFFC: 00000000
Ray Sigmond is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:55 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network