Vegas 6 and DVDA 3 Streaming Sessions from NAB 2005 - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 28th, 2005, 04:18 AM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 221
Media management

If there is a new media bin I'm paying for the upgrade - don't really need anything else.... or... maybe the "freeze track" feature - to prerender a whole parent track with "child" tracks. That would be something.

And I'm sure there is some superintegrated native support for the FX1, but I am sceptical about a camera which records a distribution format (MPEG-2) on tape. A DV-magazine in sweden sent out a DVD with "extraordinary footage from the brand new Sony FX1" and i couldn't see any differences at all.

Using a progressive DVD player with a 42" plasma screen and HDMI plug will probably make a difference...


/magnus
__________________
Magnus Helander, Crossmediageek on G+
Magnus Helander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2005, 01:29 PM   #17
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Centreville Va
Posts: 1,828
I'm hoping for smp support and to integrate the media management tools they put into Acid 5. Among other things.
Joe Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2005, 08:46 PM   #18
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
well considering that Acid and Vegas are built around the same engine, what is included in Acid, should be easily transported across through to Vegas.

as for media bins, i guess, we'll jsut have to wait... what i can say though is that you should all be prepared for a surprise :)
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2005, 04:52 PM   #19
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Centreville Va
Posts: 1,828
Peter, you are enjoying all this just a LITTLE TOO MUCH!!!:)
Joe Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2005, 07:03 PM   #20
Tourist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1
Any ballpark idea as to when Vegas 6 will hit the streets?
__________________
Chris C. Shaffer
Chris C. Shaffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2005, 11:52 PM   #21
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
NAB will be the launch :)
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2005, 08:23 AM   #22
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,483
It would be cool if it didn't have the lock-ups
("program not responding") when
previewing to external monitor.
Dave Largent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2005, 09:30 AM   #23
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
<<<-- Originally posted by Dave Largent : It would be cool if it didn't have the lock-ups
("program not responding") when
previewing to external monitor. -->>>

I've not experience that in Vegas 3, 4, or 5.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2005, 11:58 AM   #24
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
<<<-- Originally posted by Dave Largent : It would be cool if it didn't have the lock-ups
("program not responding") when
previewing to external monitor. -->>>

I've occasionally seen that- the solution is to make sure your IEEE device your using to output the signal to external monitor is connected and turned on BEFORE you load Vegas.
Glen Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2005, 01:30 PM   #25
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Hmm... mine just defaults back to displaying on the computer monitor unless I turn on the deck - then it automatically starts displaying on the external monitor until I turn off the deck - then it goes back to displaying on the computer monitor.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2005, 02:00 PM   #26
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
The only time I've seen it happen is if I have Vegas running and have been editing for a while- then go to turn my DSR-11 on and try to output to external monitor. It'll lock Vegas up occasionally- only to be freed the moment I turn the DSR-11 off, and everything returns to normal.

I find if I have the DSR-11 on prior to loading Vegas I never get this problem. Though- I'm more succeptible to IEEE issues because I'm using the built in IEEE on my Audigy sound card (which isn't necessarily advised). I do this becaues my Mobo has an issue with the onboard IEEE and promile controller. Just never bothered to investigate to fix it. Been pretty happy with simply using the IEEE on the Audigy.
Glen Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2005, 09:09 PM   #27
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
<<<-- Originally posted by Joe Carney : Peter, you are enjoying all this just a LITTLE TOO MUCH!!!:) -->>>

yes i am.. lol

as for a street release.. the 18th of April (US day time) is when we should be able to get our mits on it :)
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2005, 09:16 PM   #28
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Marin, CA
Posts: 35
<<<-- Originally posted by Joe Carney : I'm hoping for smp support and to integrate the media management tools they put into Acid 5. Among other things. -->>>

YEAH, better Multi-processor support is a must. The way Vegas handles multiple processors right now is so unefficent.
Van Lam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2005, 08:13 PM   #29
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,564
OMG, no waaaay!!! this is too kewl! i'm so excited! i bet it's gonne wasome!
__________________
bow wow wow
Yi Fong Yu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2005, 04:00 PM   #30
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 414
Re: Media management

<<<-- Originally posted by Magnus Helander : A DV-magazine in sweden sent out a DVD with "extraordinary footage from the brand new Sony FX1" and i couldn't see any differences at all.

Using a progressive DVD player with a 42" plasma screen and HDMI plug will probably make a difference...


/magnus -->>>

That or seeing it actually in HD versus reencoded down to an SD DVD...

Can't wait for Vegas 6... if even half of the rumored features show up, I'll buy the upgrade immediately...
__________________
Kevin Dooley
Media Director, Pantego Bible Church
Kevin Dooley is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:51 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network