Vegas Video discussions from 2006 (Q3Q4) - Page 23 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 24th, 2006, 10:16 PM   #331
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Mobile,al
Posts: 12
wow.. this is really got me stumped.. I got this whole commercial done and I cant render it. well, I can render everything but that swish avi, that I have re-dumped from other conversetion programs five times.. why would vegas play a avi and allow me to edit it, but leave the track out on render?
Ryan King is offline  
Old July 24th, 2006, 11:45 PM   #332
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13
I appreciate all the responses. I'm open to more suggestions and explanations.

Thank you.
Peter Diamond is offline  
Old July 25th, 2006, 04:10 AM   #333
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Macedonia
Posts: 36
Alpha Channel Overlay

I use "Blufftitler" to create titling efect, saving AVI file then I open it in Vegas where in it's properties I select Alpha channel from "None" to "Premultiplied(dirty) "and it's work, title is appear overlay to main clip .
I use same process with AVI file that I made with "Particle illusion" but I can't
make same overlay effect.What is the problem? I only can get overlay when in Compositing mode I select "Lighten" but overlay effect is not so clear.
Any sugestions?
Regards.
Zdravko Jancevski is offline  
Old July 25th, 2006, 07:45 AM   #334
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sikeston, Missouri, USA
Posts: 118
Edward...works for me. It's amazing how much I DON'T know about this program.
Regards - db
David Bird is offline  
Old July 25th, 2006, 08:44 AM   #335
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Germantown, MD
Posts: 46
A lot of it comes down to your burner, Media type, and Player.


DVD-R is a more Universal friendly format, but also beware of what maker of the media you use. Some players can't read generic media, so you have to spend money on quality stuff (Taiyo Yuden).

I myself never import footage into architech I just render to AVI and then open it in Arch... It seems to work better. However, I would try using a DVD-R anything labeled FUJI made in Japan is Taiyo Yuden and is solid media that plays in just about every player in the world.
__________________
Panasonic DVX100B, INTEL Core 2 DU0 at 3.0ghz
2 TB HDD space, Sony Vegas 8.0B, 4gb of Ram
Gary Franks is offline  
Old July 25th, 2006, 08:45 AM   #336
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
I'd guess you're not outputting a 32bit avi from Particle Illusion. You need 32bit files so that they contain the transparency/alpha.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old July 25th, 2006, 08:54 AM   #337
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Germantown, MD
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dean Orewiler
thank you....the part of the problem is that I'm editing on a smaller than ideal LCD screen that only allows me to view portions of the software - which is why the text preview screen was hidden....I need a 27" LCD SCREEN and I'd be happy!!! :-)
Change your screen resolution. I have edited in Vegas on 17" LCD WS, 17" LCD and 19" LCD and I see everything. You need to use a minimum of 1024x768 when using vegas.
__________________
Panasonic DVX100B, INTEL Core 2 DU0 at 3.0ghz
2 TB HDD space, Sony Vegas 8.0B, 4gb of Ram
Gary Franks is offline  
Old July 25th, 2006, 09:13 AM   #338
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Franks

I myself never import footage into architech I just render to AVI and then open it in Arch... It seems to work better..
Gary, while this may be true for you, you'll virtually *always* get a better encode using Vegas vs DVD Architect. Additionally and more importantly, encoding from the timeline preserves most of the color sampling of any media you may have used outside of DV-acquired media such as graphics, titles, 32bit overlays, etc.

You are correct that media plays a huge role in compatibility, and using off-the-Walmart-shelf media can set you up for problems. Using TY or other high-grade DVDs is the better option.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old July 25th, 2006, 10:32 AM   #339
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 241
Try exporting a Targa still sequence from PI. Save the alpha channel with the image and you're good to go.

Hope this helps.

Ken
Ken Plotin is offline  
Old July 25th, 2006, 02:50 PM   #340
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Niagara Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,121
mt2 file - why doesn't Vegas recognize it?

Scrap that, figured it out. I was trying to use a DV project for HD.

Now, for the FX1, what do I use for the project settings? It is FX1 NTSC 60i camera that I am using, but I noticed that I can set up a project for 1440 or 1920 - how do I tell which one I have used in the camera?
David Delaney is offline  
Old July 25th, 2006, 02:54 PM   #341
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
which version of Vegas are you using?
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old July 25th, 2006, 04:53 PM   #342
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 268
previewing question

This may just be one of those "that's just how it works" things but it still bothers me so I must ask.

How come Vegas can "JKL" up to 4x speed and zip along.. but if you do a speed up via properties/playback rate or a velocity envelope then "oh no" you must render it and it plays back choppy?

Anyone have any advice on settings to make sure are right for best playback rate (preview wise)... I know it's largely (mostly) a cpu thing... just wondering if I'm missing something or click something wrong.
Kevin Richard is offline  
Old July 25th, 2006, 06:13 PM   #343
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Mobile,al
Posts: 12
I GOT IT WORKING!! it seems you can't play a uncompressed avi from swish (you have to use a codec) in vegas, and the ones I was re-dumping through converters where not allowing me to render it in vegas although it would play.. to make a logn story short, I dump uncompressed avi out of swish, then us RAD VideoTools (a free converter) to re-dump as uncompressed again..never loose quality and vegas sems to play and render it fine.
Ryan King is offline  
Old July 26th, 2006, 02:13 AM   #344
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
buying used vegas

If I buy a second hand copy of vegas is the license transferrable? Am I breaking the rules and being naughty?

I once bought a second hand version for Film FX and it easily transferred and i even got tech support from the manufacturer.
Brian Luce is offline  
Old July 26th, 2006, 03:58 AM   #345
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bath, England
Posts: 119
Yes, you are allowed to buy/sell the software. See the EULA:
http://www.sonymediasoftware.com/support/eula.asp

Specifically:

5. ASSIGNMENT. You may assign the Software to a third party only if they agree to be bound by the terms and conditions of this Agreement. If you assign the Software, your rights under this Agreement will terminate immediately and you must: (a) cease all use of the Software, (b) permanently delete all copies of the Software from the computer on which it has been installed, and (c) deliver the original Software to the transferee, You may not retain the original or any copies of the Software.
Mark Bryant is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:49 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network