Problem with motion when rendering mpg at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 16th, 2005, 08:09 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 755
Problem with motion when rendering mpg

If I render the sequence in AVI it looks fine but when I render as MPG-2 it looks terrible. The links below are samples of what I am talking about. The edges of the pictures blur as they move in the mpg.


76mb avi

7mb mpg-2


I usually use after effects and it looks much better. There must be something that I missing. It would be much easier to use vegas...

Jon Omiatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2005, 08:27 AM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Before I even attempt to look at the clips, WHICH MPEG2 preset are you using? The default one is BAD.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2005, 08:30 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 755
The default one. Which do you recommend?

I just tried it with DVD Arch stream and it did the same thing.

Thanks,

Jon
Jon Omiatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2005, 08:35 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 755
I am using a 3d track and moving the picture with 2 key frames. One key frame is off the screen and the other is where I want it to stop. I have tried changing the type of key frame(smooth, fast, etc) and I have also changed the smoothness from 100 to 1 and it didn't make a difference.

Thanks,

Jon
Jon Omiatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2005, 08:42 AM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
<<<-- Originally posted by Jon East : The default one. Which do you recommend?

I just tried it with DVD Arch stream and it did the same thing.

Thanks,

Jon -->>>

Which to I recommend? Basically any EXCEPT FOR the default. The default as many settings that severely reduce the quality. If going to DVD and using DVD Architect, I would recommend any of the DVDA presets and adjust the average bitrate as needed.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2005, 08:57 AM   #6
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I only looked at the MPG2 file. I'm assuming you're referring to the double-white border I can see as the image is moving in? This is normal for an interlaced stream and will probably look correct on a TV after the DVD is burned.

Is TV your final destination? If yes, I would suggest burning a test DVD and playing it on the TV and see what you think of the results.

If TV is NOT the final destination, you might try rendering the MPG2 file as progressive instead.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2005, 09:32 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 755
Thank you. I will try it later and post the results. My final destination will be both DVD and a Website.

Jon
Jon Omiatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2005, 04:49 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
ive actually stopped using teh Vegas Main concept mpg plugin due to speed, i know only use the main concept standalone encoder, which renders out at abotu 60fps, sometiems faster depending on what else im doing and the type of encode (constant/variable).

as for quality, i have also noticed that some motion clarity is lost, even when using teh DVDA mpg template..

remember that what ur doing in crunching 25mbps dv into an average of 6mbps mpgs....
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2005, 08:38 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 755
I moved the keyframes from an interval of 1 sec to 2 secs. Then I rendered it progressive, 2 pass. And it looks decent.

I am going to redo it in After Effects and post them side by side. When I do it in after effects the pictures move onto the screen pretty flawlessly without using a progressive render.

I use to use vegas 4.0 with plug in pac and it worked much better than with 5.0.

Jon
Jon Omiatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2005, 01:45 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
have u tried supersampling the video??

supersample is absolutely rock solid for slow mo.. i have gotten footage down to less than 10% (progressive 25p) and its still solid and smooth..
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2005, 08:38 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 755
I rendered it as a custom mpg-2 and it looks great on a tv but still looks playing the mpg-2 on computer. When I encoded it as wmv9, it solved the edge problem


Thanks for everyones help.

Jon
Jon Omiatek is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:05 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network