No sound on rendered file & weird video at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 2nd, 2010, 09:43 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 207
No sound on rendered file & weird video

OK so just rendered out 35min of HDV video the settings used were: Save as type Main Concept Mpeg2, Template DVD Architect PAL widescreen video stream
Description: 25fps 720x 576 lowerfield first YUV 6mbps Pixel aspect Ration 1:147

It was shot on a Canon XH-G1 HDV 1440x1080i - can't recall if the above settings were given to me as the ideal from someone in this forum or SCS forum - so I assume they would be OK

The problem is now I rendered it, I just played back the rendered file to check things out before putting it through DVDA and first of all there's no sound - as all, nothing! secondly any kind of sideways movement either by the subject or the camera (i.e. slow pan) gives a video image that is like its been shot thru venitian blinds and slightly off-set - I assume this is something to do with the interlacing

Can a). someone explain me woe and / or b) give me the best settings for me using the camera I have to burn the best quality DVD via DVD Architect

Thanks in advance
Philip Younger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2010, 09:51 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philip Younger View Post
OK so just rendered out 35min of HDV video the settings used were: Save as type Main Concept Mpeg2, Template DVD Architect PAL widescreen video stream
Description: 25fps 720x 576 lowerfield first YUV 6mbps Pixel aspect Ration 1:147

It was shot on a Canon XH-G1 HDV 1440x1080i - can't recall if the above settings were given to me as the ideal from someone in this forum or SCS forum - so I assume they would be OK

The problem is now I rendered it, I just played back the rendered file to check things out before putting it through DVDA and first of all there's no sound - as all, nothing! secondly any kind of sideways movement either by the subject or the camera (i.e. slow pan) gives a video image that is like its been shot thru venitian blinds and slightly off-set - I assume this is something to do with the interlacing

Can a). someone explain me woe and / or b) give me the best settings for me using the camera I have to burn the best quality DVD via DVD Architect

Thanks in advance
There is not supposed to be any sound. You encode the sound separately using the AC3 encoder.

As for the interlacing, that won't show if it's played on a TV so no problem. If it's for a computer, then you needed to deinterlace the footage in Vegas or before you brought it into Vegas.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2010, 12:34 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 207
Silly me, of course I forgot about doing the audio separately

The image though not sure if it is what you have suggested (or as I described) as I did view it on TV. The picture file shows what I mean
Attached Thumbnails
No sound on rendered file & weird video-video_test-image-wavy-verticles.jpg  
Philip Younger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2010, 01:38 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Whoooo! Are you doing magnetic field experiements? Did that guy disappear into thin air? :)

Looks like you've got some bad deinterlacing going on right there..
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2010, 04:29 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 207
Yeah it was my new Star Trek plug-in....the one I just invented but didn't know I had until rendering finished!

OK so you've diagnosed the problem (possibly) but a) what caused it and b) how do I stop it / fit it?
Philip Younger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2010, 04:40 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Well, de-interlacing it properly would be a good start. But I don't know where in your workflow the wheels fell off the wagon. So rather hard for me to say how it got there.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2010, 04:56 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 8,222
Hi Philip

All you have done is brought in 1080i footage into Vegas and then downscaled it to 720x576. When Vegas does the downscale it also totally messes up the interlacing lines so that's why your video has all the weird and wonderful bumps and lumps. Bet it looks weird on the TV as well!!! Your HD footage is interlaced Upper Field first and you are now rendering to SD which is Lower Field first and also resizing it!!

As Perrone says the footage needs to have the interlacing removed BEFORE you edit!! In Vegas all you need to do in project properties is change the "de-interlacing" box from none to interpolate and also set render to "best" .... edit and render and you will find all is OK!!

Chris
Chris Harding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2010, 06:17 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 207
I see. I didn't realise it was down-scaling. My previous NLE Pinnacle Studio must have done all this automatically as I just used to set it to 1080i and render to mpeg and it worked.

SO, although I shoot in HD I am actually outputting SD - right? that's the best I can get on a DVD?

That said, unless I plan to produce Blu ray of the same footage, I may as well shoot in SD yes?
Philip Younger is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:06 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network