Vegas 9 is low on memory at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 21st, 2009, 02:25 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
Vegas 9 is low on memory

I can't render 35 min project to any format, it stops with the error :
: Vegas is low on memory try to close blah blah blah,
vegas 8 on the same mchine doesn't have any problems, but I edited project on 9, and now i can't do anything,
looks like a memory leak, cuz the error happens every time mem usage of vegas90.exe goes over one gig,
PC is quad Q95 4Gb of ram with 6Gb of paging file on separate raptor;
vegas gurus, any advice on this?
many many thanks!
__________________
I love this place!
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2009, 02:41 PM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
A few things you can try:

1. Look at the "Ram Preview" amount. Make that a low number (like 8 or 16 meg).
2. Render out in segments instead of the whole thing at once.
3. Kill all non-essential background tasks (things like anti-virus, etc...)
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2009, 08:54 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
Thanks Ed,
I tried this already, no good, same error on my laptop and desktop, I can't believe two weeks of work are wasted;
I'm afraid I already know the answer, but is there ANY way to open Vegas9 project on previous version of the app?
Many thanks!
__________________
I love this place!
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2009, 03:43 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
What's actually in the project, Buba? I have to say this really doesn't sound right!
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2009, 07:27 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Ian, you are definitely asking the right question...what is on the timeline?
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2009, 05:44 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
footage from Z7, EX1 and 5Dmkii, M2T, MXF and I converted MOVs from 5Dmkii in neoscene to AVI. 2 video tracks, 4 audio tracks, lots of cuts, very few MB Looks , color curves and color correction in every shot, 35 min in total.
I upgraded from build 772 to 896 and now I'm able to render in short segments on my laptop, but not on my desktop, which is strange, I ran Vista home premium on laptop and XP pro on desktop,
laptop is dual core 2.1 4Gb RAM, desktop is Quad 2.8, 4Gb RAM
next week I was planning to get an i7, but now I'm seriously thinkin to go MAC and FCP,
many many thanks for all your help and ideas,
__________________
I love this place!
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2009, 06:14 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
32bit Vegas is only able to access 2.5GB max of RAM. Until you see a 64bit Magic Bullet, this is going to be an issue. I am fighting the same issues right now on the movie I am grading. Royal pain in the rear. Doing it with long GOP on the time line makes it worse. I only use intraframe codecs on the timeline for projects like this.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2009, 05:31 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
You have a mix of some of the more difficult types of footage to deal with and your thinking of moving to FCP?

With a new Mac you will get a newer processor, so that will help. Let us know how that works out.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2009, 07:27 AM   #9
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Did you try rendering out in segments? You can then build a "final" project from the good segments.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2009, 07:10 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
yes, I can render in 5 - 6 min segments, but on my laptop only, not on desktop though,
I'm guessing this problem is Vegas 9Pro specific, at least I've never seen nothing like that in version 8c,
many many thanks for your help guys!
__________________
I love this place!
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2009, 08:22 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 35
Buba,

I had the same problem.
Tried all of the fixes mentioned in the earlier posts.
See link at bottom. Found on Sony's site. While it did not "solve" the problem it helped. It allowed me to use Magic Bullet on some clips but not all clips in a timeline.
It is very simple to do, even though I originally thought it more complicated.
Take a look and see if you want to give it a shot.

Doug

Sony Creative Software - Forums - Vegas Pro - Video Messages

Last edited by Doug Marcum; November 23rd, 2009 at 09:10 PM.
Doug Marcum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2009, 01:41 AM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Great find, Doug, thanks for posting. I am about to edit my first batch of AVCHD and I was getting nervous. Now at least I know there may be a cure!

Hope that gives you a way forward Buba.

A little OT but reading through that thread at the Sony forum reminded me why I hang out at DVi. Much more civilised!
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2009, 05:43 AM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Ian, if it's any consolation, the guy that started that thread was banned from the Sony forum a little while after that thread.
Trust me when I say that he was tame in comparison to some folks on there who got banned within a few days of posting :-(
It's a pretty tolerant bunch over there and Sony lets us get away with a lot of OT stuff that most forums would never tolerate.
Having said that, it's generally a group of very helpful users who are willing to share their knowledge.
Must be the "Vegas love" in us that makes us that way :-)
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2009, 10:10 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Taipei
Posts: 63
I upgrade to Vista 64 bits version and 9.0C 64 version for the same problem. Now I can render without "system low on memory" crash.
__________________
Got 3 'S': Schoeps, Sound Devices, and Sony.
Anthony Ching is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2009, 09:27 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pembroke Pines FL
Posts: 331
I have the same problem when using MB.
is there any solution?
I am sure most of you that use MB do not have the same problem.
Just wander what why it happens to selected computer?
__________________
www.nostalgicFrames.com
Dror Levi is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:04 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network