Vegas Video discussions from 2005 (Q3Q4) - Page 72 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 11th, 2005, 09:49 AM   #1066
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
No they are not. But they WILL run for 15 days for free so you can try them out.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old November 11th, 2005, 10:23 AM   #1067
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 133
"Cursor to Right by Frame" setting not working

I have hit a small snag in learning Vegas 6: In Preferences/Keyboard/Tracklist, after assigning the "Cursor to.Right by Frame" to the Right Arrow and doing the left by frame to the Left arrow key, after applying it, it doesn't work.

It's my understanding that no matter what the zoom is set to, it will move in one frame increments on the timeline by hitting the appropriate arrow key. Well, mine is Still contingent on what zoom level I have my timeline set to---as if I didn't even apply the new settings, which I did. The Tracklist menu confirms that I made the new setting. Hmmmmm.

What am I doing wrong?
Dale Nicholson is offline  
Old November 11th, 2005, 10:33 AM   #1068
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I put it in the TrackView category and it seems to work as you are wanting.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old November 11th, 2005, 10:50 AM   #1069
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 133
Thank you; that did the trick. The Vegas tutorial I'm using wanted me to use TrackList.
Dale Nicholson is offline  
Old November 11th, 2005, 01:48 PM   #1070
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: san Francisco , CA
Posts: 18
V6 install problem

Hi V-heads;
Trying to install Vegas 6 from cd but my laptop doesn't recognize/find the installer.Never had a problem with auto-install before..I'm running Windows XP Home w/ SP2
& Firefox.Could my lack of Explorer be the prob? I tried a search here but no directly relevant threads turned up.
Thanks
Richard
Richard Steenson is offline  
Old November 11th, 2005, 03:43 PM   #1071
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Carlsbad CA
Posts: 1,132
plus flash8 probably has the capability to have a clickable layer running on top of the video, which you can't do with wmv... unless you wrap the wmv inside of flash7, which i have not been able to figure out how to do :-/

the downside to flash8 is that nobody has the player or codec installed yet, but i think that it's probably a fairly painless download... is your content compelling enuf to keep the audience thru a flash8 install?

i don't know that the on2 flash 8 codec quality is any better than wmv or h.264, but you can be sure that the windows media server is better than anything else out there... it would be interesting to see how akamai is handling wmv vs. flash8 at the server level, and how that would impact what you are doing with your online video.
Dan Euritt is offline  
Old November 11th, 2005, 04:16 PM   #1072
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 337
Exporting

Exporting to PSP (playstation portable) with vegas 6. How do I change the file path? For some reason I am uploading it to the PSP but not able to view them or find them on file on the PSP. What may I be doing wrong. Some of you may find uploading to PSP is childs play? Well I'm a kid at heart!

Thanks
Fred Foronda is offline  
Old November 11th, 2005, 06:36 PM   #1073
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Perez Zeledon, Costa Rica
Posts: 37
copying track motion key frames.

Hi,
I made a nice veggie where the video fills the screen, zooms out to a picture frame, moves right to left (with a shaddow effect). At the same time the next clip moves in from right to left, fills the screen etc.
I made it so that in the future I could just right drop a clip, as a take,and and its done.
I figured that I could then copy from one instance of vegas and paste into another instance of vegas on a separate track with all the track motion key frames, but could not find a way.
Is it possible to do this? I know I could render and then open the rendered file in onother instance of Vegas, (where my main edition would be) but I would prefer to have every thing in one piece.
Thanks in advance,
Mike
Mike Black is offline  
Old November 11th, 2005, 08:01 PM   #1074
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 337
Problem fixed. Had to update the software on the PSP.
Fred Foronda is offline  
Old November 11th, 2005, 08:28 PM   #1075
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
How about using it as a nested VEG file?

As another alternative, you could always drop in the new clip, render it out, and then drop the render into the final project.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old November 12th, 2005, 04:02 PM   #1076
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sofia Bulgaria
Posts: 147
PAL interlaced -> PAL progressive

Ok,I will try to explain once again: what is the best way to get PAL DV AVI progressive from PAL DV AVI interlaced source footage via Vegas??? Please for suggestions and examples!
Plamen Petrov is offline  
Old November 12th, 2005, 06:19 PM   #1077
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
To get 25p from 50i source:
1. edit your media on the timeline to suit.
2. File>Render as
3. Choose the PAL DV template.
4. Choose Custom in the template choices.
5. In the template, choose Fields>None
6. Render.

Understand that you won't be able to print this back to tape, ever. The camera cannot accept a 25p stream, no DV camera to my knowledge can. But for archiving or playing back from a computer, it's fine.
You can also render to 25p MPEG.

HTH
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old November 12th, 2005, 07:16 PM   #1078
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sofia Bulgaria
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Douglas Spotted Eagle
To get 25p from 50i source:
1. edit your media on the timeline to suit.
2. File>Render as
3. Choose the PAL DV template.
4. Choose Custom in the template choices.
5. In the template, choose Fields>None
6. Render.

Understand that you won't be able to print this back to tape, ever. The camera cannot accept a 25p stream, no DV camera to my knowledge can. But for archiving or playing back from a computer, it's fine.
You can also render to 25p MPEG.

HTH
I know that, Douglas, thank you anyway!
The problem is that if I render out in interlaced SVCD or DVD, then it is OK on the TV. But after rendering out to progressive the result on the TV is full of flickering and strobes especially when there is even little camera moving. Sometimes I want to render out in PAL VCD, but it is always progressive, you know that. And the strobing exists on the TV.
So, is there a solution in Vegas???
Plamen Petrov is offline  
Old November 12th, 2005, 07:18 PM   #1079
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St.Thomas, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 428
Still pictures in Vegas, look bad.

How come sometimes when I bring in a picture (JPG) into Vegas, it looks very jaggy and generally just looks like crap, however the picture is very high qaulity and looks fine when I view it in Photoshop.

Do you guys know what I am talking about?
__________________
Toogood Studios
Jeff Toogood is offline  
Old November 12th, 2005, 07:32 PM   #1080
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plamen Petrov
I know that, Douglas, thank you anyway!
The problem is that if I render out in interlaced SVCD or DVD, then it is OK on the TV. But after rendering out to progressive the result on the TV is full of flickering and strobes especially when there is even little camera moving. Sometimes I want to render out in PAL VCD, but it is always progressive, you know that. And the strobing exists on the TV.
So, is there a solution in Vegas???
VCD's aren't meant for TV playback. If you do so, all progressive images are converted by default, to interlaced, unless you've got a progressive DVD/VCD player and a progressive television. All non LCD, Plasma, and rear projection systems are interlaced. So, if I'm understanding you correctly, you want/need a progressive source, but want to display on an interlaced display, without interlacing/jitter/artifacting.
It's not going to happen, because it can't.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:47 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network