Vegas Video discussions from 2005 (Q3Q4) - Page 30 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 24th, 2005, 04:42 AM   #436
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Katoomba NSW Australia
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie McIntosh
Thanks to all the replies. I've been offline for a few days, but I'll try these solutions.

As for Cineform, I thought it was part of Vegas 6. Is the ConnectHD codec separate?

Thanks!
The CFHD codec should be (from what I understand) loaded by Vegas 6. However, I seem to remember having seen a reference to the fact that the Cineform CFHD support shipped with Vegas 6 doesn't give the same level of functionality as ConnectHD.

When you select AVI as the 'Render As' format, have you selected 'HDV 1080 intermediate' from the drop-down list? You do need to make sure you've got the correct 'Template' loaded.

It also pays to click the 'Custom' button to check exactly what's going to be done by the default settings of the selected format.

For WMV9 you'll very definitely need to check the 'Custom' settings if you want to extract the best results...
Steve Crisdale is offline  
Old August 24th, 2005, 08:44 AM   #437
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Select every event, drag the desired transition to one of the overlaps. They should now ALL have that one transition.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old August 24th, 2005, 04:14 PM   #438
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 126
Now there's something I didn't realize Vegas could do. Thanks, Edward!
__________________
Brian Kennedy
Brian Kennedy is offline  
Old August 24th, 2005, 06:57 PM   #439
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Antioch, CA USA
Posts: 49
2 Events into One

How do i butt together 2 events to make the scene change smooth?

And i am not talking about placing a transition between the 2 events. I just want to butt together 2 events and the viewer will not even notice that there were 2 video clips put together.

I know I am not doing it right because my video scene change always has this appearance of someone closing and opening his eyes to change scenes. I don't know how else to explain it. All I can say is: the scene change is not smooth not like the others I have seen.
Danny Santos is offline  
Old August 24th, 2005, 06:59 PM   #440
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 75
Anyone Render using networked computers yet?

Hello people!
I stopped in to read a little and remembered how kool it would be to speed up some rendering time with networked computers. Has anyone done this here? I have two pc's networked with vegas 6b on them. Do I need a gig of speed to push that or is the standard 100mb card enough?

sincerely.
John Lorince
__________________
John Lorince
Http://capturemotion.tv
John Lorince is offline  
Old August 24th, 2005, 07:34 PM   #441
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Unless you want to re-join a scene that you had split previously, there's no way the viewer is NOT going to notice a change.
Having said that, what you can try is changing the out point of scene 1 and/or the in point of scene 2 one frame at a time until you're happy with it.
Make sure you do a decent preview (I go back at least 5 sec. before the change and then hit play) of it each time before you make your final decision.
This is probably a holdover from my analog (tape to tape editing) days when 5 sec. pre-rolls were the norm and you had a chance to see how it looked before you commited to it.

Mike
Mike Kujbida is offline  
Old August 24th, 2005, 07:40 PM   #442
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mauriceville, TX
Posts: 146
Handwriting text in Vegas

Does anyone know how to get a realistic handwritten word or words as a text overlay to my video in Vegas 5?

I have some pretty descent handwritten fonts, but I want a word to look like it is being handwritten from one side of the screen to the other.

Am I thinking beyond Vegas?
Brandon Wood is offline  
Old August 24th, 2005, 07:42 PM   #443
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
Vegas does this easily with Bezier Masking
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Old August 24th, 2005, 09:27 PM   #444
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
It's really project dependent. Some projects benefit more than others in this regard. Naturally the network speed WILL make some difference but, once again, would really be project dependent. Best to just do some testing to see what benefits you might gain.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old August 24th, 2005, 10:00 PM   #445
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
The Vegas 6 sample projects on the sony vegas website has an example.

It's the editing project sample... the boston commercial.
Glenn Chan is offline  
Old August 25th, 2005, 03:55 AM   #446
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,483
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenn Chan
The Vegas 6 sample projects on the sony vegas website has an example.

It's the editing project sample... the boston commercial.
Was that done with Bezier Masking?
Dave Largent is offline  
Old August 25th, 2005, 12:54 PM   #447
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Yes. Well I'm almost sure it is anyways. ..
Glenn Chan is offline  
Old August 25th, 2005, 01:31 PM   #448
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: South-Central Ontario, Canada
Posts: 216
DVDA2 Chapter Name Highlight question

Hi gang,

I have my main menu and then submenues (sp?) set up.

The submenus (sp?) are all the same. Four pictures, each of which represents a dance (chapter). I have nine of these submenus.

Along the bottom I have the submenus listed ie: 1 to 4 5 to 8 etc

However, no matter which chapter I'm in when you hit the menu button during a dance or switch between submenus the appropriate menu displays but the "1 to 4" link is the one that's highlighted every time no matter which submenu I'm in.

Is there a way to set it up so that when I open a submenu (or return to it) that submenu's link at the bottom of the screen is also highlighted?

Just wondering. I've gone through the menu options and I haven't seen anything.

Thanks for listening.

sincerely,


ian
Ian Slessor is offline  
Old August 25th, 2005, 01:37 PM   #449
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
In the sub-menu, click on the "Return" button. On the right side in the "Button Properties" section, in the "Action" sub-section, look for the entry: Destination Button. Change this from "Default" to the entry you want chosen when returning from that menu.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old August 25th, 2005, 01:53 PM   #450
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 126
When you say it is like you "open and close your eyes," if you mean that the video gets dark when it makes the cut, then you have either set your in and out points incorrectly or introduced a fade in / fade out at the start and end points. Zoom all the way in to the end of the clip -- there should not be an "arc" indicating a fade out, and the little triangle in the upper corner should be dark blue, not light blue. If there is an "arc" there, drag it back to the end of the clip so you aren't fading out. Also make sure you have "quantize to frames" set, so you are not accidentally hard cutting somewhere other than an exact frame point.

On the other hand, if by "open and close your eyes" you mean the cut is more jarring to watch than the hard cuts you see in television and movies, then I am guessing it's the audio. You want the audio to be smooth between the two clips. If the two clips use different audio, you want to smoothly transition the audio between the two even though the video cut is abrupt.
__________________
Brian Kennedy
Brian Kennedy is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:35 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network