Vegas Video discussions from 2005 (Q3Q4) - Page 88 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 3rd, 2005, 06:35 AM   #1306
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Batch conversion of clip properties

Hello all,

I'm looking to convert the pixel aspect ratio of about 150 clips.

I've tried selecting them all on the timeline and changing the properties; I've tried selecting them all in the media pool and changing the properties; I've tried changing the properties of just one clip on the timeline, copying it and pasting the event attributes to the rest.

In all cases I've been unsuccessful.

Am I doing something wrong or is there no way to batch convert the properties of a large number of clips?

Thanks in advance for any insight!

Ian . . .
Ian Stark is offline  
Old December 3rd, 2005, 08:09 AM   #1307
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I usually leave rippling turned OFF and, instead, use "Post Ripple Editing." In this case, you delete the pieces you need to delete and then you can:

Post-edit ripple affect tracks: F
Post-edit ripple affected tracks, bus tracks, markers, and regions: CTRL+F
Post-edit ripple ALL tracks, markers, and regions: CTRL+SHIFT+F

Frequently I'll also manually move the events as needed. For example, I'll use a script to select all events after the cursor and then move them to the new location.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old December 3rd, 2005, 08:20 AM   #1308
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I suppose another option would be scripting. Were you changing it under a right-click, properties, and then the Pixel Aspect Ratio setting? If yes, I'm not sure how to do multiple events without scripting. I know Excalibur can change that particular setting on multiple events but am unsure about how many other scripts work with that particular setting.

Now, if you're changing things using Pan/Crop, the copy/paste event attributes should have worked.

How exactly were you making your change?
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old December 3rd, 2005, 10:04 AM   #1309
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laurence Kingston
I'm rendering to SD widescreen.


If you start a standard SD 720x480 widescreen project and you import a HDV clip, then you go to the pan/crop window, right click and select "match output", it will crop a little off the top and bottom. If you change the dimentions to 704x480 then right click and select "match output", the frame will remain unchanged. In both cases the aspect ratio is a standard DV widescreen 1.2121. Obviously there is no 704x480 DV codec setting, but this size is an option when you render straight to mpeg (which I do anyway in order to get the improved colorspace).
Hmmm. I started with HDV and rendered to SD Widescreen simply by creating the project in a HDV 60i timeline and then when I rendered I selected the DVD Architect Widescreen template. What this does is create an anamorphic image for playback in widescreen for DVD on a 16x9 monitor. Also, what this does is create a flag that will automatically crop the image for a 4:3 tv monitor - I think although I actually didn't try that but that's what I understand. I'm not sure why you would need to force the cropping or import the HDV into a 4:3 timeline. ph
__________________
Phil Hamilton
hamiltonp@sbcglobal.net
Dallas, Texas

" I'm shocked, shocked to find that gambling is going on in here! ..."
Phil Hamilton is offline  
Old December 3rd, 2005, 10:53 AM   #1310
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian Stark
Hello all,

I'm looking to convert the pixel aspect ratio of about 150 clips.

I've tried selecting them all on the timeline and changing the properties; I've tried selecting them all in the media pool and changing the properties; I've tried changing the properties of just one clip on the timeline, copying it and pasting the event attributes to the rest.

In all cases I've been unsuccessful.

Am I doing something wrong or is there no way to batch convert the properties of a large number of clips?

Thanks in advance for any insight!

Ian . . .
There are several scripts on the VASST site that will accomplish this for you.
http://www.vasst.com/search.aspx?text=Aspect

If you have Ultimate S 1 or 2, they also have in the Audit tab, a switch that will accomplish this for you. but the above scripts are free. Look at Dithermaster's, and John Rofrano's.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old December 3rd, 2005, 12:39 PM   #1311
Hawaiian Shirt Mogul
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: northern cailfornia
Posts: 1,261
XP sp1 will operate sony HDV camera BUT the 1st time you will have to manually set it up to see it ... the 1st time XP will ?? it when you plug in the 1394 .. go to device manager and look for the yellow ? then install new driver - you want XP to give you a selection to choose from - look under sony then choose ( i think it gives you 2 choices ) AV/C device ...

and of couse when you capture with vegas you must choose internal "HDV capture device " when you open V capture utility

XP w/SP 2 usually will reconize the sony HDV and install the sony driver ..
Don Donatello is offline  
Old December 3rd, 2005, 05:17 PM   #1312
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,564
Take me through it step by step.

i don't have the XL H1, but i'll be renting one for a friend's wedding @end of the month. while i'm familiar with DV, i haven't touched HDV yet. can ya'll check the following steps to see if i still need to buy/upgrade any plugins so i can edit HDV effectively?

1. connect XL H1 to my wxpp computer via 1394a firewire. my computer should recognize it immediately right? no special drivers since it's based on OHCI? i currently have no means of testing it. but since you guys have done it. are there any surprises?

2. open up vegas 6c's "internal HDV" video capture and start recording of the footages. what format will they be? m2t? .avi? i couldn't quite figure it out.

3. after capturing, i'm going to assume it's m2t. in which case i need to either conver to cf codec and put it into .avi container (which will eat up lots of HD space) or use gearshift's $50 plugin. if i had to choose, i think i'll probably go with the gearshift plugin.

4. after editing, render to mpeg2 and then have DVD Architect make a DVD out of it or render to .wmv-HD.

5. i can also print edited footages back to tape, right?

6. now, how does gearshift's DV proxy work? i've downloaded those clips that Mr. Ito&Charles made. i'd like to join all those together. i haven't bought the plugin yet, is there a how-to somewhere?
__________________
bow wow wow
Yi Fong Yu is offline  
Old December 3rd, 2005, 05:27 PM   #1313
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yi Fong Yu
i don't have the XL H1, but i'll be renting one for a friend's wedding @end of the month. while i'm familiar with DV, i haven't touched HDV yet. can ya'll check the following steps to see if i still need to buy/upgrade any plugins so i can edit HDV effectively?

