Vegas Video discussions from 2006 (Q3Q4) - Page 48 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 12th, 2006, 01:51 AM   #706
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amstetten Austria
Posts: 140
how to author in DVDA for PC viewing?

So far I have only authored two DVDs in DVDA and they are fine if viewed on an stand alone DVD player, the main menu appears and all is selectable from there as authored. Opening the DVD on a PC all kind of files are dipalyed, though if I remember correctly choosing the first video file might lead to the main menu page as well.

My question:
How to author a DVD in DVDA so that, when opened on a PC, it shows a window with a custom made file structure, or even better the main menu page?
( In the WMP one can choose to go to the main menu page, but I want a DVD to open so that anybody who does not know much about computer and how to use software can access the DVD's content easily. )
__________________
video: NV-GS400 (black jap), Raynox HD-6600 and XL-3000, VW-LDC10 V.light, Velbon C-400, Slik monopod, Hama Hood
audio: SP-CMC8+AT853 cards+omnis / AT822 > DIYpreamp > iRiver iHP120rockboxed, Giant Squid Omnis > iRiver iFP-799
Andreas Griesmayr is offline  
Old September 12th, 2006, 05:27 AM   #707
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Southport - UK
Posts: 207
Don't most PCs come with a software DVD player now - wg PowerDVD, etc?

When you install it will usually come up in the list of "what do you want to do" when you insert a DVD.

Ian
Ian Briscoe is offline  
Old September 12th, 2006, 06:27 AM   #708
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 497
Weird. I'm using 6.0d also, but I was using the .avi-files from cineform (large - progressive, it's from a JVC GY-HD101E)

Let's just hope the problem is solved with the Sony Vegas 7.0a version...
Werner Wesp is offline  
Old September 12th, 2006, 08:42 AM   #709
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
All the ones I've authored for DVD players also play correctly in computers. It sounds like that computer is set up to "explore" the disc instead of "play" the disc. Assuming the computer had DVD software installed, you should be able to get it to play as well.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old September 12th, 2006, 08:46 AM   #710
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
1Gig should be plenty. The only time I've really seen RAM be an issue is if you're using a LOT of LARGE photos. Is that the case? If yes, you might want to pre-render those sections before the final full render.

Personally, I disagree with dropping the RAM Preview to zero unless there's some specific reason to do so (i.e. using a plugin like WAX). Even then, I would go above zero before rendering.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old September 12th, 2006, 09:25 AM   #711
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
I agree, you should not have to set Dynamic Ram Preview to 0.

This was only included so you could perform a test. I was worried that you were doing a dynamic ram render instead of a normal render.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline  
Old September 12th, 2006, 09:53 AM   #712
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Regina, SK Canada
Posts: 104
Images: 1
Thanks for the reply. Is this the type of problem that replacing the soundcard with a better sound card would fix?

I should add that the hiss experienced is substantial. When Vegas is armed to record, the green graph bars extend more than half way across, all from the hiss. Adding voice through a mic only bumps the bars a bit even though the volume is turned up.
Curt Talbot is offline  
Old September 12th, 2006, 10:07 AM   #713
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Curt Talbot
Thanks for the reply. Is this the type of problem that replacing the soundcard with a better sound card would fix?

I should add that the hiss experienced is substantial. When Vegas is armed to record, the green graph bars extend more than half way across, all from the hiss. Adding voice through a mic only bumps the bars a bit even though the volume is turned up.
This would suggest your pre isn't hot enough. Vegas doesn't add gain during record. You need to do this at the input of your mic, which is likely your Blaster or other sound card controls.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old September 12th, 2006, 05:01 PM   #714
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 268
Split up track into two? (multicam issue)

I have a two cam shoot here and I want to color correct each cam differently. I am using DoubleTake for the multicam part and it's done 1.5 hours of a kids playing music badly ;) Is it possible to not only expand track layers but to split them... since I bounce from one cam to the next the expanded view has one cam on top and the other on bottom.

Any suggestions welcome.
Kevin Richard is offline  
Old September 12th, 2006, 09:26 PM   #715
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Do the color correction on the EVENT - not on the track. Then when it's copied to the master track the correction will be copied as well.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old September 12th, 2006, 09:36 PM   #716
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel
Do the color correction on the EVENT - not on the track. Then when it's copied to the master track the correction will be copied as well.
I thought of that.. but it's a 1.5 hour concert with LOTS of cuts.... I guess I could do a copy and paste attributes after highlighting the rest?
Kevin Richard is offline  
Old September 12th, 2006, 09:43 PM   #717
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Richard
I thought of that.. but it's a 1.5 hour concert with LOTS of cuts.... I guess I could do a copy and paste attributes after highlighting the rest?
You could also repair/correct in the Media Pool and that will apply the correction to all events stemming from the original clip.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old September 12th, 2006, 09:50 PM   #718
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 268
That's excellent... I didn't know that!
Kevin Richard is offline  
Old September 13th, 2006, 02:39 AM   #719
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian Stark
Hi Brian,

My method would be to use an instance of the Sony Black & White plugin on the video track or clip you want to affect.

At the beginning of your clip you'll want a FX keyframe with the plugin level at 100% (ie 100% b&w) and at the end of the clip add a second keyframe with the value set to 0% (ie off, or full colour).

Ian . . .
is there a keyframe feature on the sony b&w filter? I couldn't find it. I'm using vegas 5.
Brian Luce is offline  
Old September 13th, 2006, 02:46 AM   #720
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Brian,

When you open up the b&w plugin there should be a timeline with keyframe tools at the bottom of the plugin window (maybe the window got resized?).

Bizarrely, I just uninstalled v5 about 30 minutes ago, having upgraded to v7 so I can't check this, sorry!

Ian . . .
Ian Stark is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:15 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network