Vegas Video discussions from 2006 (Q1Q2) - Page 107 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 18th, 2006, 10:01 AM   #1591
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
The VEG file is a Vegas project file. It contains information about your project
and the files it uses. It does not contain any of the video / audio (except for
generated media).

If you want to transfer something to DVD Architect you need to export a movie
file to either (DV) AVI or MPEG2 (with a seperate audio file) from Vegas. You
can then copy that file to the other computer over a network if it is connected
like that or in another way like an external harddisk. Then import the file into
DVD Architect and build your DVD.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old May 18th, 2006, 10:08 AM   #1592
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
NOTE: If you go the MPEG2/AC3 route and have added markers to the project to be used as chapter points, they *may* be lost when you copy over to the other machine.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old May 18th, 2006, 11:08 AM   #1593
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Shreveport, La.
Posts: 6
Thanks

Thanks Brian & Ed.
John McLaurin is offline  
Old May 18th, 2006, 12:29 PM   #1594
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oceanside Harbor, CA
Posts: 446
Sorry, it is already rendered mpeg-2.
Michael Best is offline  
Old May 18th, 2006, 01:14 PM   #1595
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Then just take that MPEG2 file to the other computer, add it to DVD A, and continue from there.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old May 18th, 2006, 02:03 PM   #1596
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas texas
Posts: 1
Video Vegas 5.0

Greetings, im new in here but i hope this is the right place to post, and aswell that you understand my question. Im making World of Warcraft movies in Vegas, and ive figured many things out my self, but one thing still hasnt been available for me to make. I want to make some 'black bars' in the top and in the bottom where i can write something, for instance "Visit www.guild-x.com"
How to make these?
Peter Sjqlund is offline  
Old May 18th, 2006, 03:09 PM   #1597
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
there are a couple of ways. The easiest being to take GENERATED MEDIA >TEXT>BLACK background. Type in your text then goto PLACEMENT and drop it down to where you want it. Use the TRACK MOTION or PAN/CROP to adjust the size of the black background to look like a lower thirds. Remember to watch you TITLE SAFE area on the preview screen.

That should take care of you.

Don
Don Bloom is offline  
Old May 18th, 2006, 03:37 PM   #1598
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You might also want to take a look at Vol 2 #10 of my newsletters for the article on creating lower thirds.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old May 18th, 2006, 07:57 PM   #1599
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: london, uk
Posts: 15
Hey, THANKS a million, Gian!! That not only completely worked, but the result was exactly what I wanted and it looks absolutely flawless!!!!

Thanks again!!
James Talus is offline  
Old May 18th, 2006, 09:02 PM   #1600
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 177
That was the issue...figures user error :-)
Michael Stowe is offline  
Old May 18th, 2006, 09:38 PM   #1601
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oceanside Harbor, CA
Posts: 446
File to external drive worked - thank you
Michael Best is offline  
Old May 19th, 2006, 08:36 AM   #1602
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MA
Posts: 84
Slowmo

I am just learning to use Vegas 6d, and one thing is not working for me. I am attempting to slow down a small video clip, and it just isn't working right.

If I use the shuttle controls while previewing I can get the video to look exactly the way I want, but getting it to render the same way isn't happening.

I have tried using a velocity envelope to change the speed, but it only affetcts the video, and I can't add the same envelope to the video.

If I just stretch it out by dragging it (sorry I forget the term for this). I have 2 problems. 1, I can't slow it enough this way. 2, the audio sounds horrible. The audio takes on this chopped up, echoey sound that is nothing like what the shuttle controls do.

So, how do Vegas users normally create a slowmo event? I need the audio to stretch out with the video, the slowed down audio is a big part of why I want the slowmo in the first place.

Any help would be appreciated, thank you!!
Justin Deming is offline  
Old May 19th, 2006, 10:02 AM   #1603
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brookline, MA
Posts: 1,447
Monitoring for a 5.1 Dolby Digital mix

How should I monitor the dynamics if the track sounds different once encoded? Should I work by the numbers; learn what +-6dB, +-12db etc. relative to the dialog baseline sounds like? Currently I use a trial-and-error approach of mixing by ear, rendering to AC3, then fixing the mix. I also want to learn how to use Dolby Digital's DRC feature.

How different is mixing for DTS?
Emre Safak is offline  
Old May 19th, 2006, 10:26 AM   #1604
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 135
vegas or vegas bundle

i'm looking to get vegas in a few months along with my camera. So I was wonderign is it worht it to go ahead and pick up the vegas bundle with the dvd tools in it. Is this a good dvd creation program?
__________________
Wish I had something witty to say
Tim Goldman is offline  
Old May 19th, 2006, 11:50 AM   #1605
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 1,400
I really like it, but I don't have much to compare it to, other than the cheapie DVD creation tools that normally come free with a computer.

You can save markers in your Vegas projects that can be pulled into DVD Architect. You can also render directly to MPEG2/AC3 in Vegas which makes creation of DVDs much faster in DVD Architect.

Unless you have another DVD authoring program that you absolutely love, I'd go ahead and get the Vegas+DVD bundle.
Chris Davis is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:20 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network