Vegas Video discussions from 2005 (Q3Q4) - Page 54 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 30th, 2005, 02:34 AM   #796
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,498
Can Vegas pixallate a specific area?

I'm trying to mask some number plates. Only way I know is to use masking key frames. They dun look good as I only know how to use a solid colour. I would like to use pixallation instead.Can someone advise if I can make use of masking/beziers to achieve the effect?Or do I use a cookie cutter on a seperate track?
Sean Seah is offline  
Old September 30th, 2005, 05:22 AM   #797
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Edward Troxel discusses a blurring technique (Blurring Faces a la “Cops”) in Vol. #1 Issue #12 of his newsletters.
http://www.jetdv.com/vegas/forum/viewtopic.php?t=20 to download it.

Masking/beziers can also be used for this purpose. Once again, go to Edward's newsletters, this time Vo.l #3 Issue #3 (Beginner’s Corner - Bezier Masks) at http://www.jetdv.com/vegas/forum/viewtopic.php?t=630

Mike
Mike Kujbida is offline  
Old September 30th, 2005, 05:28 AM   #798
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Quote:
If I re-render a file that's already been rendered, does it lose ANY quality in definition?
As long as you don't change anything (such as doing a dissolve), there won't be any difference.

Quote:
What if I re-render it several times?
Nope. The Vegas DV codec is very good :-)
Mike Kujbida is offline  
Old September 30th, 2005, 07:31 AM   #799
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Yokohama, Japan
Posts: 366
Well because I've decided to do same thing (NTSC footage to PAL DVD) this is what I want to add for the discussion.

I agree with most that was said but actually many of the players sold might actually to be set up to play back the NTSC on PAL only TV (at least the set up for output signal to be PAL should be done). It's other thing that many of the TVs in Europe are Multi system so you don't have to worry about that issue either.

And the second thing I want to point out is that we are talking about AUTHORING to PAL from NTSC raw footage I guess (not recompressing MPEG2 NTSC to PAL)

As I said I'm determined to use change in project and render the original NTSC project to both NTSC and PAL (once at a time). What do you think the results would be in such case?
Bogdan Vaglarov is offline  
Old September 30th, 2005, 08:23 AM   #800
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I agree with Mike DEPENDING on what you are rendering from and to. If you have a DV-AVI file and render that to a DV-AVI file with no changes made on the timeline, the resulting file will be identical to the original file. If you render an MPEG2 file to an MPEG2 file, you will lose quality as each frame will be decompressed and recompressed.

SO... it depends on your source and destination formats. If you stick with DV-AVI, all will be fine.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old September 30th, 2005, 09:08 AM   #801
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
Saving Credit Rolls and the like

Is it possible, and I've tried, to save credit rolls to the library, while creating the library from a current project? I've read the manual and maybe I'm missing something.

My project includes credits and lead in credits that I want to save to a library and reuse over and over for each additional project.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline  
Old September 30th, 2005, 10:09 AM   #802
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You could copy all of these events to a "Library" project. Then you could just open the other project to copy them into an existing project.

If Vegas 6, you can make the credit roll its OWN project and then just save the VEG file. When you want that credit roll, just pop the VEG file onto the timeline.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old September 30th, 2005, 10:59 AM   #803
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 80
So let me make sure I got this right, if I re-render an .avi file to another .avi file, it remains the same as long as no changes are made on the timeline. Does that include even just editing certain clips without adding any FX?

Also, when I render my .avi's into DVD Architect, they require me to do it as .mpeg2's. Does that mean that I'm losing resolution then?

Thank you.
Ruben Pla is offline  
Old September 30th, 2005, 11:04 AM   #804
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Carlsbad CA
Posts: 1,132
you need to clarify "re-render".

if you change a transition on the timeline 20 times before you get it right, there will be no quality loss, because in the end, it's only getting changed once... despite being re-rendered many times.

if you were to lay a small graphic over a clip in the timeline, export it as a dv avi, then bring it back into the project, put another graphic on it, and export it yet again as a dv avi, you will take a quality hit... if you use the dv codec, you'll be hitting it with 5:1 compression both times, so in that case, you might want to consider using a lossless codec instead of the dv codec.

the market i serve would be able to handle the dv render/export/import/re-render scenario, but ymmv.

yes, you are losing resolution exporting to dvd mpeg2, but since that is the final destination, you don't have any choice.
Dan Euritt is offline  
Old September 30th, 2005, 11:13 AM   #805
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Ruben, from DV-AVI to DV-AVI will simply COPY the unchanged sections so there will be zero quality loss on unchanged sections. If you add a DV-AVI to the timeline, cut out some pieces, and leave everything as cuts, there will be NO quality loss. If you create a crossfade, there will be 1 generation of quality loss but would not be visually noticable. If you then add that rendered clip to a new timeline with no changes, there would be no additional loss.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old September 30th, 2005, 11:24 AM   #806
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 80
Thank you all for your help.

And thank you, Ed. As always, you made it crystal clear for me. (How's that cape of yours?)

Ruben
Ruben Pla is offline  
Old September 30th, 2005, 11:27 AM   #807
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
That's true, I'll look into that idea. I do have Vegas 6. I did end up opening my old project and copying the credits. I guess when I think of a project library, I figured everything should be included.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline  
Old September 30th, 2005, 11:29 AM   #808
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Raleigh, N.C.
Posts: 26
Gregory, I have only used a DSR-11 a few times but I don't think it can handle 24p DV directly. Here are a few things you can try to get export to tape working with your 24p project.

1. save your 24p project, then change the project properties to NTSC 29.97i and save as to a new project name for safety. Now try exporting to tape.

2. alternatively, open your original 24p project then "render as" the entire timeline to a new NTSC 29.97i DV-AVI. create a new 29.97 project and import the 29.97 DV-AVI you created and export that to tape.

3. some DV devices do not like 16:9 DV. So if your project is 16:9 you may need to change properties to/or render it as letterboxed 4:3 29.97i before you can export it to some tape/AV converter devices.
Matt Howell is offline  
Old September 30th, 2005, 12:42 PM   #809
Sponsor: VASST
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 516
Did you try saving the Credit Roll as a preset? (i.e., give it a name and press the diskette icon to save it) This will make it available in all your projects under the Preset dropdown.

~jr
__________________
Developer: VASST Ultimate S, Scattershot 3D, Mayhem, FASST Apps, and other VASST Software plug-ins
Web Site: www.johnrofrano.com
John Rofrano is offline  
Old September 30th, 2005, 12:46 PM   #810
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Rofrano
Did you try saving the Credit Roll as a preset?
For some reason, and I don't know why, I was assuming multiple keyframes. If it's a single keyframe, absolutely use a preset! Thanks, John, for bringing the forest into view instead of all those trees getting in the way.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:05 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network