Video "noise" in rendered files... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 18th, 2009, 08:20 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Posts: 277
Video "noise" in rendered files...

I've been reading & reading and can't find anything that directly addresses a problem i seem to be having...

Rendering out .avi's in the Lagarith codec (& intelYUV) i'm seeing slight "noise" in the video that's not there at all in the original captured file... I see this in both HDV & DVCAM footage (Sony Z1U), and that's rendered separately from separate projects, I'm not mixing HDV & SD video...

Anyone have any ideas? I'm new to Vegas (use Avid at work), and all of these options are making me crazy! :)

Oh, I'm running Vegas Pro 9 on an Intel Core i7 920, 6 Gb DDR3 ram. Thanks!
Bryan Cantwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2009, 08:27 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Can you post a screenshot of the source and the same frame of the rendered file?
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2009, 09:29 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perrone Ford View Post
Can you post a screenshot of the source and the same frame of the rendered file?
I will when i get home, i work late nights...
Bryan Cantwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2009, 12:01 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Posts: 277
Alright, here's a screenshot straight out of Vegas, where i get shiny happy playback:

http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l2...as_preview.jpg

I couldn't get a still that represented what i'm seeing in the render, but basically it looks like the grass is gained up really high, that kind of noise, if that makes sense... Even though it was shot with no gain...

(couldn't get the image to show in this post, just the link... is that the forum limiting me, or am i missing something?)
Bryan Cantwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2009, 12:08 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
If you go into file properties? What are your file settings? Size, interlacing, etc. Do they match th source footage? And when you render, what are the settings you use?
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2009, 01:29 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Posts: 277
properties are 720x480, field order: lower first (this is DVCAM video), pixel aspect 1.2121 (NTSC DV Widescreen), frame rate 29.97; full res - Best, pixel format 8 bit, motion blur is gaussian, and deinterlace is Interpolate. Adjust source media to match is also checked.



I also realized this morning that I left out what is probably a HUGE piece of information and probably "solves" the whole thing... The "noise" is showing up the most when burned and played back on dvd with an old version of Nero... I'm thinking i need to use a better compressor for burning... Could be a MAJOR "doh!" moment on my part!

Last edited by Bryan Cantwell; September 19th, 2009 at 01:32 PM. Reason: added info to settings...
Bryan Cantwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2009, 11:20 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Hi Bryan. It would be a lot more helpful if you could post a frame that shows the noise. You can rip the VOB file from the DVD and put it on the Vegas timeline, then do a frame capture as before. Nero may give you conversion artifacts but I wouldn't have thought it would add noise unless you have adjusted something else as well. What bitrate did you use for the MPEG2 conversion?

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2009, 06:39 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Posts: 277
Alright, ripped the VOB back into Vegas, and this is what i get... The pic shows interlacing, though, so that might muck up what i'm talking about...

http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l2..._vegas_cut.jpg

Just can't seem to get a reasonable representation of what i'm seeing up here... ugh.

I didn't do the MPEG2 conversion, let the burning program do it automatically... which i'm thinking may be the problem...

Last edited by Bryan Cantwell; September 20th, 2009 at 08:34 PM. Reason: added more info...
Bryan Cantwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2009, 05:28 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Hi Bryan. The first image is widescreen, but the second one has pillar bars which either means it has been squeezed into a 4:3 DVD project, or that the VOB file properties in Vegas are off.

I suggest you try using Vegas to render the file as a DVD-compliant MPEG2 which DVDA will accept without any recompression. Use a bitrate of 8Mbps CBR and you should get great results. Remember to set the aspect ratio to widescreen, both when you render from vegas and when you make the project in DVDA.

Use a short clip for the test and let us know how it goes.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2009, 11:43 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Posts: 277
Hoping i've got this knocked... Did a reformat & reinstall of Windows 7 RC & Vegas/DVDA (various & sundry reasons...), burned a new test disc in DVDA & am just waiting on my brother & his gf to finish watching Amadeus so i can test in on the HD set...
Bryan Cantwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2009, 02:39 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Posts: 277
Okey dokey, 8 Mbps MPEG2 burned in DVDA at the 720x480 60i NTSC, looks great, no visible noise...

I *really* don't know why i was getting 4x3 before, both my project & burn settings were widescreen... But after reinstalling, it goes away... that's windows for ya...
Bryan Cantwell is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:12 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network