Vegas Video discussions from 2005 (Q3Q4) - Page 52 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 27th, 2005, 04:12 PM   #766
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 277
Bad news. Thanks, Edward. Maybe in Vegas 7. :-(
DJ Kinney is offline  
Old September 27th, 2005, 04:17 PM   #767
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 21
I'm trying to just get a good render right now - since the .AVI wouldn't play without the images jumpy (on another PC).

So I rendered to MPEG2 (which I think is required for DVD creation anyway??) - and it played without jumping on the other PC. But it did crash windows media player with a memory error (on the other PC!). So I think that the virus software and other suggestions you have made might help that.

What is the best format to render to (.AVI vs MPEG2)?
Frank Delucia is offline  
Old September 27th, 2005, 04:26 PM   #768
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Delucia
What is the best format to render to (.AVI vs MPEG2)?
It depends on what you are doing. If you're going to DVD, rendering to MPEG2 is fine. If you want to keep a higher quality file, render to AVI. Now, you didn't specify what format of AVI you were using. Common is DV-AVI which should play quite well. However, if you go to "Uncompressed" AVI, it could certainly stutter and takes a LOT more disk space.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old September 27th, 2005, 04:31 PM   #769
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 21
I could not find DV-AVI as an option when I render.

Is that just using NTSC DV as the template?

Why would using MPEG-2, which goes on a DVD, be lesser quality? I'm confused - wouldn't DVD want a better quality?
Frank Delucia is offline  
Old September 27th, 2005, 06:05 PM   #770
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Yes, pick "AVI" as the file type and then NTSC DV as the preset. That is DV-AVI.

MPEG2 is much more highly compressed than DV. For example, if you put 2 hours on a DVD, you're taking 26Gig of source and compressing that to just over 4 Gig. And, yes, that will reduce the quality - especially if you're wanting to do future editing.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old September 27th, 2005, 06:16 PM   #771
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 21
Ok - I'm starting to understand - I think.

So, I created each "chapter" as a different Vegas project. I thought I would render each of these to .AVI (since they are made up of .AVI and JPG anyway). I didn't think I would be losing any quality with this.

Each of these .AVI segments would then be put into a new project that put the whole thing together.

That's when I realized that the .AVI wasn't working well. Should a NTSC DV .AVI play on another PC with WINDOWS MEDIA player? Or is that NTSC DV only going to play in Vegas?

How can I make sure that a file I render is good quality? Will rendering be affected by virus software, or will it simply slow down while something like that runs?
Frank Delucia is offline  
Old September 27th, 2005, 07:16 PM   #772
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Delucia
Should a NTSC DV .AVI play on another PC with WINDOWS MEDIA player? Or is that NTSC DV only going to play in Vegas?

How can I make sure that a file I render is good quality? Will rendering be affected by virus software, or will it simply slow down while something like that runs?
Yes, a DV-AVI file should play fine on another PC with WMP. Virus software would simply slow things down.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old September 27th, 2005, 09:52 PM   #773
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Clermont, FL.
Posts: 941
Are you using Vegas 6b by chance. 6c clears up a bug that crashes Vegas during memory intensive renders.
Laurence Kingston is offline  
Old September 28th, 2005, 12:42 AM   #774
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 1,034
Frame Accuracy???

Occasionally when I render a timeline in Vegas (24p), I find that it is inserting a duplicate frame at some point in the timeline. When I then overlay the new rendered footage over the old region, it is not frame accurate! It is off by one frame! It only seems to happen with codecs other than DV.

And the duplicate frame happens in exactly the same spot each time!

Any ideas??
Peter Moore is offline  
Old September 28th, 2005, 01:27 AM   #775
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NY, NYC
Posts: 367
Thanks Edward --

Will do. Wasn't sure where to find you as I've only known you from these boards.

Will redirect all matters excalibur to there in the future!
James Binder is offline  
Old September 28th, 2005, 01:30 AM   #776
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 142
Thanks Laurence, I am using B, I hadn't checked for an update in a while. I did get it to finally render though. I have an ASUS motherboard that has automatic overclocking and I didn't notice that because I haven't had this many crashes before, but I set it to STANDARD and it rendered fine. It must have been overheating. But I will definately check out 6c. Thanks again.

As an aside I'd like to mention that the Gearshift plugin rocks on multiple levels. It made editing all that HDV footage a breeze. Those VASST fellas make some nice stuff.
John McGinley is offline  
Old September 28th, 2005, 08:28 AM   #777
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
If you downloaded yesterday, you may want to check back today and get the new 4.6 version. Click on the What's new in version 4.6? button for details on some of the changes in this version.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old September 28th, 2005, 08:28 AM   #778
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Clermont, FL.
Posts: 941
Gearshift is really cool, but IMO Cineform's ConnectHD is the way to go for HD.
Laurence Kingston is offline  
Old September 28th, 2005, 10:42 AM   #779
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 857
I can get in today. And Excalibur 4.6 is out? Thanks Edward!
__________________
Fear No Weevil!
Patrick King is offline  
Old September 28th, 2005, 10:47 AM   #780
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick King
And Excalibur 4.6 is out?
Yep. Just made it visible this morning. Click on the "What's New" link to see the major changes. Pay particular attention to the new Quick Label tool!
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:20 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network