Vegas Video discussions from 2005 (Q3Q4) - Page 89 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 5th, 2005, 08:10 AM   #1321
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian Stark
I was selecting multiple events either on the timeline or in the media pool then right clicking/properties/pixel aspect ratio.
Using the Properties tab in Excalibur will allow easily changing that particular property for all selected events. The two free tools mentioned by Spot do something different than that. I'm not sure if Ultimate S adjusts that particular setting but know it does have many aspect related tools.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old December 5th, 2005, 08:13 AM   #1322
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
When you apply a Velocity Envelope, you can adjust speeds as desired but it will NOT adjust the length of the event to match the new speed. One thing you might consider (especially if you only want a single speed for the entire event) is the CTRL-Resize method. Hold down the control key, resize the event to the desired length, and the speed will be adjusted to match.

Another solution would be to use a script. A script can then apply your desired velocity setting and adjust the length of the event to match.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old December 5th, 2005, 10:27 AM   #1323
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
You guys are giving me (and I suspect many others) more and more reasons to investigate Excalibur and UltimateS. I feel a letter to Santa coming on . . .
Ian Stark is offline  
Old December 5th, 2005, 10:35 AM   #1324
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,564
thx DSG, i just wanna confirm some of what i knew or didn't and what i needed to brush up on.

it looks like i need to buy the DV Proxy and then do the tutorial and then i should be A-OK to go! thx for the help.
__________________
bow wow wow
Yi Fong Yu is offline  
Old December 5th, 2005, 10:53 AM   #1325
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laurence Kingston
I'm not talking about 704x480 letterbox. I'm talking about 704x480 anamorphic. I find it strange that no-one else is complaining about the slight difference between the rectangular shapes of 16:9 SD and 16:9 HDV. 16:9 anamorphic 720x480 video is a little wider than 16:9 1080i HDV video. 704x480 SD video is a better match.
Yes everything I created thus far is anamorphic. Looks great on my 16x9 TV as the entire screen is filled. Haven't seen any black pillars on the sides at all but then again I haven't tried this yet on a 4:3 screen - maybe if I do then as the image is cropped for display then the pillars will show up on the sides plus the banding at the top... Is this what you're referring to?
__________________
Phil Hamilton
hamiltonp@sbcglobal.net
Dallas, Texas

" I'm shocked, shocked to find that gambling is going on in here! ..."
Phil Hamilton is offline  
Old December 5th, 2005, 12:00 PM   #1326
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Auburn, CA
Posts: 578
Douglas,

Thanks! Every comment gets me closer to my goal.

I have Vegas 6 and when I look under Properties, Audio, I don't see the item you mentioned.

Under Media Manager I have a lot of different "tags" like snare, cymbal, hi-hat etc. but I can't get them on to my timeline or even to preview.

I only need some background music so my project isn't complicated. I would really like to learn how to use this part of Vegas.

Tery
__________________
He's only mostly sDEADy.

sort of from "The Princess Bride"

www.indicam.com
Terry Thompson is offline  
Old December 7th, 2005, 12:55 AM   #1327
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ventura, California, USA
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel
If you render a DV-AVI file in Vegas to another DV-AVI file and you have made NO changes, it will be a straight file copy so there will be NO generational loss.
Does this apply to Splitting and/or Trimming a file too?
Bill Porter is offline  
Old December 7th, 2005, 08:02 AM   #1328
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: ANKARA / TURKEY
Posts: 45
"import audio at project tempo" option is at options\preferences\audio tab in vegas 6.
and you still need an audio editor to use sony loops. you can define the editor from the same tab.
__________________
I'm young, I'm handsome, I'm fast and can't possibly be beaten - Muhammad Ali
Ahmet Ilhan is offline  
Old December 7th, 2005, 08:33 AM   #1329
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
If you pop a DV-AVI file on the timeline, you select a small region of that file, and then you render to a new DV-AVI file, it will simply COPY that small region from the original file to a new file.

If you put two DV-AVI files on the timeline and you render them both to a single new file, it will simply COPY those two files into the single new file.

This is, of course, assuming no added effects or crossfades, etc...
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old December 7th, 2005, 09:08 AM   #1330
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 508
Color Corrector Question

I'm using Vegas 5 and have a fifty minute documentary of various interviews. Some sequences require an increase in color saturation (using the Color Corrector), but I'm having trouble limiting these changes to just the shots I want and not automatically making the rest of the documentary change too, as what has happened so far when I adjust one sequence. It's already rendered in mpg, and am wondering how I can limit just how certain shots can be controlled without the program automatically blanketing the whole documentary with these changes.

Thanks!
Barry Rivadue is offline  
Old December 7th, 2005, 09:34 AM   #1331
Sponsor: VASST
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 516
It sounds like you may be adding color correction at the track level. Try adding it at the clip/event level. If there is just a section of an event you want to affect, use the S key to split the event and then just apply color correction to the split part.

~jr
__________________
Developer: VASST Ultimate S, Scattershot 3D, Mayhem, FASST Apps, and other VASST Software plug-ins
Web Site: www.johnrofrano.com
John Rofrano is offline  
Old December 7th, 2005, 10:19 AM   #1332
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Fredericksburg, Va
Posts: 220
Glass titles with underlying video

I'd like to create an effect where large "glass" looking titles move across the screen and reveal video playing through them.

I can handle basic things like a transparent title effect, but what would I use to create an 3d glass looking title sequence.

Boris is beyond my price range is this something that Swish could do and can it then allow underlying tracks to show through the "glass"?
Reid Bailey is offline  
Old December 7th, 2005, 02:52 PM   #1333
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ruhrgebiet, Germany
Posts: 42
DV AVI Codec (w/o compression) blurry + low quality

Hello,

This makes me go crazy... slowly..:) .

I have shot a project together with 2 friends of mine, the material was seperated and everybody put together his own part (using a "fresh" Vegas installation.

Right now I have two computers in front of me. All I am trying is to put out the timeline of one computer as PAL DV AVI file (without any compression but not in the "uncompressed" mode). The Video put out by one of the PCs is always blurry w. compression artifacts - the other is absulutely fine.

Now I reset Vegas (Ctrl + Shift), and tried it with a whole new project (putting out a simple Title. One PC is blurry, the other is absolutely fine.

Funny but true: The Preview window shows the video in full size and w/o artifacts.

Please, please keep me from going crazy. (I even tried to use the Microsoft Codec :) - which is fairly close to >OAFNBsid<ugb.

Thank you!

Matthias Zimmermann
__________________
www.mattzi.de
Mathiu Zimmermann is offline  
Old December 7th, 2005, 08:03 PM   #1334
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
Keystone

How do you keystone a video clip in vegas 6. For example, in a similar way you key a projector when you are not square on the angle. I want to key a video to match a projector screen at an angle.

I've done a little searching, I wonder if this is possible.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline  
Old December 7th, 2005, 08:41 PM   #1335
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
The one thing that comes to mind is in TRACK MOTION and using the 3d effect. Set the angle on the 1st frame with a keyframe and you should be set.
Don
Don Bloom is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:48 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network