Vegas 6 Scoop at www.dvformat.com - HDV built-in: no more Cineform required! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 18th, 2005, 07:46 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 375
Vegas 6 Scoop at www.dvformat.com - HDV built-in: no more Cineform required!

Well, Charlie et al. seem pretty adamant in spilling the beans on this one...

is this now the case?

No more need for Cineform as a separate utility? Finally confirmed?

Comments? David?

www.dvformat.com

And whoa, now true conversion of Sony HDV to 24p???

Like, when is this shipping???
Mark Kubat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2005, 07:52 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
yes it does (it comes with cineform as well).

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=43139

Did you miss that? You can even download the demo of Vegas 6 & DVDA 3!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2005, 07:57 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 375
Oh my god - you're right - you can download and buy it - holy s***!

this is GOOD!
Mark Kubat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2005, 08:09 AM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
IT IS indeed! :)
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2005, 08:55 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Paris (France)
Posts: 9
No Sony Vegas in Sony Vaio computers in Europe

Vegas 6 look really good but at this time, all Sony Vaio computers in Europe are sold with Adobe Premiere Pro Standard.


And no discovery version inside !


Astouning, isn't it ?
Sylvain Pallix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2005, 04:11 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,943
Well I downloaded Vegas 6, installed but it will not accept an m2t file that I have been using in Edius Pro3 ( yes it is m2t captured with capDVHS, not a Canopus encoded HQ file ) . I am sure I saw a reference that a Sony MPEG2 encoder was needed somewhere but can't find it now. Anyone have any input?

Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2005, 03:45 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Katoomba NSW Australia
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Evans
Well I downloaded Vegas 6, installed but it will not accept an m2t file that I have been using in Edius Pro3 ( yes it is m2t captured with capDVHS, not a Canopus encoded HQ file ) . I am sure I saw a reference that a Sony MPEG2 encoder was needed somewhere but can't find it now. Anyone have any input?

Ron Evans
When you say "will not accept an m2t file", did you select 'all files' as the file type to load the m2t?

Even Vegas 5 has to load m2t files in this fashion. The 'file type' dialogue in Vegas 5 doesn't have an m2t option, and it may well be that Vegas 6 follows the same path.

While I'm surprised that Vegas 6 may not have m2t as a selectable file type in the drop-down list, I'd be more amazed that Vegas 5 can load m2t files while Vegas 6 cannot.
Steve Crisdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2005, 03:46 AM   #8
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
It may also be that the MPEG-2 encoder/decoder is not enabled in the demo.....
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2005, 03:57 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Katoomba NSW Australia
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Lohman
It may also be that the MPEG-2 encoder/decoder is not enabled in the demo.....
Wouldn't disabling any MPEG2 decoder in the demo of the application they'd be hoping many HDV'ers would embrace be somewhat of a major blunder?

I'd again be surprised if the decoding capacity of Vegas 6 was absent, given that there's many other MPEG2 sources than HDV and the encoding of video as MPEG2 would be the area the programmers would 'knoble', as in previous demo versions.

From my experience it's always the encoder that you have to purchase, rather than the viewing/loading component of the codec...
Steve Crisdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2005, 04:04 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Katoomba NSW Australia
Posts: 635
and what about ConnectHD FULL registered users?

Where do those who've paid for ConnectHD stand?

I know all this stuff is in flux, but I'm sure there are those like myself who would like some clarification of exactly what Vegas 6's Cineform integration entails, and it's implication for ConnectHD purchasers like myself.
Steve Crisdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2005, 10:10 AM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,943
Well when I try and drag the m2t file to the timeline it says An error has occured---"the requested plug-in does not have the features enabled". I also get the word "unloaded " across the preview screen when I try and capture from the FX1 with the Sony capture from the file menu as described in the manual for HDV capture. The 1394 is active because I can capture from HDlink and Edius so it is something that is not enabled in Vegas that is the problem. Seems pointless to have a HDV demo if it isn't possible to capture and try HDV editing!! So I tried to get the file to load in Sound Forge 6 and Vegas LE also on the same machine and get a somewhat similar message but more specific in saying that to enable the plug in I need to buy the Sony MPEG encoder!!!! I will ring support since they don't seem to like my email ( says it isn't valid even though they just sent me a Sony Promo on Sound Forge 8 !! )

Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2005, 10:44 AM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,943
Just got off the phone with pre sales who said that the DEMO will NOT capture, import or edit HDV m2t. I told them it wasn't much use as a demo for HDV editing then since all their competitors demos work with HDV for a limited time. Interestingly Vegas 6 demo will import a Cineform CFHD file as well as a Canopus HQ file and play just fine---very strange. I quess I will just have to see how Vegas 6 works with DV and presume it works that way for HDV!!!!

Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2005, 01:44 AM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gwaelod-y-garth, Cardiff, CYMRU/WALES
Posts: 1,215
Yes, that was a major disappointment when I found I couldn't capture from my FX 1 in the demo version - a totally pointless waste of time to download the demo in the first place.
Guess I'll stick with Avid ;-) ...


Robin
Robin Davies-Rollinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2005, 02:06 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,564
that's awesome. you can now directly edit .vob files.
__________________
bow wow wow
Yi Fong Yu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2005, 03:36 PM   #15
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Well this is an old thread. CineForm still sells many Connect HD units to Vegas 6 users as there is so much more Connect HD offers; such as : much faster conversion times, one step capture-conversion with scene detection, quality controls, higher quality 4:2:0 to 4:2:2 upconversion, CineFrame support, 24p support, and so on...
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:42 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network