Vegas Video discussions from 2006 (Q3Q4) - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 30th, 2006, 09:52 AM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Southport - UK
Posts: 207
Dissolving multiple video tracks

A while back I asked how to fade out a picture wall made up of say 20 small clips. I ddn't want to fade every single clip. I went for the option of adding black generated media above the tracks starting with zero opacity and increasing opacity at the end. That worked fine.

But - how would i dissolve the whole picture wall into another clip - ie not just a fade to colour. I know I can render the picture wall to a new track but won't I lose some quality there?

Thanx

Ian
Ian Briscoe is offline  
Old June 30th, 2006, 09:55 AM   #17
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 15
That did it!

Thanks very much Mike!
Rick Alexander is offline  
Old June 30th, 2006, 10:13 AM   #18
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
If you have V6 you can open a NEW empty veg project and then IMPORT the "Picture-Wall" veg into it. Vegas6 using Nested veggies as if they were just ordinary media events. Yes, it will import a whole veg! Now that you;ve got that veg into the new veg - nested - you can treat the nested veg just as if it was a rendered out file. PLUS if you wish to re-edit the "Picture-Wall" veg you can right click on it and selected Edit Project - and up it will pop!

Another way is to make ALL the tracks children of a control Parent track and apply dissolves and any FX you wish to the Parent track.

Another way is to affect the "Master" Track which you can view at the bottom of the timeline - if not go View and make sure it is activated.

Think I got that right? . .. . So 3 ways there!!

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline  
Old June 30th, 2006, 11:41 PM   #19
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 384
Deinterlacing question

I have several events that were accidently shot at 60i. They involve considerable motion, but I would like to convert them to 30p. It appears that Vegas has a deinterlacing utility - what is the correct way to apply it ? Also, how does the Vegas deinterlacer compare to others such as ProCoder 2.0 and other more expensive programs ?
Mark Donnell is offline  
Old July 1st, 2006, 01:39 AM   #20
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
If you change the speed of the clips that are already on the timeline, Vegas/Ultimate S doesn't change the length of the clips, only their speed. The in-point remains constant. The speed change is through out the clip, so if you're looking to change speed AND length, then your next best bet is to run the script again, changing clip length.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old July 1st, 2006, 07:52 AM   #21
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Clermont, FL.
Posts: 941
You could try the free Mike Crash deinterlacer, or just use the stock "interpolate" or "blend fields" deinterlacers.

My opinion is that while the Mike Crash deinterlacer or the interpolate method will avoid ghosting, often high motion scenes look smoother with a blend fields deinterlace.
Laurence Kingston is offline  
Old July 1st, 2006, 07:55 AM   #22
Sponsor: VASST
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by Douglas Spotted Eagle
If you change the speed of the clips that are already on the timeline, Vegas/Ultimate S doesn't change the length of the clips, only their speed.
Actually, Ultimate S does adjust the length if you check the "Adjust Length to Match" option on the Visual Effects tab but it does not change the event placement so they will overlap or create gaps as the length changes (this will be a good enhancement for a future version). ;-)

Jon, What you can do it use the Editing Tools tab and select Adjust Transition Length and make it 00:00:00;00 (zero). This will move all of events one after the other on the timeline.

~jr
__________________
Developer: VASST Ultimate S, Scattershot 3D, Mayhem, FASST Apps, and other VASST Software plug-ins
Web Site: www.johnrofrano.com
John Rofrano is offline  
Old July 1st, 2006, 08:00 AM   #23
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 186
how can i cut out just the picture and no sound

I'm having problems cutting out a picture on the timeline and keep the sound intact....when i cut the pic, the sound automatically is sliced out too...any suggestions?
Dean Orewiler is offline  
Old July 1st, 2006, 08:07 AM   #24
Sponsor: VASST
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 516
Temporarily enable Ignore Event Grouping (Ctrl+Shift+U). This is also an icon on the toolbar. That will let you cut just the video or audio without affecting the other. Then donít forget to turn it off again otherwise all sorts of things that are grouped will get out of alignment.

~jr
__________________
Developer: VASST Ultimate S, Scattershot 3D, Mayhem, FASST Apps, and other VASST Software plug-ins
Web Site: www.johnrofrano.com
John Rofrano is offline  
Old July 1st, 2006, 12:00 PM   #25
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 277
Multitrack Audio Question

I was trying to do some multitrack audio recording, but the sound from the top track is recording onto the new track (instead of just playing and letting me record a separate track).

This is probably a simple option that lets me bypass the top track and listen but not record.

I know I've done it before.

Thanks all!

DJ
DJ Kinney is offline  
Old July 1st, 2006, 12:16 PM   #26
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 1,997
Easy of use

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Bernard
Think I got that right? . .. . So 3 ways there!!
Grazie
The easiest would be the parent track option (in my opinion). You already have a humongus list of tracks so one more won't be a problem. I have had problems with nesting (certain size limits time wise) to nested projects or something like that (could just be somethign wrong with my install of Vegas).

jason
Jason Robinson is offline  
Old July 1st, 2006, 12:18 PM   #27
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 186
Thank You John !!

I appreciate your quick response....and helpful advice.
Dean
Dean Orewiler is offline  
Old July 1st, 2006, 12:18 PM   #28
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 1,997
their utility

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Alexander
Thanks very much Mike!
I always edit with those tracks off. Since yu brought up the subject, what is their usefullness? I have yet to use them, but that coudl be because I just don't know HOW to use them properly.

jason
Jason Robinson is offline  
Old July 1st, 2006, 12:19 PM   #29
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
DJ, just a hint.

I think this is a sound card function, not something in vegas. As I recall (fuzzily), depending on the card, you'll find controls for whether an output channel is fed to input channels.

Unless it's getting intermixed at an external mixer...
Seth Bloombaum is offline  
Old July 1st, 2006, 04:22 PM   #30
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
If you are referring to the tracks at the bottom of the timeline workspace those are MASTER BUS tracks and they can be very useful and helpful for edting however to get them out of the way simply move the cirsor down to the top of the track and move the entrire track down. It will not disappear completely but it will be moved to the point of not being in the way of editing.

Don
Don Bloom is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:49 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network