Is Vegas 9 worth the upgrade from 8? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 28th, 2009, 06:17 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 48
Is Vegas 9 worth the upgrade from 8?

I'm very happy with Vegas 8. Not sure if the upgrade will be worth it or not. Sell me on it :)
Jared Gardner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2009, 06:25 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
How is anyone supposed to "sell you on it" when we have no idea what you shoot or why? Do you need the features of 9? If not, stay where you are.

Need RED support? Go 9
Need DPX/EXR support? Go 9
Need 64bit? Go 9
Need better color space support? Go 9
Need to render to XDCAM? Go 9
Need to drop in AVCHD including the Canon 5D/7D? Go 9


Don't need any of these things? Stay with 8.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2009, 09:36 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 634
That was very well put...

I might also like to add, that when you're on the fence, the time to upgrade is upon the release while Sony makes the upgrade cost a very reasonable fee (usually about $200 or less total). At this point, if you're happy with 8, I'd probably stick with it and just wait another year or so and go for version 10...

From what I can tell, aside from the points above Perrone made, 9 just isn't that much of an 'upgrade' over 8.

Jon
Jon McGuffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2009, 10:00 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Not much of an upgrade really depends on where you're standing. They literally put in everything on my wishlist. I was absolutely thrilled. Now I just wish it would read my jpeg2k files!

I bent the Vegas Program Managers ear for an hour at the expo with new stuff I'd like to see in the program, one of which is OMF support. If they get that working Vegas will suddenly become a player on a different level. Add 3cp, support for Avid's MXF format and decent EDL compatibility with FCP and Avid, and Vegas will find a home in some pretty lofty places.

DPX and real RED support in this release put it on the radar of some interesting folks. Not often you hear someone say that their files in Vegas look better than FCP or Avid.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2009, 12:02 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 542
You can drop 5D2 files into the Vegas Pro 8 timeline no problem. They will not play without dropping frames mind you, but I'm pretty sure Vegas 9 won't fix that either, you'll need an intermediate either way. Just saying Canon video files work fine on the Vegas 8 timeline.
Bill Binder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2009, 08:08 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 523
Does anybody remember what you get from 7 --> 8?

And, more importantly, is there any way to convince Sony to let you buy it for the cheaper introductory rate now that the period has passed? (I didn't need it then!)
__________________
Andy Tejral
Railroad Videographer
Andy Tejral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2009, 08:28 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Does anybody remember what you get from 7 --> 8?

Vegas Pro 8 Readme

...is there any way to convince Sony to let you buy it for the cheaper introductory rate...

Sorry but no :-(
Once the introductory period is over, so is the cheaper pricing.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2009, 12:52 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Tejral View Post
Does anybody remember what you get from 7 --> 8?
The absolute biggest thing for me was that the whole issue in HDV of red or black frames appearing on the timeline (and sometimes rendering!) went away. I was right in the middle of a long multicam project, and voila, things got so much easier.

And HDV became much better behaved on the timeline in general, better preview framerates.

It also added multicam natively.
__________________
30 years of pro media production. Vegas user since 1.0. Webcaster since 1997. Freelancer since 2000. College instructor since 2001.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2009, 06:45 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: British Isles
Posts: 415
Well I have upgraded to 9 from 8 and the first thing I hated was the darker layout. HATE IT!!! I'm still editing in 8 for now.

I only use 9 for editing I-Frames from the nanoflash.
Paul Inglis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2009, 09:17 AM   #10
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Inglis View Post
Well I have upgraded to 9 from 8 and the first thing I hated was the darker layout. HATE IT!!!
You realize you can turn that off?
Options - Preferences - go to the Display tab and UNCHECK the Use Vegas color scheme box.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2009, 09:27 AM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
I never noticed the difference to be honest. Forgot that they had changed it. And I cut on both versions every week. Sometimes simultaneously.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2009, 01:58 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 347
I like the new effects from Velvet Matter, the audio duck feature and the darker interface but the program has also been buggy. The one bug that is now driving me back to Vegas 8 is the inability to archive projects using Save as>Copy media with project>Create trimmed copies of source media. It no longer works with Cineform HD files. I'm not sure if it works with M2t HD files.

It does however work perfectly in Vegas 8 and Sony has not acknowledged it as a bug in Vegas 9 yet.
Marc Salvatore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2009, 03:23 PM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,550
I tried out Vegas 9. I like how easy it is to use and how quickly it runs especially under windows 64. In my experience, its much more stable than Premiere which always seems to crash at the worst time. My only complaint of Vegas, only one sequence/timeline per project.
Pete Cofrancesco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2009, 03:40 PM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
I've never understood the multiple timeline thing. Where is that useful? Particularly where you can nest in Vegas and easily run multiple instances..
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2009, 04:17 PM   #15
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perrone Ford View Post
I've never understood the multiple timeline thing. Where is that useful? Particularly where you can nest in Vegas and easily run multiple instances..
In larger projects it has lots of uses.
- I like to dump the raw unedited footage into a timeline then I duplicate that sequence and edit it down to a rough cut then duplicate that. Now at any point I can jump back in time to a previous sequence.

- If I do a mulitcamera shoot, I might have 1 sequence as the final mix of different angles and another with only the wide. The mix goes to the audience purchases while the wide only is for the dance choreographer.

- For a performance with an intermission I'll have a separate sequence for each half. If its really long, I'll make a sequence for each DVD. I also sometimes make a montage either for the dvd menu or as a sample for my demo reel that gets thrown into its own sequence.

- For really long documentary where the project encompasses many events over a few weeks, its easier to organize the work in one project. Often multiple events might be on one tape so when you capture the entire tape its easier to sort them out in one project.
Pete Cofrancesco is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:35 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network