Help me encode my video at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 3rd, 2005, 11:11 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portland, Maine
Posts: 91
Help me encode my video

I've tried three times now to encode my wedding video. I took the master from the videographer and added my own photo montage and honeymoon video...now I need to render and encode to MPEG for output to DVD. Each time I've done this it encodes the video to an MPEG file just too big to fit on a standard 4.7GB DVD. I'm using a bitrate calculator and I'm setting it to produce a file just smaller than the 4.38 gig capacity of the DVD, but each time the result is a larger file than will fit on a DVD. What am I doing wrong here? The video is 1hr 41min. I want the highest quality I can get, but at the same time I want it to fit on one DVD.
__________________
Landmark Media
landmark207.com
Brian Bechard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2005, 11:28 PM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
First of all, a "4.7 Gig" DVD really holds about 4.35 Gig. So that is your true target size. Next, you must pick a proper bitrate for the length of your video. I have a bitrate chart in issue 9 (or 7 - can't remember which) of my newsletter (link below). Finally, the estimated size is frequently wrong

1:41 would require an average bitrate around 5,600,000 with AC3 audio. That should give you a little room to spare and allow for a reasonable sized menu.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2005, 02:14 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 241
A rough and ready way to do this that won't take all day with multiple rendering iterations is to render it at a pretty good quality to be, say 6GB, then run it through DVDShrink and compress it to fit on a DVD-R

Cheers.
Kyle Ringin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2005, 04:56 AM   #4
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,529
Can this be used to create DVDs for DVDA in Vegas?
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2005, 06:33 AM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
<<<-- Originally posted by Kyle Ringin : A rough and ready way to do this that won't take all day with multiple rendering iterations is to render it at a pretty good quality to be, say 6GB, then run it through DVDShrink and compress it to fit on a DVD-R

Cheers. -->>>

Kyle, I agree that would be a ROUGH way. You'll end up encoding to MPEG2 (a lossy process) and let DVDShrink recompress it to a smaller MPEG2 (still a lossy process) and will therefore reduce the quality. Better to just encode at the correct bitrate to begin with.

If you don't want to calculate out the proper rates, it would be better to render out to DV-AVI and give that to DVD Architect letting it then perform the encode to MPEG2 at the proper bitrate.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2005, 08:27 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 241
I did say rough didn't I... :D
It doesn't do a full decompress-compress, it just uses the existing compression and trims off some more data to make it smaller (or something).
The new(er) version of DVDShrink does a pretty good job with it's deep analysis, etc, etc business,

Best is to encode it once as Edward said. I don't know if I'd want to render to DV-avi (lossy) then to mpeg (lossy again) though as it's a full compress-decompress-compress cycle using different codecs.

Cheers.
Kyle Ringin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2005, 09:12 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portland, Maine
Posts: 91
Would a duel layer DVD be the solution? The only hangup there is I would like write the DVD on an inkjet printable disc, and I don't know of any printable duel layer discs on the market yet.
__________________
Landmark Media
landmark207.com
Brian Bechard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2005, 09:53 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 241
I guess a dual layer disc would be an option (I don't have a dual layer burner so I don't have experience with this).
I have heard that dual layer compatibility with stand alone dvd players isn't that good at the moment. No doubt it will improve though.

Anyone know more?
Kyle Ringin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2005, 10:00 PM   #9
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Also, DVD Architect doesn't burn to dual layer at this time.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2005, 12:53 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 241
Edward,
Can you prepare the DVD to 8GB or whatever, then burn dual layer with nero? would that work?
Kyle Ringin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2005, 08:48 AM   #11
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I've heard or people doing that. And I've heard claims that it works. I've never tried it myself (I don't have a dual-layer burner at this time). Best I can suggest is to try it and let US know how it works. DVDA will definitely allow it.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2005, 10:01 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portland, Maine
Posts: 91
Alright...I've been denied again. I set the my encode to Edwards suggestions and my file was again too big. Then I tried a CBR at 5400b/sec and it still came out too large. I dont have DVDA so I'm exporting the 81 minute MPEG file to NERO for buring. My last two attempts have been with files smaller than 4.38 gigs but when NERO finishes analyzing the file it tells me it is too big to fit on a standard DVD. What gives???
__________________
Landmark Media
landmark207.com
Brian Bechard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2005, 10:12 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 167
Brian, are you using PCM or AC3 audio? What about menus? Static menus usually don't take up much space, but if you've got any motion menus they may be pushing it over the edge. Is Nero nice enough to tell you how much you're over the limit?

Also, is Nero taking your MPEG files and turning them into VOBs, or are you using DVD Architect for that?

...and just for reference, what version of Windows?
__________________
There's no way for you to know if what I'm saying is true unless you know what the truth is, and there's no way for you to know what the truth is unless there is a truth that you can know. -- Frank Peretti
Jeremy Davidson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2005, 10:12 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 100
I second Kyle's suggestion if you are at your wits end. I've had very good results with DVD shrink. I can't see any obvious degradation of the DVD quality as long as you don't shrink by much (>20%). The resulting files burns to DVDs with no problem using Nero and seem to be very compatible with all players I've tried.
__________________
Steve


pdx10, EOS10D
Steve Roffler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2005, 10:44 AM   #15
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
First of all, make sure you are using AC3 audio.

Secondly, WHAT tells you it's too big? Are you looking at DVDA's estimate? It's frequently too large. Or are you looking at the actual size of the Video_TS folder?

Thirdly, what kind of menus do you have? My numbers allow for a simple menu structure. However, if you have many menus all with moving backgrounds and/or moving buttons and sound, that could be eating up space as well.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:05 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network