Vegas Video discussions from 2005 (Q3Q4) - Page 16 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 2nd, 2005, 01:28 PM   #226
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 103
Vegas 6.0 comes with cineform codec?

Maybe it is Vegas 6.0b can someone tell me how to use or render HDV as a cineform AVI?
Kevin Red is offline  
Old August 2nd, 2005, 03:40 PM   #227
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 63
Viewing 16x9 on media player

Im wanting to view a true 16x9 avi created in vegas5, on my media player (real)
All im getting is a 4:3 playback.
Shot on xl2 set to 16x9
set to dv widescreen for properties
set to dv widescreen for render
preview is in 16x9

any suggestions?
Don Meers is offline  
Old August 3rd, 2005, 12:36 PM   #228
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 187
HD codec: what should i use?

hello. I don´t know what HD codec should i use.

I am going to digitize HDCam footage (25p). And i want to edit it on vegas6. I find these templates:

- MPEG2: HDV codec (i guess this is bad because resolution and compression)

- MPEG2: HD 1080 25p ?????????????

- AVI: HDV 1080 50i intermediate ????????

- AVI: HDV 1080 50i YUV ?????????????

- AVI: HDV 1080 25p YUV (GearShift) ??????????

- QUICKTIME: custom template using 1920x1080 25p and JPG compression at 100% (i find this easy to use, gives a very good quality and the file size is quite small)


So what do you think it will be the best codec to use? I will have a very good PC but not an HD acceleration board or so. After i have the files i will make an offline editing first.
COuld anyone explain the main differences and characteristics of the codecs?

thanks
Miguel Lopez is offline  
Old August 3rd, 2005, 05:12 PM   #229
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 141
Individual frames after running through Ultimate S look

just as good to me as the individual frame before the conversion. I was under the impression that converting to 24p made the individual frames softer. So I am pretty happy with this.

So now if I want to load the 24p file into Premeire Pro do I set it up as a 24p project or can I edit it in a 29.7 project? I know that inside Vegas the project automatically changes to a 24p project after you run it through Ultimate S but Premeire Pro only has a 24p setting for the DVX.
Greg Jacobson is offline  
Old August 3rd, 2005, 06:19 PM   #230
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 230
how to bring offline media online?

I don't know why but I have a vegas project which leaves one particular avi offline.
It's in the original folder and it plays in media player so there's no problem with the actual file.

But I can't work out how to bring it back online.

I tried shifting it to another folder so vegas would prompt me to search for it. I specifiy where it is, vegas seems happy with that and then it proceeds to open the project and still leaves that avi offline.

can someone please help me get this file online?

---correction---
it's seems the avi file has become a sound file, even though it is still an avi file.
wtf?
the pc says it's an avi, but media player and vegas treat it as a sound file. What would caust this and how do I fix it?

Last edited by Matt Brabender; August 3rd, 2005 at 08:08 PM.
Matt Brabender is offline  
Old August 4th, 2005, 12:01 AM   #231
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
AVI: HDV 1080 50i intermediate ????????

- AVI: HDV 1080 50i YUV ?????????????

- AVI: HDV 1080 25p YUV (GearShift) ??????????


YUV is prolly the best of thr bunch though.. ask DSE, hes got a nice little configuration happening with YUV which I read on another forum.. Im lazy, i use the cineform HDV codec which is an AVI
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Old August 4th, 2005, 01:21 AM   #232
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Pacifica, CA
Posts: 348
Unloaded???

I just downloaded a trial version of Vegas 6 to try with my FX-1. Following the settings in the program, I cleared the external capture in options>video and adjusted settings in the internal capture window, where I got the FX-1 listed in the drop down device selection box. But the capture window remains blue with an 'unloaded' message. Turn the camera off, it says, correctly, 'device not available'. Turn the camera back on and the unloaded message appears. (And yes, there is a tape, playable, in HDV format in the camera). Any ideas?
Eric Lagerlof is offline  
Old August 4th, 2005, 02:34 AM   #233
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
is the cam in vcr mode? stupid Q but it has to be asked..
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Old August 4th, 2005, 06:55 AM   #234
Sponsor: VASST
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 516
I am not familiar with Premiere Pro (I’m a Vegas user) but once you have run the footage through Ultimate S it is now 24p footage. So I would imagine that in Premiere Pro you would do best to set up a 24p project so that it doesn’t Telecine the footage (‘cuz it might not do as good a job as Vegas does).

