Problems with Vegas 6 Demo at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 19th, 2005, 05:33 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Springwater,NY
Posts: 5
Problems with Vegas 6 Demo

I'm having a lot of problems with this. Open the program and it starts loading and just never finishes loading. If I reboot it sometimes will load.Sometimes it gets to the permission window from ZoneAlarm to access the internet then it locks up. I tried loading a library last night-it got 20% through it and locked up. Could this be because I mistakenly installed the retail version (thought it was a demo version)and then uninstalled that before installing the demo? BTW I'm not having any problems with any other programs like Vegas 5. Suggestions?
Mark McKelvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2005, 05:46 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I had some problems with the demo of DVD Architect 3 as well (doesn't want
to load any media it seems, I get some Internet Explorer popup with a lot of
javascript errors).

Perhaps the demo has been rushed out a bit too soon....
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2005, 06:20 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 857
Have you installed the two prerequisites: DirectX9 and .Net1.1 (with latest update)?
__________________
Fear No Weevil!
Patrick King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2005, 06:25 AM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Springwater,NY
Posts: 5
Yes I have. It won't let you install the program unless those 2 items are already installed.
Mark McKelvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2005, 07:28 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 414
I also had accidentally installed the retail version instead of the demo. However, I uninstalled, rebooted and installed the demo and have had no problems...
__________________
Kevin Dooley
Media Director, Pantego Bible Church
Kevin Dooley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2005, 07:42 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
same here, seems that there could be a registry permit bug in thre somewhere...
V6 demo keeps crashing on me.. click media pool, import media and bang..

i think ill just wait till the cds arrive.. might be safer..
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2005, 07:57 AM   #7
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
For these problems, I really recommend you call Customer Service. That way they can determine where/what the problem is and, hopefully, get you working again too.

As for the CD vs the download, take the download. The download is 6.0a where the CDs are 6.0. You really want the "a".
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2005, 08:05 AM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel
For these problems, I really recommend you call Customer Service. That way they can determine where/what the problem is and, hopefully, get you working again too.

As for the CD vs the download, take the download. The download is 6.0a where the CDs are 6.0. You really want the "a".

If 6.0a has this many problems I can't imagine what 6.0 was like.
Glen Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2005, 09:18 AM   #9
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glen Elliott
If 6.0a has this many problems I can't imagine what 6.0 was like.
I'm not seeing "this many problems" in 6a. It is working well on my system.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2005, 10:29 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 857
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel
As for the CD vs the download, take the download. The download is 6.0a where the CDs are 6.0. You really want the "a".
Edward,

When my CDs arrive and I install them, can't I just download and install the 6.0a update from the Sony Media Update? Vegas Update
__________________
Fear No Weevil!
Patrick King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2005, 11:27 AM   #11
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Yes. But why not just install 6.0a directly? It will skip a needless step for you.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2005, 01:06 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Bonaire, Ga.
Posts: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel
I'm not seeing "this many problems" in 6a. It is working well on my system.
Appears some of the fx filter are broke (sharpen...zoom...film effects...)
Mark A. Foley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2005, 02:53 PM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Springwater,NY
Posts: 5
Sent an email to Sony. Installed the demo again and it works better but the media manager fails to load. I'm sure the Madison boys will get things straightened out.
Mark McKelvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2005, 04:12 PM   #14
Rextilleon
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pleasantville, NY
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark McKelvey
Sent an email to Sony. Installed the demo again and it works better but the media manager fails to load. I'm sure the Madison boys will get things straightened out.

Vegas 6 is a mess---Dont buy it until they fix up the bugs (and there are so many). This is probably an instance where they went to market to fast--I bet you the developers aren't very happy.
David Mintzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2005, 05:23 PM   #15
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Springwater,NY
Posts: 5
Well, I spoke too soon. Now it won't launch at all."Starting data base service" has been on my monitor for 10 minutes and counting.I"m uninstalling it and waiting for the next beta release to come out.
Mark McKelvey is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:50 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network