Vegas Video discussions from 2006 (Q3Q4) - Page 64 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 5th, 2006, 02:11 PM   #946
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Posts: 5
how to make a rolling graphic

Hi, I'm new to Vegas so bare with me.

I have a circle logo that I brought in as a PNG image. I want to animate the logo and make it roll out like a barrel from the left side of the screen. Playing with the Pan options I can make it spin in place in the center of the screen, but when I try to start with the image off screen, it ends up spiraling into the center, not rolling in a straight line from left to center (which is what I want).

hope that makes sense.

Thanks for your help.

Craig D
Craig Droessler is offline  
Old October 5th, 2006, 02:16 PM   #947
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Repeat after me; KEYFRAMES ARE MY FRIEND. :-)

By using keyframes you can do many many things with your logo. to get it to spin off the frame set a keyframe to the time you want it to start spinning off and then move the box in the PAN/CROP to the position you want it to end up in and place a keyframe there. That way the box has a direction, a map if you will, to follow.

HTHs

Don
Don Bloom is offline  
Old October 5th, 2006, 02:25 PM   #948
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Posts: 5
Be careful with the alienware. I bought a desktop in 2001 and it was great. I bought a laptop in 2004 and it has given me trouble all the time.

First the motherboard had a problem which made the system lock up if you unplugged it from the charger.

After many hours on tech support, they finally had me mail it back after I had to get angry and volatile on the phone. This was after probably 8 or more tech support calls. They just kept making me run the same stupid test again and again.

After a month they sent it back, but then the video card was damaged. Most likely from the beginning faulty motherboard. They had to send me a new card to fix that.

Within a year overheating issues became worse and worse. Now the system is essentially a desktop. No laptop cooling pads would move enough air to cool it. It is now propped up with the bottom panel off and a small desk fan mounted behind it to keep it cool.

I now have a dual display setup and the system behaves pretty well when she is kept cool. It just sucks that my "laptop" is no longer portable at all.

I was a real supporter of Alienware, but after reading many horror stories on notebookforems.com, and dealing with my own, my mind has changed. If you do buy one, get the best warranty you can, just in case. Overheating is a major problem, but they should do a better job of curbing that when they cram that kind of hard ware inside.

The latest case designs may have fixed all this by now.
Craig Droessler is offline  
Old October 5th, 2006, 02:33 PM   #949
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Posts: 5
Well I did that. I had the first keyframe with the object outside the left of the frame. Then the second keyframe with the logo in the center how I want it to stop.

Doing this, the logo slides in from left to center. I want it to roll as it moves in. So I took the first keyframe (the one with the logo outside the frame) and rotated it 180 degrees. This makes the logo spiral in, not roll.

I think it is because I am spinning the frame, not the logo. Is there a way to make the logo spin with out spinning the frame around it?
Craig Droessler is offline  
Old October 5th, 2006, 02:38 PM   #950
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 24
DSE, do you capture using the medium setting or the large setting in cineform? Is the difference really negligble?
__________________
www.24kblack.com
Torrance Colvin is offline  
Old October 5th, 2006, 03:21 PM   #951
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Ahhh, OK that would make sense. I read too fast and didn't see you brought it in as a graphic. Does the PNG have a transparent background? If not then Vegas will spin the frame with the (probably black background) spinning with it. You can MASK out the logo but with the movement it can be a real PITA and many many keyframes OR you might try it in something like BluffTitler which is a very inexpensive motion graphics program that is made to do exactly what you want to do. Unfortunately Vegas really isn't set up to do this. WAIT!!! Another idea. You might try ChromaKey in Vegas to get rid of the background but remember that even with a transparent background on the timeline if theres nothing under the graphic the background will show as black, also try rendering it with an ALPHA CHANNEL and Premultiplied Dirty which will eliminate the background.
Good Luck, let us know what you're doing and how its going.
Don
Don Bloom is offline  
Old October 5th, 2006, 03:45 PM   #952
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
If you just drag it onto the timeline, open Pan/Crop, and then add rotation, it should rotate about the center of the screen. Then use Track Motion to position/move it.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old October 5th, 2006, 04:08 PM   #953
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Bloom
Ahhh, OK that would make sense. I read too fast and didn't see you brought it in as a graphic. Does the PNG have a transparent background? If not then Vegas will spin the frame with the (probably black background) spinning with it. You can MASK out the logo but with the movement it can be a real PITA and many many keyframes OR you might try it in something like BluffTitler which is a very inexpensive motion graphics program that is made to do exactly what you want to do. Unfortunately Vegas really isn't set up to do this. WAIT!!! Another idea. You might try ChromaKey in Vegas to get rid of the background but remember that even with a transparent background on the timeline if theres nothing under the graphic the background will show as black, also try rendering it with an ALPHA CHANNEL and Premultiplied Dirty which will eliminate the background.
Good Luck, let us know what you're doing and how its going.
Don
Don,
Thanks for the advice. I'm a graphic designer by trade, but a newbie to video. So PNG images can retain Alpha channel masks? The logo is black and white, set on a white background. I can make the white transparent in Photoshop no problem. So a PNG file can have a transparent background? I'm new to the file type.

Edward,
I'll give your method a shot tonight when I get home.

Thanks guys
Craig Droessler is offline  
Old October 5th, 2006, 04:24 PM   #954
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Yes, a PNG can have a transparent background. If it does not show up that way (and it HAS as transparent background), right-click it, choose properties, and change the alpha channel mode.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old October 5th, 2006, 05:54 PM   #955
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vero Beach
Posts: 392
Torrence

Try closing Media Manager. Options - Preferences - General. Vegas will load a lot quicker. Close Vegas and then re-open. Then import files using File - Import - Media and see if that helps.

Jim
Jim Montgomery is offline  
Old October 5th, 2006, 06:49 PM   #956
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 217
New to editing in HDV.

I am about to upgrade to Vegas 7 from Vegas 4 and have a few questions.
I shoot using JVC hd100ua camera and wonder do you guys Downconvert from hDV to sd before editing during the capture?
And I see Vegas 7 handles HDV files so I don't need any special capture cards?
Also, does editing HDV files on vegas 7 work as well as SD files?
Joe Bowey is offline  
Old October 5th, 2006, 07:30 PM   #957
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Baxley, Georgia
Posts: 103
Ultimate S2 & Vegas 7 Compatibility

I've been happily running Vegas 5 since it came out but the $149.00 offer from Sony finally broke me down so Vegas 7 + DVD is on the way.

My question is will the VASST Ultimate S2 plugins work with Vegas 7? I downloaded a trail copy of Ultimate S2 a little over a month ago and like it but have been waiting to see if it would work with Vegas 7 before I purchase.
__________________
Lamar
Lamar Lamb is offline  
Old October 5th, 2006, 08:23 PM   #958
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vero Beach
Posts: 392
Vasst has an update on their site.

Jim
Jim Montgomery is offline  
Old October 5th, 2006, 08:31 PM   #959
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Brief HDV TC test with HD100 and V7

Got together this afternoon with forum member Burk Webb aka. Yoyodyne and we tested his extremely cool JVC HD100 with Vegas 7 internal capture via firewire.

24p - no camera timecode captured, all clips start at TC 0:00.
30p - mostly worked right! Our first cap didn't, but all caps after that showed correct camera timecode in the captured video.

More on Sony Z1 camera timecode on this thread (it works!)
http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...269#post544269
Seth Bloombaum is offline  
Old October 5th, 2006, 09:06 PM   #960
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 24
Thanks for the effort Jim. Same Fatal Error Exception. Ahhhhhhh!
__________________
www.24kblack.com
Torrance Colvin is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:12 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network