Vegas Video discussions from 2005 (Q3Q4) - Page 93 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 13th, 2005, 05:52 PM   #1381
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
As I mentioned earlier, no one in the know can comment one way or another on anything Sony has planned, release cycles or otherwise. :-) Once Sony announces it, the floodgates of information may be opened. If there are any floodgates holding any information back, that is. :-)

I love Vegas too.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old December 13th, 2005, 05:57 PM   #1382
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Bob, go to the VAST site at http://vasst.com/product.aspx?id=86a...9-d80848cbd5ca and download Celluloid. You'll need to register (free) if you haven't already done so to get the program. Ignore the fact that it says $24.99 as the basic version (only 6 "looks") is free. The nice thing about it for you is that it has a "convert 4:3 project to widescreen" option. HTH.

Mike
Mike Kujbida is offline  
Old December 13th, 2005, 06:10 PM   #1383
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 166
You've touched on one of Vegas' strongest features: uninterrupted playback while you make changes. It's hard to explain to users of other NLEs just how great a feature this is.

One of the biggest differences between Vegas and FCP/Premiere/Liquid, etc, is that the timeline is really serving as your workspace. In the other programs, you have separate windows and tools to work on the media, then you add to or adjust what's on the timeline. To me, Vegas is just more direct and intuitive and doesn't hang onto outmoded workflows that are handed down from film editing.

Gary
Gary Kleiner is offline  
Old December 13th, 2005, 06:14 PM   #1384
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,498
I think that would cause some clipping of the height.. thaz I set the properties as PAL but render as NTSC. Hmm I'm a little confused now..
Sean Seah is offline  
Old December 13th, 2005, 06:14 PM   #1385
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Houston TX and New Orleans LA
Posts: 300
Can a Photoshop Action be applied to video in Vegas?

I know...
Wild question...

But can it be done?

THANKS
__________________
I produce High Quality content with My Certain Style... I cover South Padre, TX to Tampa Bay, FL

FYI: That includes... Corpus Christi, Galveston, Houston, Beaumont/ Lake Charles, Lafayette, Baton Rouge, New Orleans, Biloxi, Mobile, Penscola, Ft. Walton, Panama City... Any every little city and town in between.

If you need anything, Let's talk...
Brent Marks is offline  
Old December 13th, 2005, 06:17 PM   #1386
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent Marks
I know...
Wild question...

But can it be done?

THANKS
Not so wild answer....

No.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old December 13th, 2005, 06:53 PM   #1387
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brookline, MA
Posts: 1,447
Indirectly. Run the "Render Individual Images" script from Tools>Scripting, then run your action on the folder containing the images. Then you have to get them back in Vegas...
Emre Safak is offline  
Old December 13th, 2005, 07:02 PM   #1388
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brookline, MA
Posts: 1,447
Synchronizing keyframe timeline to track view

I am stumped on what should be a simple task. How do you synchronize the keyframe timeline to the track view? I need an easy way to add keyframes at the "right" time. I thought double clicking on the appropriate point in the track view would move the keyframe timeline cursor, but no dice.
Emre Safak is offline  
Old December 13th, 2005, 07:19 PM   #1389
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,727
A few things vs FCP

- Can edit while you playback
- Better keyframing control of audio envelopes on the timeline
- Can play back, in realtime, almost anything you throw at it.
- Faster, more responsive playback of effects, especially text media. Pop some text on FCP and watch it drop frames.
- More flexible arrangement of audio and video tracks on the timeline
- Auto cross fades
- Sub frame editing
- A keypress to cut/split - (stateless editing)

These are just a few things I have noticed (Hope I'm not wrong on any RE FCP) since I switched from Vegas to FCP.
__________________
My Website
Meat Free Media
Aaron Koolen is offline  
Old December 13th, 2005, 07:20 PM   #1390
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
In the lower left of the keyframe toolbar, you'll see a small icon that looks like a padlock.
Select this to enable synchronizing. This is found in all filters, Pan/Crop, and Track Motion keyframe tools.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old December 13th, 2005, 07:23 PM   #1391
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brookline, MA
Posts: 1,447
Absolutely right! How come mine is greyed out, though? The event in question is a Text box. Can't you do it with the Media Generator?
Emre Safak is offline  
Old December 13th, 2005, 07:31 PM   #1392
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Kleiner
You've touched on one of Vegas' strongest features: uninterrupted playback while you make changes. It's hard to explain to users of other NLEs just how great a feature this is.
Funny thing is, I think I learned how great that was from a comment you made in your training video!!! LOL! Since I've really only ever used Vegas, I just figured that's how ALL NLE's worked, but when I found out that wasn't true, I just couldn't believe it, not sure I could live without that one feature alone...
__________________
BayTaper.com | One man's multimedia journey through the San Francisco live jazz and creative music scene.
Bill Binder is offline  
Old December 13th, 2005, 07:31 PM   #1393
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emre Safak
Absolutely right! How come mine is greyed out, though? The event in question is a Text box. Can't you do it with the Media Generator?
Text and generated media don't get the benefit of syncing to the cursor. Sorry!
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old December 13th, 2005, 08:56 PM   #1394
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,943
I have Vegas 6, Premiere Pro1.5.1 and Edius Pro3. For me Vegas strong points are audio editing and keyframe controls, I like the titler and capture utility of Premiere and Edius Pro3 is by far the fastest editor for normal DV work being able to output realtime to DV tape without rendering. Most of my NLE experience was with Premiere and Vegas LE being used for audio with Sound Forge, I upgraded when I got my FX1 to do HDV editing and since then have not used Premiere very much. Edius is my main editor for DV editing and Vegas for HDV ( since I have been cropping a 4x3 SD image from the 16x9HDV, none of the other NLE's have the fine control of Vegas for this task). Without needing the cropping there is not much difference between Vegas and Edius for HDV editing, both will edit native m2t or have the option for an intermediate. Rendering of the HDV project created to export back to tape is about the same for both. Even as a hobbiest none of these NLE's do everything I want so I am happy to use each for their strengths.

Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline  
Old December 13th, 2005, 10:07 PM   #1395
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 166
You CAN export your video FROM Vegas, do your operations in Photoshop, then Import the sequence back into Vegas:

1) Tools>Scripting>Render Image Sequence
2) Photoshop actions to the images
3)Vegas File>Import>Media>Open still image sequence.

Gary
Gary Kleiner is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:34 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network