Dvd Architect 3.0 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 25th, 2005, 11:05 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 20
Dvd Architect 3.0

Is the Dvd Architect 3.0 worth the extra money. I am thinking of buying Vegas seperately or buying the Vegas Dvd architect 3.0 product. Is the architext worth an extra $200?

Thanks, Vincenzo
Vincent Burnett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2005, 12:10 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
yes..
that in itself (as mentioned in a previous post) is worth th eupgrade alone..

its the only app on its level which offers multiple video tracks, and i assume you already understand its streamlined workflow... well Sony have streamlined it even more :)
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2005, 08:57 AM   #3
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I agree with Peter. It is absolutely worth the price difference.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2005, 12:21 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel
I agree with Peter. It is absolutely worth the price difference.

Ever since 4 to 5, and now 5 to 6- I've been very elated with the changes made to DVDA. I suppose there is LESS to change in Vegas, it's already feature packed- each new incarnation of DVDA has been considerably better than the last. DVDA3 being no exception.
Glen Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2005, 11:01 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
heres hoping next years effort will be supportive of WMV9 formatted HD DVDRom...

so many players now support it (albeit not native hd res) but the fact its there (wmv9 hd) shows that were making headway to a cheap and workable (consumer wise) delivery option for HD
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2005, 04:48 AM   #6
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
What kind of support are you exactly looking for Peter? You can already
encode WMVHD with Microsoft's encoder, and together with DVDA3 you
can also put this file beside the normal DVD movie (on the ROM "track").

Or you can burn a plain DVD ROM in something like Nero with this file. Any
player supporting such files should be able to play it then, no?

To the best of my knowledge there isn't a working WMVHD like DVD structure
with navigation and the likes yet? (should be coming with HD-DVD/blu-ray).

Or am I missing something Peter?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2005, 05:51 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
no mate, ur not missing anything, but i was hoping for a menu based wmvhd system, but as yet they dont exist..
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2005, 06:07 AM   #8
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Ah, ohkay. Wait a year and at least there should be some form of a standard.
Hopefully some software will exist as well then! I remember reading somewhere
that they where going with XML for things that are now IFO files on DVD's,
that should be interesting (and a lot easier to work with without software).
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2005, 10:49 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cass Lake MN
Posts: 221
Sound Track Level in Dvd Architect 3.0

OK folks, I really need to find out what's going on here.

Maybe the problem is in Vegas 6.0 but here goes:

I cleaned up a sound track for a video that I've done. Brought all my levels up using SAWSTUDIO, my favorite editor.

I then layed the track back to Vegas, and rendered it using the Dolby Digital (ac3) format. I went in and in the custom settings I set the Dialogue Normalization to -31 as Spot has recommended.

Then I took that track and put it in to Dvd Architect 3.0. Now when it showed up in Dvd Architect 3.0, it looked on my little display to be much lower in volume than the previous track I had done - even though I know for sure that it left SAW at a much higher level.

My question is - am I screwing it up in VEGAS 6.0 or is there a way to change the setting in Dvd Architect 3.0 that I'm unfamiliar with?

I really need some help here. I'm going to INPUT 2005 in San Francisco tomorrow, and want to take a bunch of copies to pass out.

I appreciate any information you might have.

Thanks!
Milt Lee
605.341.4232
__________________
Professional website - http://manykites.com
Personal - http://mrdogsblog.com
Milt Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2005, 12:13 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cass Lake MN
Posts: 221
OK - so I got a letter from Edward and his advice solved the problem:

Beyond changing the dialog normalization to -31, you should also nn
the PreProcessing tab, change both the Line mode profile and RF mode
profile to NONE.

That's what made the difference. I never knew it!!

Thanks again, - this is still the best forum out there for intelligent information!
Milt
__________________
Professional website - http://manykites.com
Personal - http://mrdogsblog.com
Milt Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2005, 08:27 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,564
my biggest gripe with DVD Architect 2 is that i can't force it to use Dolby 1.0 mono tracks like they do for hollywood re-releases of classic movies on DVD. or unconvential compression numbers like 96k. you can only do 192khz Dolby 2.0 or 448khz Dolby 5.1 and THAT'S IT!

does DVD Architect 3 allow for Dolby 1.0 or nonconvential compression rates for multichannels without recompressing it to what i mentioned up above?

furthermore i would like to play around with dts-es (6.1) encoding but no plugins exist? how does dts tech expect to get market share if they're not infiltrating the prosumer market like dolby?

i know in vegas 5 you can encode Dolby Digital 6.1 EX into 5.1 (cause the 6th channel is matrixed from the surround left and right) but does it really work? anyone tried it?
__________________
bow wow wow
Yi Fong Yu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2005, 08:36 AM   #12
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
There are some dts encoder software's on the market. However, I doubt
that DVDA will accept a dts track. You will probably need a "serieus" DVD
authoring tool (like Scenarist) to be able to use it.

There is a program called "surcode" that can encode dts I believe.

Personally I'm not too interested in all that stuff. Yes, I love dts on the DVD's
I purchase and I have a DD/dts receiver here at home. However, I doubt
anyone is really doing any audio work for their DVD's/movies that really would
utilize the extra bandwidth dts gives.

Are you doing that serieus audio encoding? Or is it just a nice "gimmick" to
have? (see my disc, it has dts!?). I'd day that if you want to get benefits
from dts you will probably have to get a high(er) quality audio monitoring
setup etc. as well. But what do I know...
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2005, 09:06 AM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
I agree with Rob here... i was lookin at DTS but its too much of an effort not to mention cost of an encoder and a trademark license..

on top of that DVDArchitect allows for ANY ac3 file to be used.. however it recommends the "standards" set by the dvd forum.. not all soundtracks are recommended... even though theyre accessable, compatibiltiy wise it would be best to follow the guidelines..
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2005, 11:35 AM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,564
in that case, we don't need to use dolby digital 5.1 if we don't have high end audio as well, correct? dts is simply another alternate x.1 multichannel scheme. i was just wondering why Dolby has gotten into the market of prosumers to make it really popular but dts itself hasn't licensed its own codecs/plugins yet to DCC programs. if a director is making short movies 5.1 is just another alternate way to express themselves.

pete, the "standards" set by the DVD forums are followed by hollywood DVD producers, right? if that is the case movies like open range or classic movie on DVD releases contain 96kHz Dolby 1.0 MONO (just coming from center speaker ONLY). is that standard? if that is so why can't i encode that into DVD Architect? i've tried many combinations and whenever DVD Architect sees something different it always converts ALL audio to either Dolby 5.1 448kHz or Dolby 2.0 192kHz. i've NEVER been able to import/encode any other bit-rate, channels, etc. also hollywood movies released on DVD contains a number of unconvential Dolby 3.0 (just front 3 channels), Dolby 4.0 (like a quad) and so on. they have all been released on DVD commercially and everyone can play them on standalone players.
__________________
bow wow wow
Yi Fong Yu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2005, 03:04 AM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 193
Is DVDA3 worth getting - Yes

Apart from lots of added Functionality, the icing on the DVDA3 cake is the new Navigation interface - we achieved the same function previously by clicking on and selecting from drop down text menus - now it's a dragger's dream.
Peter Wright is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:15 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network