Vegas Video discussions from 2006 (Q3Q4) - Page 39 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 20th, 2006, 02:35 PM   #571
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
Yeah, it created a new track ,but things were all out of whack. And the second track didn't fill in all the way. Then when I deleted the master track and all the markers, I still had the preview. It was about 3 hours of wasted edit time.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline  
Old August 20th, 2006, 02:43 PM   #572
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 268
I'm pretty sure it was an overlooked user error... if you don't have continous footage on a track then you need to make sure that you are switching to the other camera for that segment of time or their will be blanks.

Yeah undo'ing all those pan and crops could be a pain in the ass... but it's much more work to do it all by yourself than letting this thing do all the edits for you... unless it's not that long of a project... but then undoing a few pan and crops aren't that big of a deal then ;)
Kevin Richard is offline  
Old August 20th, 2006, 03:11 PM   #573
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
Yeah, I'm sure it was my other personality that got in the way which caused my user error.

I'll give her another whirl on my next project. Thanks for the comments.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline  
Old August 20th, 2006, 03:19 PM   #574
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 268
Yeah, just try with this project once it's done... make you a save and revert back to it just for the hell of it.

I always increment versions of my saves so I have something to go back to anyway (which would have saved you from unpanning and cropping the DT stuff ;)
Kevin Richard is offline  
Old August 20th, 2006, 04:34 PM   #575
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 642
Thanks!! Problem solved.
Adi Head is offline  
Old August 20th, 2006, 05:19 PM   #576
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Please continue the talk in the already existing IBC thread:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=73607

Of course RED is at IBC, do check them out. And two nights (sunday & monday)
there is a digital movie being shown in the dcinema.

I always enjoy hanging out in hall 7 with all the color correction and effects
packages etc.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old August 21st, 2006, 12:39 AM   #577
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: manila, philippines
Posts: 102
fx envelope won't work

it just stays at 0dB even if i add points and change the value. do I have to click something else? or is it because my project is in 5.1?
Mo Zee is offline  
Old August 21st, 2006, 10:00 AM   #578
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Macedonia
Posts: 36
What Video File for Internet

I have video clip about 6 min (DV AVI) and I want to send it to my friend trough the internet. What video file should I encode for that. Someone told me that I have to render the AVI file to WMV (Windows Media Video). I found that option in Vegas but I don't know in what resolution or bitrate to render. My friend told me that I should send him the video file which can be played in "Real Player".
Regards.
Zdravko Jancevski is offline  
Old August 21st, 2006, 10:05 AM   #579
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
You'll then need to find an encoder that will render to .rm which is Real Media format. I know that Real Producer was a program from Real Player which rendered to .rm format, and you could change the size etc. So if your consumer, 'your friend', needs .rm then find an encoder that will do it. Sometimes you can find a piece of software that has little cost, but make sure it's worth the money, such as being able to encode various formats.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline  
Old August 21st, 2006, 10:06 AM   #580
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Macedonia
Posts: 36
Working with Layers

Is it possible working with layers in Vegas 6. For example is it possible mixing two wideo clips, first main one, with peoples portrait for example and second one simulating background (like chroma effect), but not to use Cokie cutter.
Regards.
Zdravko Jancevski is offline  
Old August 21st, 2006, 10:39 AM   #581
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Yes it is. You can create masks in many different ways. For some ideas, you might want to look at the "Ways to Split Screen" article in Vol 3 #1 of my newsletters and the "Bezier Masks" article in Vol 3 #3.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old August 21st, 2006, 10:42 AM   #582
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
After you pick the type of file you wish to render to, you then pick the preset you want to use. Try two or three different ones until you find the file size/quality combination that suits you.

Vegas can create Real files that you can send to your friend. Just be aware that if you're putting it on your website for anyone to view, there are LOTS of people that won't load "Real" on their machines. WMV is more widely accepted.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old August 21st, 2006, 11:31 AM   #583
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
my mistake Edward

I forgot, (and can't look while at work #1) to check to see that Vegas does render .rm.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline  
Old August 21st, 2006, 11:40 AM   #584
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 40
Thanks....
Richard Bender is offline  
Old August 21st, 2006, 01:37 PM   #585
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: College Park, Maryland
Posts: 913
Masking

Hello I did a quick search and couldn't find the info I was looking for. Maybe someone has asked this question befroe I'm not sure but I'm working on a project where I'm masking the individual on the screen. I've outlined them and layered their image on another. Whn I masked it the edges were to sharp and I wanted to soften them up. I used the soft edge but that only softens in the form of a box. I would like to soften the edge of the individual. (kind of what we see in some interviews or commercials) Thanks for any help. I'm usng Vegas 6d

Monday
Monday Isa is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:38 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network