Still Image Timelapse at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 29th, 2009, 11:08 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada
Posts: 1,200
Still Image Timelapse

I've got a project coming up where I'm going to shoot a still image timelapse with either a Canon 5d2 or a 50d using the 80n3 interval timer. I've shot timelapse in video with mixed results, so I'm going to try a few using stills only.

From what I understand, i just save the images to a folder and import the first, then check 'open a still image sequence, and enter the last number of the last frame.

I'm using 8.0c and if anyone has done a still timelapse I'd appreciate any tips. I tried importing some jpegs as a test run, but was stymied when the sequence was broken which it often is so I could only get 20 or so frames at a time.

I'm assuming - though may be wrong - that the default setting will be 30 (or 29.97) fps. In which case I'd plan to shoot xxxx number of frames for xxx duration final output. The output is web so I'll just set up for low res jpegs unless someone warns me otherwise. I'll try one or two in advance of the project to try it out - though I don't like running up the shutter counts on cameras just for the hell of it. - at those shooting rates it's about 1,800 shutter clicks per finished minute.
__________________
C100, 5DMk2, FCPX
Ken Diewert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2009, 12:01 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Quote:
From what I understand, i just save the images to a folder and import the first, then check 'open a still image sequence, and enter the last number of the last frame.
That's correct.

Quote:
I tried importing some jpegs as a test run, but was stymied when the sequence was broken which it often is so I could only get 20 or so frames at a time.
The key is to ensure that every image is sequentially numbered, no exceptions!!
You can use an app like IrfanView (it's free) to properly renumber a broken sequence.

Quote:
I'm assuming - though may be wrong - that the default setting will be 30 (or 29.97) fps. In which case I'd plan to shoot xxxx number of frames for xxx duration final output. The output is web so I'll just set up for low res jpegs unless someone warns me otherwise. I'll try one or two in advance of the project to try it out - though I don't like running up the shutter counts on cameras just for the hell of it. - at those shooting rates it's about 1,800 shutter clicks per finished minute.
The output is whatever you tell it to be.
Personally, I'd render a full frame full resolution AVI (use Best mode for this) and then downsample it as desired.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2009, 05:59 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada
Posts: 1,200
Thanks Mike,

What I meant was when I'm importing the images as a still sequence - the default duration of each still is one frame - or 1/30 second. I'm pretty sure this is correct. That way if I plan to shoot 900 images over 8 hours, then the show duration would be 30 seconds. Or if I wanted the show to be 60 seconds, I'd plan to shoot 1800 frames or 8 hours or whatever time period.
__________________
C100, 5DMk2, FCPX
Ken Diewert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2009, 08:07 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Ken, my apologies for the misunderstanding.
Yes, your math is correct.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2009, 07:44 AM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
If you want the show to be longer, go into the preferences and set the new still image length to the length you want them to be, select all the images in the Explorer window, and then drag the FIRST image to the timeline. All the other images will follow behind it and be set to the length you specified.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2009, 06:56 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada
Posts: 1,200
Great tip, Thanks Edward. This is for a specific project. But I may try some more as I've seen some stunning work by a member here at Timescapes Timelapse
__________________
C100, 5DMk2, FCPX
Ken Diewert is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:09 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network