DVD Architect and Dual Layer DVD's at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 1st, 2004, 02:18 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1
DVD Architect and Dual Layer DVD's

Sorry for such a mundane question but here goes. I have a Pioneer 16X dual layer DVD writer. Will the latest version of DVD Architect write to a dual layer disc?
John Leslie Mullins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2004, 02:27 PM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
No it will not.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2004, 07:11 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 41
Hopefully Sony will release an update to correct this little problem soon, seeing as how budget authoring apps now seem to support DL discs:

http://www.gocyberlink.com/english/p....jsp?ProdId=47
Barry Lajnwand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2004, 07:25 PM   #4
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I would not be surprised if dual layer is a new feature of DVDA3. Based on past experience, Sony does things RIGHT instead of just "tacking on a new feature" just to get it there. But, who knows, there could be an update to DVDA2 released tomorrow adding this feature for all I know.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2004, 09:02 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Elgin, Illinois
Posts: 206
Anyone have experience with DL media? I know most current burners support the format, but I've heard playback on standard DVD players is incompatible. You can burn em, but can't play em back on home systems.
__________________
John Hartney
Elgin, Illinois USA
847.742.9321
John Hartney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2004, 08:16 AM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
I'm not sure that they figured out how to handle the layer breaks on video DVDs. Data DVDs are fine....but when a laser is streaming video rather than just reading data it's a bit different.

I for one, hope Sony adds DL functionality to it's current platform. I don't feel it would be the "wrong" way - remember Vegas 4 got an upgrade to handle 24p and HD.
Glen Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2004, 08:45 AM   #7
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I didn't mean to imply that it would be "wrong" to add to DVDA2. And I understand that significant features are sometimes added in updates. I'm just saying that even if they DO add it to DVDA2 that they are going to do serious research to make sure it's "RIGHT".
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2004, 08:52 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 755
You can use Encore 1.5 with the latest update to do dual layer.

Jon
Jon Omiatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2004, 12:59 PM   #9
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
That's news to me.
Glen Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2004, 09:47 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 755
-----> Directly from adobe's site<----

Download the Adobe Encore DVD 1.5.1 Update
This update provides compatibility with the new dual-layer DVD burners. Burn dual-layer discs directly from Adobe Encore DVD with no additional software and maintain control over the placement of the layer break.

LINK http://www.adobe.com/support/downloa...atform=Windows
<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>
Jon Omiatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2004, 10:49 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Malvern UK
Posts: 1,931
DVDlab Pro has been able to do dual layer for a long time, as well as allowing the user to precisely place particular data on a particular part of the disc for the fastest reading. Shame that the program isn't more stable.
Simon Wyndham is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:30 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network