1. connect XL H1 to my wxpp computer via 1394a firewire. my computer should recognize it immediately right? no special drivers since it's based on OHCI? i currently have no means of testing it. but since you guys have done it. are there any surprises?

2. open up vegas 6c's "internal HDV" video capture and start recording of the footages. what format will they be? m2t? .avi? i couldn't quite figure it out.

3. after capturing, i'm going to assume it's m2t. in which case i need to either conver to cf codec and put it into .avi container (which will eat up lots of HD space) or use gearshift's $50 plugin. if i had to choose, i think i'll probably go with the gearshift plugin.

4. after editing, render to mpeg2 and then have DVD Architect make a DVD out of it or render to .wmv-HD.

5. i can also print edited footages back to tape, right?

6. now, how does gearshift's DV proxy work? i've downloaded those clips that Mr. Ito&Charles made. i'd like to join all those together. i haven't bought the plugin yet, is there a how-to somewhere?
1. It will connect, should be recognized and if it's not, it's very easy to get it to be recognized.

2. Vegas will capture the files as m2t files. All HDV capture tools do this, unless you're using something that converts on the fly, and even then, most tools allow you to keep the .m2t. (this is what is on the camera/tape)

3. I might have missed a question?

4. You're correct in your comment, or was there a question there?

5. Yes, you can print edited footage back to HDV tape, no problem. You'll just need an HDV deck or camcorder to do so.

6. On the GearShift page of the VASST website, there is a video tutorial as well as a printable text tutorial that explains all steps.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old December 4th, 2005, 08:20 AM   #1314
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Thanks to both of you for your usual speedy and helpful responses! I'll start investigating!
Ian Stark is offline  
Old December 4th, 2005, 09:40 AM   #1315
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Clermont, FL.
Posts: 941
I'm not talking about 704x480 letterbox. I'm talking about 704x480 anamorphic. I find it strange that no-one else is complaining about the slight difference between the rectangular shapes of 16:9 SD and 16:9 HDV. 16:9 anamorphic 720x480 video is a little wider than 16:9 1080i HDV video. 704x480 SD video is a better match.
Laurence Kingston is offline  
Old December 4th, 2005, 07:28 PM   #1316
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry Thompson
Greg,

Thanks for the info.

Vegas is a very good audio editor in itself. In fact it is known for it's ability as an audio editor. I have done numerous multitrack audio projects in it but haven't needed to use loops until now. I'm sure it can handle the loops if I can find someone out there how can help me get them to the timeline.

Thanks,

Tery
Terry,

I understand about multitracking, but as for loops, think of it this way. Let's say you are doing a project with ambient sound, voice over narration, and a music bed. Vegas will be a great app for mixing the multiple tracks. However, to get that song for the music bed, you turn to loops but you need an application that is designed to work with multiple loop tracks(ie: drums, bass, guitar, horns, strings, synth, etc). You then create a finished tune which is put onto your music bed track in the Vegas timeline to be 'multitracked' with the dialog and other sound. Make sense? In essence, when you start to work with loops, you are composing music and need a dedicated application for that.

Maybe DSE will help with this answer since he uses Vegas and is also familiar with musical composition.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline  
Old December 4th, 2005, 07:48 PM   #1317
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
FWIW, I use Vegas for "short" compositions or ambient scapes quite regularly. In Vegas 5, Sony added the ability to read ACID loop tempos, but I suspect few people actually use the feature.
You need to go into Properties/Audio, and enable "import audio at project tempo" in order to accomplish this.
For short compositions that are not complex, Vegas is great for this. But for anything that requires many pitch changes, tempo changes, etc....you really need ACID, Sonar, or something similar. While you *can* do it in Vegas, it's a lot more hassle than it's worth.

ACID is the bomb if you aren't a musician and need to create some sweet tracks.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old December 5th, 2005, 02:02 AM   #1318
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ventura, California, USA
Posts: 751
Velocity Envelope - any way to shorten duration to match speedup?

Well, the title says it all. When I change velocity (speed up in this case) using Velocity Envelope, as you all know, the clip either loops (if I have that checkbox checked), or freezes on the last frame. Either way it's footage I don't want, and I have to go in by hand using trial and error to trim it just to the point at which the loop would begin.

Is there a cleaner solution to this?

P.S. - I'm aware of (and sometimes using) CTRL-drag to change the playback rate so I really do specifically mean changing the length of velocity envelopes to play only the original footage, not the original length.
Bill Porter is offline  
Old December 5th, 2005, 02:34 AM   #1319
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,529
. . er . . if I'm getting you right, and you don't want to "trim" post veloenvel, how about doing the "trim" preparation prior to VeloEnvel. How about creating a Subclip from Trimmer? OR highlight the area on the t/l event; open in trimmer; create subclip that way. Put Subclip onto t/l insert VeloEnvel and reduce to the first repeat notch - done!

This gives you your exact "trim" and an option to add the VeloEnvel 2 ways. Any good?

. . hey, there is gonna be others with further solutions . .. love Vegas!

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline  
Old December 5th, 2005, 04:39 AM   #1320
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Sorry Edward, in reply to your question, I was selecting multiple events either on the timeline or in the media pool then right clicking/properties/pixel aspect ratio.

From experience of changing the properties of multiple audio clips with various audio editing tools I guessed (wrongly!) that this would work.

Thanks again for your advice.

Ian . . .
Ian Stark is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:29 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network