Vegas Video discussions from 2006 (Q3Q4) - Page 27 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 3rd, 2006, 11:12 AM   #391
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada
Posts: 1,200
16:9 to 4:3 crop in Vegas

I searched the forum but couldn't find reference to this issue. Lots of talk about going the other way.

I want to shoot HDV so I need to shoot 16:9, but the final view dimensions will be 4:3. (15 and 30 second spots on TV listings channel, they have the TV listings and a 4:3 box, so it will definitely be 4:3).

I know I can find this out through trial and error, but I'm pressed for time so I thought I'd see if anyone knows. If a crop is easy, I'm assuming I'll just lose it on the sides?

I could shoot SD 4:3 and save some grief (and for easy workflow), but I thought I'd check and see if any has done it as if it's a simple step because I'd prefer HDV masters for future consideration.

Thanks.
__________________
C100, 5DMk2, FCPX
Ken Diewert is offline  
Old August 3rd, 2006, 11:15 AM   #392
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Change project settings to 4:3/standard NTSC, and then pan/crop using a script or pan/crop one, and copy/paste attributes to all pieces of media
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old August 3rd, 2006, 11:38 AM   #393
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada
Posts: 1,200
Thanks Spot,

BTW, I did buy your Vegas training DVD's and HDV book. great stuff. Just thought I'd post the Q to try to save some time.
__________________
C100, 5DMk2, FCPX
Ken Diewert is offline  
Old August 3rd, 2006, 01:09 PM   #394
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 1,997
Adding to it...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Douglas Spotted Eagle
Use the "Iris" transition, set to start dead center (default).

To add to Doug's comment, keyframe the transition to control when it starts and reverses on itself.

jason
Jason Robinson is offline  
Old August 4th, 2006, 06:58 AM   #395
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
no need to upgrade, just grab urself a PCI VGA card.. any card will do... Vegas doesnt use the HW of the GFX card anyway..
if uve already got Nvidia, stick to it..
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Old August 4th, 2006, 03:00 PM   #396
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Courtenay, British Columbia
Posts: 39
Too Much Information?

specs:

p4 3.2 ghz
xp pro sp2
4 gigs dual-channel 667mhz ddr2 ram
not sure about video or sound processor

My projects involve taking many small clips (wmv format, 640x480, about 14 megs per minute of footage, typical file size about 30 megs), editing and batch processing them all at once with green screen, logo overlay, and various other colour-correction, colour level effects. I read in previous posts that sometimes large picture files can make the system crash, but mine are small png and jpgs, and there are only 3 of them (although they're multiplied on the timeline a whole lot).

Anyway. Vegas has started crashing on me. No pop-up, error, anything, just quickly shuts down. Usually happens just from navigating through the videos. I can watch it happen when I zoom out and it tries to load all the previews for all the clips. It hasn't done this to me before, but this latest project is much bigger than my previous ones (130 30 meg approx. clips with above effects). I've changed my video ram in options to 16mb, 64mb, 300mb, 1024mb, with the same problem every time. I've monitored what it does to my system with task manager, but the memory usage never gets above 900 mb. I've re-installed Vegas, but that didn't work.

So far I've been able to get around this somewhat by disabling the waveform and frame previews in the view menu, but this is extremely inconvenient as I need to monitor these things constantly.

I'm thinking maybe Vegas isn't designed to do this type of processing? Does everyone else just have one huge avi file that they split up into all their clips in vegas afterwards instead of importing lots of smaller files? I could do this, but it would mean re-recording all of my footage (4 hours worth...)

Any suggestions would be appreciated :) Thanks!
Mathew Kurtz is offline  
Old August 4th, 2006, 04:53 PM   #397
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Courtenay, British Columbia
Posts: 39
Scratch the better with disabling waveform/event frame display point. :( Doesn't seem to make a difference, even after cutting the project size down to 60 clips. I hope this doesn't get worse, hah.
Mathew Kurtz is offline  
Old August 4th, 2006, 05:08 PM   #398
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: chattanooga, tn
Posts: 721
Just a hunch, but maybe it's because you're editing with .wmv's. Any particular reason why you're not capturing to .avi?
__________________
-->jarrod whaley.
www.oakstreetfilms.com
Jarrod Whaley is offline  
Old August 4th, 2006, 05:21 PM   #399
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Courtenay, British Columbia
Posts: 39
Just found them to be good quality and decent compression. Plus can be easily distributed among computers that might not have all the right codecs and stuff. And they don't lag when I play them back (probably a video/sound card problem though i'd imagine). What do you think the disadvantages of wmv's are over other formats?
Mathew Kurtz is offline  
Old August 4th, 2006, 05:39 PM   #400
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
If quality isn't an issue, and for web delivery-only, there is nothing to take issue with.
wmv is highly compressed, can't be used for compositing, and severely degrades after processing any aspect of the image. It can't be scaled well, and is intended (currently) as a delivery format only.
But if it works for you....none of the above matters.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old August 4th, 2006, 05:55 PM   #401
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 268
Any way to get rid of pink (unsynchonize indicator) if you slip the audio on purpose?

I have a concert that I'm working on and I'm blending some direct recording with some room from where the camera was... oviously there is a time delay from what I see and what I hear... I have fixed this delay but now Vegas thinks it's out of sync... I regrouped everything and it's fine... I just want to tell Vegas that this is now the "correct" sync so if something is accidentally slipped I will see it.

Or is this a rare occurence and there is no real sollution other than deal with it?
Kevin Richard is offline  
Old August 4th, 2006, 05:59 PM   #402
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Courtenay, British Columbia
Posts: 39
Holy s**t you guys are sure right. I did an extreme stress test with avis instead of wmvs (13 hours worth instead of 4!!) on multiple track layers and it went extremely smoothly and even rendered faster. So yeah. I'm dumb. It all turned out nicely in the end though with wmv->wmv but if it's not made to do this kinda stuff I'm definately going back to avis.

Thanks people. I was scared there for a minute :)
Mathew Kurtz is offline  
Old August 4th, 2006, 06:14 PM   #403
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 268
Figure with WMV's you have a lot more algorithms and such going on decompressing them for playback than with a lower more effecient codec such as DV... so it will be faster even when rendering because it's not having to uncompress as much before recompressing. *jargon jargon jargon, blah blah blah* ;)
Kevin Richard is offline  
Old August 5th, 2006, 12:28 AM   #404
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 125
Color Isolation

Not sure what else to call this....bride with flowers walking down a path, bunch of red roses, 1 yellow one in the middle. I want everything black and white, but the yellow rose in color. In Premiere there is a simple preset effect that lets you basically grab a slider and leave only whatever color you want....how do I do this in Vegas 6d? I've searched everywhere and I'm getting these complex create a mask type stuff??
Mike McKay is offline  
Old August 5th, 2006, 12:47 AM   #405
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
It's called "Color Pass" because you're inhibiting every color excepting one.
You can pass single or multiple colors, the Secondary Color Corrector is awesome for this. Multiple colors require some compositing, but secondary is a single process.
There is a tutorial on color pass at both the VASST site and JetDV's website
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:59 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network