Vegas Video discussions from 2005 (Q3Q4) - Page 44 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 13th, 2005, 01:15 AM   #646
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Costa
How can I add tone to a colorbar leader in Vegas ??
You can create a sine wave tone in Sound Forge, if you have it.

In Vegas, if you are using Print to DV tape, the bars and tone are built in as options during this process.

Gary
Gary Kleiner is offline  
Old September 13th, 2005, 01:20 AM   #647
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 166
If you are getting 100 discs made, you will want to have them replicated (not burned).

In DVDA, double click on your media file so that you see it in the timeline window. At the top of the Media Properties window choose End Actions and set the Destination to be the same media file.

Gary
Gary Kleiner is offline  
Old September 13th, 2005, 04:54 AM   #648
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Jason: welcome aboard (H)DVInfo.net! You've posted the question in the right
place (thanks!) but you may want to try more informative titles next time. This
way people are more inclined to look inside. Instead of seeing a general one
like you've chosen. In this case an example good be:

"Architect 2 menu's look brown?"

If you want I can still rename it for you (I didn't already because you might have
trouble finding your post if you don't know someone has renamed it).

Thanks and enjoy your stay!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old September 13th, 2005, 07:27 AM   #649
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Audacity can generate it too. Audacity is open source (as in, more or less free).

Standard levels are -12dBFS (for consumer formats), -18 for PAL, -20 for pro video formats (i.e. digibeta). For analog formats, tone should hit 0 VU.

And then you have to set program levels in relation to tone.
Glenn Chan is offline  
Old September 13th, 2005, 08:59 AM   #650
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Venice, FL
Posts: 850
Thanks Gary, SF did the trick. Sure wish Vegas had just added that feature. After all, it is an audio editor, right??? :)

Now I wish I could figure out why one little section of my commercial goes to +3.5db for a second or two. Compressor does not seem to be able to trap it. It's always something.
__________________
You are either growing or dying.
Bob Costa is offline  
Old September 13th, 2005, 01:11 PM   #651
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 1,892
The effect your talking about is done in these commercials by a DV Info'er, John Britt.

Demos:
www.karatemedia.com/video/jomo.wmv

www.karatemedia.com/video/theatre.wmv


www.karatemedia.com/video/commercials.html
James Emory is offline  
Old September 13th, 2005, 04:48 PM   #652
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Bob, try this:

A- Always play from the start of your project, because the compressors are time-dependent and will give a different effect if you start later.

B- Make the attack a lot shorter. Attack is the delay the compressor takes before it kicks into action. Sometimes you want a long delay, so there's more dynamics in music. But in this case you want a very fast attack (and probably a very fast release too).
Glenn Chan is offline  
Old September 13th, 2005, 05:53 PM   #653
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 337
720p

If my work was printed to tape on 720p and later is viewed on LCD or plasma hdtv with a native resolution of 1080 will it look the same as viewing it on a screen with a native res of 720?

thanks
Fred Foronda is offline  
Old September 13th, 2005, 08:47 PM   #654
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 126
Also, keep in mind you can save and recall your workspace setups. Once you have it set the way you want, hit CTRL-ALT-D and then a number. After that, hitting ALT-D followed by the number will recall that workspace. This is really useful if you're like me and you prefer different workspaces for editing audio versus editing video.
__________________
Brian Kennedy
Brian Kennedy is offline  
Old September 13th, 2005, 09:10 PM   #655
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brookline, MA
Posts: 1,447
Mono AC3s created by Vegas 6 do not work

Has anyone been able to create AC3s in mono using Vegas? If so, what settings did you use? I have some dialog recorded in mono, and I hate to waste bandwidth on a non-existent channel. I tried using both stereo and mono sources.
Emre Safak is offline  
Old September 13th, 2005, 09:18 PM   #656
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brookline, MA
Posts: 1,447
I figured it out, but I can not delete this thread! Oh well, for those of you wondering: you need to create a surround project and pan the sound to the center channel. I thought using a mono file would do the trick but it did not.
Emre Safak is offline  
Old September 13th, 2005, 11:01 PM   #657
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,483
60i to 60p: How to?

I did it a long time ago in Vegas but forgot how.
I know there is somewhere you have to type in
"60" where that option does not exist as a pre-set.
(Did a search here but couldn't come up with the
info.)
How do I convert 60i to 60p?
Dave Largent is offline  
Old September 13th, 2005, 11:31 PM   #658
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 20
Starting with a wmv file

Hi all,

First of all thanks to all (especially Edward) for responding to my Vegas questions.

I have a .wmv file that I want to edit in Vegas and then make a DVD of.

When I drag it into Vegas, the audio shows up OK, but the video is all blacked out. Anything format I tried to render in results in all black video.

When I play the .wmv file in WinAmp, the video shows up no problem.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance,
Isaac
Isaac Kim is offline  
Old September 14th, 2005, 01:14 AM   #659
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
make sure u have windows media 9 or above installed.. in vegas drag the piece to the timeline and render out to dv avi,
from here you should see all frames.. so long as u have mediaplayer9 installed..
also turn off the microsoft codecs within vegas

if u try render wmv into any other format those black frames will be embedded to the actual output. avi is the only way to get full frames

the black frames u see are compression, which vegas sometimes latches onto, which is why u see the blacks more than the actual frames.. i dont know how or why, but it doesnt interpolate between the dead compression frames... i guess it can still recognise the frame rate so it leaves it..
Might be an idea to change the frame rate to force interpolation??
Youll need to experiment.

during playback, you SHOULDNT see these black frames at al unless ur scrubbing backwards.. (Mpg would behave the same way)
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Old September 14th, 2005, 01:20 AM   #660
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
go into your project settings, switch it to 60 and turn on interpolation, now turn on progressive..

the only output option u really have with this though is Sony YUV or Uncompressed.. i dont see wy youd need 60p unless ur source material was 60p...
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:51 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network