Vegas Video discussions from 2005 (Q3Q4) - Page 68 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 3rd, 2005, 08:32 AM   #1006
Sponsor: VASST
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 516
You would have to route the output of the Keyrig to one of the Mona outputs that is not being used to monitor the mix (i.e., not channel 1 or 2 assuming this is a stereo mix). Then physically attach a 1/4" patch cable from that output back into one of the analog inputs. Finally record that analog input in Vegas 5.

I donít have a Mona so I donít know if this type of routing is possible right within the Monaís software control panel, but I have an M-Audio Firewire 410 and this is the only way Iíve found to do this with the FW410.

~jr
__________________
Developer: VASST Ultimate S, Scattershot 3D, Mayhem, FASST Apps, and other VASST Software plug-ins
Web Site: www.johnrofrano.com
John Rofrano is offline  
Old November 3rd, 2005, 08:40 AM   #1007
Sponsor: VASST
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 516
It is hard to put back what was not recorded, but I would start with using the Track EQ and boosting the bass and see what you get. You might also try and add some compression via the Track Compressor to make what is there sound fuller. Then get a better microphone for next time. ;-)

~jr
__________________
Developer: VASST Ultimate S, Scattershot 3D, Mayhem, FASST Apps, and other VASST Software plug-ins
Web Site: www.johnrofrano.com
John Rofrano is offline  
Old November 3rd, 2005, 01:36 PM   #1008
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Columbia,SC
Posts: 806
Widescreen

Ok,
So this latest project I am delivering tommorrow goes to a guy with a plasma HD tv. Is there a way for me to render a standard aspet project shot with standard aspect that will look decent on a widescreen? If this is a stupid question just check my status (New Boot) that will tell you how much I know...

Bill Grant
www.grantphotovideo.com
Bill Grant is offline  
Old November 3rd, 2005, 02:41 PM   #1009
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=48689

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=46361

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=39395

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=35105

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=50579

You can simply do a search on "widescreen" for many more hits.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old November 3rd, 2005, 03:35 PM   #1010
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,505
How do I use track compression in Vegas 6?
Can I compress the audio in Soundofrge 6?
__________________
Michael
www.lvpvideo.com
Michael Liebergot is offline  
Old November 3rd, 2005, 03:45 PM   #1011
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Liebergot
How do I use track compression in Vegas 6?
The audio track header should already have a compressor effect on it. Just open the dialog, pick one of the presets, and make any other adjustments as needed. If you have other compressors installed, they can be used.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Liebergot
Can I compress the audio in Soundofrge 6?
Yes
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old November 3rd, 2005, 04:02 PM   #1012
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Columbia,SC
Posts: 806
Well, there you go...

Sorry, I knew as soon as I posted that I should have searched first. Thanks, that was perfect...

Bill
Bill Grant is offline  
Old November 4th, 2005, 08:01 AM   #1013
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,505
Mixing HDV and DV footage in Vegas

I am going to be either picking up a Sony A1U or an FX1 to shoot weddings with along with my VX2100, and Canon GL1 (CYA cam). The HDV cam would trun into my primary cam and the VX2100 would be secondary wide angle cutaway cam.

I would shoot in HD and downconvert (using GearShift) to either a proxy or intermediary codec (Cineform) for editing in Sony Veags 6c.

My question is, when I am mixing both HDV (Proxy of Cineform) and DV footage on the same timeline, which project setting should I be using for the editing (DV template for DVD, which would be the final destination or HDV template)?
Keeping in mind that my final destination for this will be standard MPEG2 for DVD.

I would like to take full advantage of the added resolution from the HDV footage to zoom in a cop the picture even better. I do know that doing this would unfortuantely add considerably to my render time.

Eventually, once there is a mainstream delivery format for DVD and editing and delivery can be done in less time, I will only be shoting with HDV cams of the same brand at least.
So if I get an A1U then I would get the same or at least an FX1. I would still keep my VX2100 for emergencies, but obviously sell my GL1 for funds to purchase the new HDV camera.

Thanks for the feedback
Michael
Michael Liebergot is offline  
Old November 4th, 2005, 10:49 AM   #1014
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Antonio Texas
Posts: 85
Huge image in vegas

I'm trying to import an image that is roughly 7,000 X 5,000. I need that resolution because i will be zooming in very close to image. When I try to render the video, it has an error and says something like "your system is low on memory"

is there a limit to the size of an image that vegas can handle and/or is there a trick to bring in large images?

thanks

j.
John Wheeler is offline  
Old November 4th, 2005, 11:19 AM   #1015
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
What version of Vegas are you running?

I don't know of a specified limit within the documentation but I do know others have had the same problem with larger files.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old November 4th, 2005, 12:04 PM   #1016
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Antonio Texas
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel
What version of Vegas are you running?

I don't know of a specified limit within the documentation but I do know others have had the same problem with larger files.
It's the latest version 6c

j
John Wheeler is offline  
Old November 4th, 2005, 02:38 PM   #1017
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: nyc
Posts: 20
Hey Guys,

Thanks for the suggestions.

John, you made my friggin day man. Works perfectly. Mona 5/6s outs to the Mona 1/2 ins.

Thanks.

Dan
Dan Barnhill is offline  
Old November 4th, 2005, 02:48 PM   #1018
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Anything you can do to reduce the size will help. You can also try reducing the RAM Preview amount if you've changed that back to the default.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old November 5th, 2005, 03:22 AM   #1019
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
John, this may not be the effect you're after but I had a similar problem a while back with a large image.

To overcome the issue I created a lower res version of the entire image and placed that on one track. I then created an image at full res from just the section I wanted to enlarge, placed that on a second (higher) track and sized it so that it looked as though it was part of the full image.

At the point where I wanted to zoom I moved the focus to the full res image to fill the screen and continued to zoom in until I hit the desired point in the picture. I also slightly defocused the lower res image and the edges of the higher res portion as I panned, which helped with the illusion.

It worked reasonably well but obviously wasn't a replacement for simply zooming in on a single picture. If you have multiple points to zoom to I suspect it would also be a bit complicated!

I have been looking for the veg file but for some reason I can't find it (I lost a 250gb external drive earlier this year - sigh - I suspect that's where it is).
Ian Stark is offline  
Old November 5th, 2005, 09:43 AM   #1020
Sponsor: VASST
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 516
Youíre welcome. Sometimes we get so focused on doing everything in the computer, we forget that a simple patch cable might be the solution. ;-)

~jr
__________________
Developer: VASST Ultimate S, Scattershot 3D, Mayhem, FASST Apps, and other VASST Software plug-ins
Web Site: www.johnrofrano.com
John Rofrano is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:30 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network