~jr
__________________
Developer: VASST Ultimate S, Scattershot 3D, Mayhem, FASST Apps, and other VASST Software plug-ins
Web Site: www.johnrofrano.com
John Rofrano is offline  
Old August 4th, 2005, 07:10 AM   #235
Sponsor: VASST
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 516
The MPEG2 HDV codecs are what the HDV camera uses but are difficult to edit with because they use a GOP of 15 frames which means your PC has to do a LOT of work to render any frame which is not an I-Frame (which is only one out of every 15)

The “intermediate” codecs are the CineForm codecs and a good balance between quality and size. These do not take a lot of computer power to work with but it is certainly more than DV requires so you still need a fairly new computer. (which it sounds like you have)

The “YUV” codecs from Sony are exceptional quality but they take more computer power than the intermediate codecs. These should be used if you are going back to DVCAM. If you’re final format is DVD then the intermediate codecs are also a good choice. If you are going back to HDCAM then MPEG2 HDV is the best choice but will be difficult to edit.

It looks like you also have GearShift installed. For the highest quality, you can capture MPEG2 HDV and render a DV Widescreen proxy with GearShift to edit with. Then swap the proxy out with the original footage for your renders.

You choice ultimately depends on what your delivery format will be.

~jr
__________________
Developer: VASST Ultimate S, Scattershot 3D, Mayhem, FASST Apps, and other VASST Software plug-ins
Web Site: www.johnrofrano.com
John Rofrano is offline  
Old August 4th, 2005, 07:18 AM   #236
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 187
Thanks.

But why do you say mpeg2 HDV will give me more quality.

I will shot on HDCAM which is better than HDV in size and color. So why downconvert to HDV?

Right now i think the easiest and most compatible way of doing it is to ask for a conversion from HDCAM to quicktime at HD res and jpg compression at 100%. Then, having these files on my pc, downconvert to DV, edit an offline project and then swap the files with the quicktime HD files. Then render the entire project at HD quality (it will take a while, but that is not a problem) and finally a transfer to film.
Miguel Lopez is offline  
Old August 4th, 2005, 08:08 AM   #237
Sponsor: VASST
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 516
Sorry, I missed the fact that you were shooting HDCAM. YUV is probably a good choice then. It is Sony’s codec and works well in Vegas. I don’t know how well Quicktime works with Vegas. I’ve never used it.

~jr
__________________
Developer: VASST Ultimate S, Scattershot 3D, Mayhem, FASST Apps, and other VASST Software plug-ins
Web Site: www.johnrofrano.com
John Rofrano is offline  
Old August 4th, 2005, 08:17 AM   #238
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
The only time I've seen a clip go "offline" when it really wasn't, simply exiting and restarting Vegas solved the issue. You might want to try a full reboot and see if that makes a difference.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old August 4th, 2005, 09:35 AM   #239
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
In my experience Quicktime DV is slooow in Vegas. Your mileage may vary.

I think it would be easy to output a quicktime HD clip from Vegas and test your system's speed.

2- If you want to use Vegas, perhaps your best bet is to capture on your Vegas system with the Sony YUV codec (no compression I believe). You will however need to figure everything out, and you'll need a Decklink card and a really fast RAID array (check the Blackmagic recommendations).

Once you have the footage captured you should be able to use gearshift and edit with DV proxies.

I have no idea if that setup works. I'm not sure of anyone editing uncompressed HD on Vegas... you might want to try on the Sony forums too.
Glenn Chan is offline  
Old August 4th, 2005, 10:42 AM   #240
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Pacifica, CA
Posts: 348
re:stupid question

Yes, it is in VCR mode, but thanks for checking. As one who has done lots of live show work, I know that 'Dummy Checks' are never really stupid! One thing that may effect this though is an error message for the media manager; something about my "sql something-or-other not having privleges". So Vegas installed ok but no the media manager. Considering all the hoops with the latest direct x and net framework downloads that i had to go through, it's kind of a drag.
Eric Lagerlof is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:51 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network