Text presets at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 1st, 2009, 09:37 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Text presets

I have about sixty one liners of text that appear, like PowerPoint bullets, over a video. The client wants the font and colour to be changed. Size and position are fine.

Copy/paste attributes doesn't do it. Presets, for some extraordinary reason, include the text from the event you create the preset in!

Is there any way to change the font and colour of a group of text events? I can't think of one so any advice will be appreciated!
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2009, 10:05 AM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Ian, you're going to love this.....

You get to MANUALLY do them ONE AT A TIME.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2009, 10:10 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Ah, that old southern humour . . . ! :-)

Yes, sadly I've already started the arduous task. Not fun. Seems a bit of an omission, to be honest.

Out of interest, does ProType Titler offer any bulk change facilities?
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2009, 10:55 AM   #4
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,530
Well, you've most likely finished by now, but . . .

I CAN get a change of colour plus ALL of the other params via making a Preset. The ONE that wont change is FONT. But dialling/typing in the font style 60x is less arduous than arranging the colours etc etc . ..

However, IF you had had the words in notepad, I just achieved the FONT change. But copying over from an existing MedGen brings its Font style. Again dialling in the Font style ain't so hard.

So, after you have created your New Preset for the Font Colour:-

Step 1] Dial Preset - This for your alternative colour-way, shadow, outline etc . . etc . .

Step 2] Dial Font - This for your alternative Font style

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2009, 10:56 AM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I don't believe it does either.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2009, 10:59 AM   #6
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
The problem is not using a preset to change the font and color or anything else. The problem is that the text will also change. You'd then need to go back and reset the text after changing to the preset. Still an arduous one by one task.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2009, 11:06 AM   #7
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,530
I made an EMPTY Text Preset and pasted in the existing text. When I paste in the existing text from Notepad its colour changes. Just tested again and pasted from ANOTHER Preset "HOT" and got my Lower Left + White + Test Italic + Red outline. And that's from the existing SONY "HOT" Preset.

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2009, 11:15 AM   #8
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
It might be faster to create a correct preset. then you could:

1. Open text gen media and copy the current text
2. Choose that new preset
3. Paste the text.

Of course, that will paste the font too unless you have gone through something like notepad to kill the font formatting. So there may need to be a step 4:

4. CTRL-A and then change the font.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2009, 11:23 AM   #9
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,530
Alter/cut out step 1] to just drag the new "empty" Preset to Timeline from GenMed. Copy and paste the existing text and dial in the font!

So:-

1] Drag

2] Copy > Paste

3] Dial Font

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2009, 11:28 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Interesting suggestions. Here's another one:

Always use 72 point Arial, bold, white and centered. It would also help if your client is called Sample Text Inc. ;-)

Seriously, this is another example of where a 'copy/paste SELECTED attributes' function would be useful (if it worked on text events, of course). Alternatively, just uncoupling the text content from the preset would be good. Anyone got any good contacts in Sony's developers (hint to Grazie and Edward!)?
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2009, 11:29 AM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Edward, is this kind of thing scriptable?
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2009, 11:34 AM   #12
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,530
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian Stark View Post
Anyone got any good contacts in Sony's developers (hint to Grazie and Edward!)?
Been done OFTEN! Believe-you-me!!! Something to do with Vegas not knowing the length of GenMEd as a piece of Media unlike a Video Event which HAS a Time:Length.

It's the kinda thing for a scripting IF that was made open to the Script Gurus . . . .

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2009, 11:38 AM   #13
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,530
Of course you CAN add an FX CC2nd to the track and adjust. Done that before. Just turned SONY "HOT" red into a coooool Blue by applying INVERT . That might give you an idea? But that's me being creative, and awkward and contrary . . .and so on . .

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2009, 11:41 AM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
I'm sure it has Grazie!

Not sure why the length of the text media would affect the attributes of the text, but I am a total no-hoper when it comes to all things scripting and coding!

As you rightly guessed, all done now anyway! RSI is setting in . . .
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2009, 12:03 PM   #15
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian Stark View Post
Edward, is this kind of thing scriptable?
No. All scripts can do is select presets - which would kill your text.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:01 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network