Vegas Video discussions from 2006 (Q3Q4) - Page 6 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 6th, 2006, 08:40 AM   #76
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
The FX1 won't pass DVCPro. DVCam, yes... But not DVCPro
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old July 6th, 2006, 09:26 AM   #77
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
What do you mean Edward? Do you mean that if I have made "any" changes this will not work OR do you mean any specific changes?
Well... I specifically meant if the F12 key had be redefined to do something else.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old July 6th, 2006, 10:16 AM   #78
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Good! Phew . . Next!! - G
Graham Bernard is offline  
Old July 6th, 2006, 11:50 AM   #79
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13
DVD Video quality modes for VHS & Hi-8

Hello everyone.

I recently starting converting VHS tapes to DVD. When converting the video to DVD, I am provided with various quality levels. As at least most of you probably know, higher quality means less playing time. Well, here's what I'm wondering. I'm fanatical when it comes to quality. At the same time though, you don't get much room on the DVD when you record on high quality. One level down from the highest quality level (Standard Play) does provide a good amount of time though. What I would like to know is if there can be any noticeable quality difference when converting any VHS tape to DVD in Standard Play mode as opposed to High Quality mode (I figured there might not be since VHS is already less quality to begin with). If there is no noticeable difference, then I have another question. Is there any noticeable difference when you convert a hi-8 video to DVD in Standard Play mode instead of High Quality mode?

Your help is greatly appreciated.

~Peter D.
Peter Diamond is offline  
Old July 6th, 2006, 05:38 PM   #80
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico USA
Posts: 326
It's exactly the opposite of what you'd think. Since most of the compression in MPEG2 video is accomplished by only encoding the difference between frames, really pristine, noise-free video can actually be rendered at a lower bit rate and still maintain quality. VHS video is typically pretty noisy and it requires a HIGHER bit rate to maintain quality. If you're concerned about quality, then the "high quality" mode is a must, PARTICULARLY with noisy VHS and Hi8 video.

John

Last edited by John Cline; July 7th, 2006 at 12:51 AM.
John Cline is offline  
Old July 6th, 2006, 07:22 PM   #81
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
DVCPro50

I know that Vegas doesn't handle DVCProHD natively. How about DVCPro50?

I did a search and saw an implication that Vegas doesn't support DVCPro50 natively, but I'm looking for a definitive answer.

If the answer is "no", is the answer to the next question "Raylight" or "Cineform"?

Thanks!
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline  
Old July 6th, 2006, 09:17 PM   #82
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southwest Idaho, USA
Posts: 3,063
Messed up external monitor preview

I fired up my PC the other day and previewed some footage from the timeline on my external monitor. Suddenly, the image started cutting out and then back in. I noticed a pattern: Five blinks, apx. 75 seconds of smooth sailing, five more blinks, etc.

After blaming my XL1s I decided to hook up the other cam before sending the one to Canon. The same thing happened. Different cables, different monitor, a new firewire card--nothing seems to make it stop. Capture works fine, from what I can tell.

I know that, occasionally, Vegas decides to play tricks upon start-up--like unchecking the preview window. Is it possible that a setting got messed up and is causing a conflict?
__________________
Lorinda
Lorinda Norton is offline  
Old July 6th, 2006, 09:22 PM   #83
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ypsilanti, MI
Posts: 87
Ultimate S 2.0 Question

Hey guys,
I have been testing Ultimate S 2.0 and Excalibur plug-ins. They both seem to be fanastic products. I am leaning toward the Ultimate S because it appears to have more features that I am looking for. Is there any way to receive a discount code on this product?

Thank you.

Sincerely,
__________________
Jack-of-all-trades trying to master one (Videography)
www.sdfvideo.com
Albert Rodgers is offline  
Old July 6th, 2006, 09:29 PM   #84
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
It's more likely something interrupting the firewire connection. Perhaps a network connection, anything taking excess CPU time...
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old July 6th, 2006, 09:45 PM   #85
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southwest Idaho, USA
Posts: 3,063
Hmm....there's nothing else running on this PC--no network connection, no unnecessary background programs running. It's a Vegas only machine!

p.s. How ya feeling, these days, Edward? Great, I hope!!!! :)
__________________
Lorinda
Lorinda Norton is offline  
Old July 6th, 2006, 10:12 PM   #86
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lorinda Norton
p.s. How ya feeling, these days, Edward? Great, I hope!!!! :)
Doing very well. Just got back from a round of golf!


As for the problem, any interrupt conflicts? Any other changes you can think of? Did it work properly before?
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old July 6th, 2006, 10:17 PM   #87
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southwest Idaho, USA
Posts: 3,063
That's what is so strange--everything has been working just fine, no changes in hardware or anything else lately.

I'm embarrassed to admit this, but I can't remember how to check the IRQ settings! LOL! Help a sister out??? :)

...Glad to hear you're doing so well!
__________________
Lorinda
Lorinda Norton is offline  
Old July 7th, 2006, 12:11 AM   #88
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
You can pick up a DVCpro50 codec from Matrox.com (free) and for DVCPro HD, Raylight or CineForm. I've worked a lot with the Raylight, and haven't worked with the CineForm at all as of yet, but the Raylight looks great. If the CineForm follows the standard of quality that they've demonstrated in the past, it too, is great.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old July 7th, 2006, 12:58 AM   #89
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southwest Idaho, USA
Posts: 3,063
finally!

By process of elimination, my friend Rich figured out the problem. He told me to pull out any card I wasn't using. Because I don't connect to the Internet through this machine I'd forgotten about a wireless adapter used (without problems) by the former owner of this PC. Apparently, that was the culprit.

Edward, sorry to have bothered you, but thank you for taking the time to help! :)
__________________
Lorinda
Lorinda Norton is offline  
Old July 7th, 2006, 03:33 AM   #90
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
Hi Douglas,

Do you know if the Matrox codec solution requires an offline pass before editing the DVCPro50 content, or does it plug into Vegas, allowing immediate editing.

And... If it's an extra pass, is it fast and efficient?

Thanks!
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:14 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network