First time trying vegas - few simple questions at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 31st, 2010, 06:58 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 67
First time trying vegas - few simple questions

I captured from my XHA1 camera.
Have my movie edited and ready to export out.

I want to send it as high quality as I can on my PC.
I want to view it with my HD TV.
I selected Blueray output?

I also want to be able to put it on a DVD.
So I guess this would no longer be HD?

I also noticed a check box for rendering on networked computers?
What does this do?
Greg Peters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2010, 07:55 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Do you have the ability to burn BlueRay? If not then you need to downrez it to MPG to burn a DVD. Dependent on the length of the content your bitrate to properly burn a DVD will vary.
As for network rendering unless you have 2 computer that talk to each other and both are setup to do rendering don't bother, use the primary computer to render the project.

Remember to get BR you need 1) a BR burner, 2) BR discs and 3) that gets done off the Vegas timeline otherwise you need to render to MPG and author and burn in another app like DVDA or the like.

Nice to see more Chicago folks here!
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2010, 08:25 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: spain
Posts: 1,169
If you don't have a Blu ray and you can watch your footage on a HDTV through a multimedia HD player(like HD WDTV from Western Digital) that i highly recomend you could render to MPG" template HDV 1080-60i, then you copy ypur stuff on an usb device and you can stick it in your media player (WD is highly recomended).
Off topic:
guys u both are from Chicago?Once on my lifetime i wanna go there, it was my dream to see MJ play at the Stadium and the United Center. Have u ever met him?Sorry 4 da question but for us who live so far from you is very strange to talk about such a legend

Hasta luego
Marcus Martell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2010, 09:10 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
never met him but did see him play at the United Center a few times. Hey remember basketball season in Chicago is COLD! ;-)
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2010, 10:35 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 67
Isn't mpg going to compress and loose quality.

I want to play high quality on my PC or streamed to my PS3.
Greg Peters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2010, 02:19 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 773
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Peters View Post
I captured from my XHA1 camera.
Have my movie edited and ready to export out.

I want to send it as high quality as I can on my PC.
I want to view it with my HD TV.
I selected Blueray output?

I also want to be able to put it on a DVD.
So I guess this would no longer be HD?

I also noticed a check box for rendering on networked computers?
What does this do?
Greg:

The highest quality format on your PC is uncompressed format. This can take up to a TB of information - sometimes more - for a movie's length.

The question is - what is "acceptable" quality?

For me, I find acceptable quality using AVC compression (from Main Concept) and 25mbps - that's 25 mega bits (of information) per second.

The more information you have in your file, the closer the video is to the actual reality recorded by the sensor. Chances are, if you've recorded to HDV tape, you're already using HDV compression at 25mbps.

For playback, I usually find that 8MBPS is acceptable for 1080p material, and this should make your movie fit - as a data file - onto a DVD. That doesn't mean that the movie will play in a DVD player however - it's just a data file.
__________________
Equip: Panny GH1, Canon HG20, Juicedlink, AT897, Sennh. EW/GW100, Zoom H2, Vegas 8.1
Brian Boyko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2010, 06:35 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Greg, unless the project is 3 hours long it really won't take a big hit quality wise IF it's rendered to MPG/AC3 at the proper bitrate. At least not enough to be objectionable. Of course, again, a 3 hour project won't be a high a bitrqte as a 30 minute project.

If you want the highest quality then you need to play it straight out of the camera to your TV.
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2010, 06:10 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 67
So if I have a 5min clip I can't get the same quality as my camera?
Greg Peters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2010, 08:13 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
what you get from the camera is video in it's purest sense, untouched by human hands. Having said that a 5 or 10 or 15 or 20 minute piece if captured, rendered and burned properly, meaning you didn't change the bitrate to something it should be at or doing some other something that would destroy the quality of the footage the quality would not be harmed.
Please keep in mind that you are looking for an absolute and quality is in the eye and mind of the beholder, there is no such thing as absolute.
What you considered to be bad quality someone else might not see it that way.
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2010, 10:14 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rhinelander, WI
Posts: 1,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Peters View Post
Isn't mpg going to compress and loose quality.
It is going to compress, yes. And the compression is lossy, meaning it throws some of the data out. That means that after decompression you will not have the exact same pixel data as you had before the compression.

Now, whether you lose quality is an entirely different question. The MPEG compression is designed on the psycho-visual model, which takes advantage of the fact that when processing visual input we do not view individual tiny little specs of light but the image as a whole. The MPEG compression throws out those parts of the image that we do not notice, so even if the data is not the same, we still perceive the same image.

It also allows for different bit rates. The higher the bit rate, the less data is thrown out. Below a certain threshold, which may not be the same for everyone, we start noticing the difference. But above that threshold we do not. And because of that, losing some of the visual detail does not equate to losing quality.
Adam Stanislav is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:36 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network