Vegas 9 is low on memory - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 10th, 2010, 09:38 PM   #31
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Luce View Post
Yeah, but just 3 second cutaways, thought I could get away with it. Guess not.
As many times as we've talked about this.. and as many times as you've heard me say I convert my footage to DNxHD... Come on...

And yes, I convert my AVCHD to DNxHD nearly all the time.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2010, 01:34 PM   #32
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perrone Ford View Post
As many times as we've talked about this.. and as many times as you've heard me say I convert my footage to DNxHD... Come on...

And yes, I convert my AVCHD to DNxHD nearly all the time.
Actually what seem to cause the memory errors/crashes during renders isn't the native 7d files but the jpegs in the timeline. I think I've isolated it.

Btw, kinda sucky that Vegas 9c can't handle jpegs. Come on Sony. jpegs. Not exactly some super duper HD codec. My Pentium 2 Abobe Premiere 4.0LE could handle that.

Last edited by Brian Luce; March 11th, 2010 at 04:59 PM.
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2010, 10:12 AM   #33
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gautier, MS
Posts: 175
I know I'm resurrecting an old topic but I got this same error trying to render a slide show on 9.0e. I'm trying to render at 1920X1080/24p in a WMV.

This same project I rendered a few days ago minus 5 slides I added last night. I got the error the first time I tried and Googled the error message. I lowered my RAM preview and number of threads and it rendered successfully.

Now I added 5 slides to the show last night and I'm trying to render it again now.

The project is exclusively JPEG images with one 15 second video clip at the end. I didn't use any color correction or effects on the images in Vegas. I'm using most New Blue transitions with some Spice Master transitions thrown in.

My machine is a 1.6GHz dual core Toshiba laptop with 3GB RAM.
Stan Harkleroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2011, 12:50 AM   #34
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,965
Re: Vegas 9 is low on memory

I just build a phat 12 gig quad core and upgraded to Vegas 10, and Now I'm getting low memory errors, I was able to get it to render by making my preview ram 0. But seriously, it's BS for Sony to continue to have this same stupid problem from version to version. I'm very tempted to buy CS5 and learn that.

I've had low memory problems for three two versions now, and I didn't spend 1500.00 dollars on a freakin machine to fight this software. This machine is a month old and whallaa, already errors, thanks Sony.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2011, 08:18 AM   #35
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: Vegas 9 is low on memory

What is on your timeline? Are your project properties set to 32 bit?
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2011, 10:31 AM   #36
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,965
Re: Vegas 9 is low on memory

Are you talking about pixel format? That is set to 8-bit.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2011, 10:39 AM   #37
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: Vegas 9 is low on memory

Since Vegas 6, I have personally haven't experienced low memory issues or anything remotely similar.

In my case I edit photo montages, weddings up to four cameras, HD, SD, AVCHD and Mt2 files.

If you have had trouble with the last three versions, now on different machines, it would seem you are editing something troublesome, such as large photos, Red files, or whatever.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2011, 10:56 AM   #38
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,965
Re: Vegas 9 is low on memory

Hmmm, I just have video files and psd files......
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2011, 11:08 AM   #39
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: Vegas 9 is low on memory

PSD files would likely be the issue, don't you agree? I don't know if the following link would be of help.

I would consider viewing the issue as Vegas using PSD files, versus Vegas just generally having issues. PSD are a proprietary format, so while this may not help you, it is not unreasonable they might cause issues.

Best of luck, I don't use them. If you use them a lot, and can't find a solution with Vegas, then PP would be an obvious choice, and a no brainer. CS5 is reportedly very smooth too. My friends love it.

Working with layered PSD files in Vegas Pro 9
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2011, 11:28 AM   #40
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,965
Re: Vegas 9 is low on memory

Thanks,

I plan to see if the psd files are the issue. I use them a lot for titles and tweak as I go along.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2011, 02:33 PM   #41
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,965
Re: Vegas 9 is low on memory

Well, I replaced the psd files with png files, it's a no go. Sigh
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2011, 02:41 PM   #42
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: Vegas 9 is low on memory

How large are they? This doesn't make sense. png files handle well in Vegas, provide they are of reasonable dimension, not that I know what reasonable is exactly. I resize all images for Vegas to be no larger than necessary to do some mild panning if necessary. Since my projects are usually no larger than 1280x720 I go no larger than 1500xwhatever maintain aspect ratio. We are supposedly able to use much larger, but I don't just because it drags the system down.

I've put hundreds of photos on my timeline and unless they are of huge dimension they work fine.

So without either png or psd can you verify that then Vegas is then fine?
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2011, 02:44 PM   #43
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,965
Re: Vegas 9 is low on memory

The png files are around 150kbs or so each, and 1440x1080. There around 9 of them total, the project is 3 minutes long.

This is why it is puzzling. I got the psd/file project to render dropping my Dynamic Preview to 0, I'm trying the same with the png files.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?

Last edited by Steven Davis; April 29th, 2011 at 03:17 PM.
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2011, 03:16 PM   #44
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,965
Re: Vegas 9 is low on memory

The png files are around 150kbs or so each, and 1440x1080. There around 9 of them total, the project is 3 minutes long.

This is why it is puzzling. I got the psd/file project to render dropping my Dynamic Preview to 0, I'm trying the same with the png files.

Hmm, same project lowered the Dynamic Preview back to 0 and it rendered.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2011, 03:21 PM   #45
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: Vegas 9 is low on memory

Hmmm, weird.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:35 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network